Your search returned 84 results in the Theme: immigration/citizenship.

Book cover of WE ARE HERE TO STAY VOICES OF UNDOCUMEN
WE ARE HERE TO STAY VOICES OF UNDOCUMEN
By: susan kuklin | Published: January 2018

The Stonewall Honor–winning author of Beyond Magenta shares the intimate, eye-opening stories of nine undocumented young adults living in Americ...

The Stonewall Honor–winning author of Beyond Magenta shares the intimate, eye-opening stories of nine undocumented young adults living in America. “Maybe next time they hear someone railing about how terrible immigrants are, they'll think about me. I’m a real person.” Meet nine courageous young adults who have lived in the United States with a secret for much of their lives: they are not U.S. citizens. They came from Colombia, Mexico, Ghana, Independent Samoa, and Korea. They came seeking education, fleeing violence, and escaping poverty. All have heartbreaking and hopeful stories about leaving their homelands and starting a new life in America. And all are weary of living in the shadows. We Are Here to Stay is a very different book than it was intended to be when originally slated for a 2017 release, illustrated with Susan Kuklin’s gorgeous full-color portraits. Since the last presidential election and the repeal of DACA, it is no longer safe for these young adults to be identified in photographs or by name. Their photographs have been replaced with empty frames, and their names are represented by first initials. We are honored to publish these enlightening, honest, and brave accounts that encourage open, thoughtful conversation about the complexities of immigration — and the uncertain future of immigrants in America.

Theme: Immigration/Citizenship

  • ISBN
    9780763678845
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    High School - Social Studies
List Price:
$26.99
Discount:
$5.40
Your Price:
$21.59
Quantity:
Book cover of WE'RE NOT FROM HERE
WE'RE NOT FROM HERE
By: geoff rodkey | Published: March 2019

Imagine being forced to move to a new planet where YOU are the alien! From the creator of the Tapper Twins, New York Times bestselling author Geoff Ro...

Imagine being forced to move to a new planet where YOU are the alien! From the creator of the Tapper Twins, New York Times bestselling author Geoff Rodkey delivers a topical, sci-fi middle-grade novel that proves friendship and laughter can transcend even a galaxy of differences. The first time I heard about Planet Choom, we'd been on Mars for almost a year. But life on the Mars station was grim, and since Earth was no longer an option (we may have blown it up), it was time to find a new home. That's how we ended up on Choom with the Zhuri. They're very smart. They also look like giant mosquitos. But that's not why it's so hard to live here. There's a lot that the Zhuri don't like: singing (just ask my sister, Ila), comedy (one joke got me sent to the principal's office), or any kind of emotion. The biggest problem, though? The Zhuri don't like us. And if humankind is going to survive, it's up to my family to change their minds. No pressure.

Theme: Immigration/Citizenship, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781524773045
  • Format
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$22.99
Discount:
$4.60
Your Price:
$18.39
Quantity:
Book cover of WHAT IS A REFUGEE
WHAT IS A REFUGEE
By: elise gravel | Published: September 2019

Theme: Immigration/Citizenship, SOCIAL JUSTICE

  • ISBN
    9780593120057
  • Format
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Social Studies - Issues (economic, Political And Social)
List Price:
$23.99
Discount:
$4.80
Your Price:
$19.19
Quantity:
Book cover of WHEN CHRISTMAS FEELS LIKE HOME
WHEN CHRISTMAS FEELS LIKE HOME
By: gretchen griffith | Published: September 2013

After moving from a small village in Mexico to a town in the United States, Eduardo is sure it will never feel quite like home. The other children don...

After moving from a small village in Mexico to a town in the United States, Eduardo is sure it will never feel quite like home. The other children don't speak his language and they do not play fútbol. His family promises him that he will feel right at home by the time Christmas comes along, when “your words float like clouds from your mouth” and “trees will ride on cars.” With whimsical imagery and a sprinkling of Spanish vocabulary, Gretchen Griffith takes readers on a multicultural journey with Eduardo who discovers the United States is not so different from Latin America and home is wherever family is.

Theme: Diversity, Immigration/Citizenship

  • ISBN
    9780807588727
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Holiday
List Price:
$26.99
Discount:
$5.40
Your Price:
$21.59
Quantity:
Book cover of WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I'M GOING
WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I'M GOING
By: jasmin kaur | Published: October 2019

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose. scr...

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose. scream so that one day a hundred years from now another sister will not have to dry her tears wondering where in history she lost her voice The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn’t always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America. Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.

Theme: Diversity, Immigration/Citizenship, Mental Health

  • ISBN
    9780062912619
  • Format
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$23.99
Discount:
$4.80
Your Price:
$19.19
Quantity:
Book cover of WISH ON ALL THE STARS
WISH ON ALL THE STARS
By: lisa schroeder | Published: July 2019

The magical sequel to See You on a Starry Night makes more seaside wishes come true! Juliet is now an official member of the Starry Beach Club, and...

The magical sequel to See You on a Starry Night makes more seaside wishes come true! Juliet is now an official member of the Starry Beach Club, and loves working with her new friends, Emma and Carmen, to make people's wishes come true. Living away from her dad is still hard, and she misses her best friend from her old town, but she has her friends and the bookmobile, and San Diego feels more like home than ever. But then she learns that the bookmobile is going to have to shut down. The owner of the parking lot wants to start charging rent, and soon the bookmobile won't be able to stay in business. The Starry Beach Club comes up with different ways to save their favorite store, but none seem to work. But then Emma gets the idea to have a crafts fair...and she wants Juliet to sell her paintings! Juliet is nervous, and isn't sure whether she's ready to put herself on display. Meanwhile, Carmen is feeling anxious about the possibility of her mother being deported. Will Juliet be able to be brave for herself and for Carmen?

Theme: Immigration/Citizenship

  • ISBN
    9781338195774
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
List Price:
$22.99
Discount:
$4.60
Your Price:
$18.39
Quantity:
Book cover of WISHTREE
WISHTREE
By: katherine applegate | Published: September 2017

The New York Times-bestselling story of kindness, friendship, and hope. Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . . Red is...

The New York Times-bestselling story of kindness, friendship, and hope. Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . . Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"-people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with a crow named Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this wishtree watches over the neighborhood. You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experience as a wishtree is more important than ever. Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, this is Katherine Applegate at her very best-writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view. This book has Common Core connections.

Theme: Immigration/Citizenship

  • ISBN
    9781250043221
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$23.99
Discount:
$4.80
Your Price:
$19.19
Quantity:
Book cover of YEAR THE SWALLOWS CAME EARLY
YEAR THE SWALLOWS CAME EARLY
By: kathryn fitzmaurice | Published: May 2011

"Expect the unexpected." That's what Eleanor "Groovy" Robinson's horoscope says the morning everything begins to ...

"Expect the unexpected." That's what Eleanor "Groovy" Robinson's horoscope says the morning everything begins to change. Suddenly, her father is in jail, her plans to attend culinary school when she grows up fall apart, and it feels like maybe nothing will ever be right again. But the swallows that return to her coastal town every year bring a message of hope with them that even Groovy can't ignore. Can she forgive the failings of someone she loves in order to bring her family back together again? Kathryn Fitzmaurice's tender debut novel about food, family, friendship, and forgiveness is as full of promise as the swallows that return home to San Juan Capistrano every spring.

Theme: Immigration/Citizenship, Family Relationships

  • ISBN
    9780061625008
  • Format
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$7.99
Discount:
$1.60
Your Price:
$6.39
Quantity:
Book cover of ZENOBIA
ZENOBIA
By: morten durr | Published: October 2018

A deeply moving and award-winning graphic novel about a young Syrian refugee. Zenobia was once a great warrior queen of Syria whose reign reached f...

A deeply moving and award-winning graphic novel about a young Syrian refugee. Zenobia was once a great warrior queen of Syria whose reign reached from Egypt to Turkey. She was courageous. No one gave her orders. Once she even went to war against the emperor of Rome.      When things feel overwhelming for Amina, her mother reminds her to think of Zenobia and be strong. Amina is a Syrian girl caught up in a war that reaches her village. To escape the war she boards a small boat crammed with other refugees. The boat is rickety and the turbulent seas send Amina overboard. In the dark water Amina remembers playing hide and seek with her mother and making dolmas (stuffed grape leaves) and the journey she had to undertake with her uncle to escape. And she thinks of the brave warrior Zenobia. Zenobia is a heartbreaking and all-too-real story of one child's experience of war. Told with great sensitivity in few words and almost exclusively with pictures, Zenobia is a story for children and adults.

Theme: Immigration/Citizenship, Survival, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781609808730
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
List Price:
$25.95
Discount:
$5.19
Your Price:
$20.76
Quantity: