Results for: vince vawter

Below is a list of 3 the books by this author.

Book cover of COPYBOY
COPYBOY
By: vince vawter | Published: August 2018

The sequel to the Newbery Honor-winning novel Paperboy and a Fall 2018 Junior Library Guild selection. Victor Vollmer isn't a paperboy anymore. He's a...

The sequel to the Newbery Honor-winning novel Paperboy and a Fall 2018 Junior Library Guild selection. Victor Vollmer isn't a paperboy anymore. He's a copyboy now, but his duties at the newspaper get interrupted by a last request from Mr. Spiro, the old man who became Victor's mentor and helped him take on his stutter in the beloved novel Paperboy, a Newbery Honor Book.  Victor takes off on a journey that sends him hundreds of miles from home toward the teeth of a gathering storm. Confronted by an unfamiliar and threatening world, he meets a girl who is strong, smart, and bold like no one he's known before, and together they venture to the place where river meets sea. When they wind up racing to evade a hurricane, Victor finds out what the fates have in store for him.

  • ISBN
    9781630791056
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$19.95
Quantity:
Book cover of PAPERBOY
PAPERBOY
By: vince vawter | Published: April 2014

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred   "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story....

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred   "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again   This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King’s Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.   Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend’s paper route for the month of July, he’s not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it’s the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man’s life.   A Newbery Honor Award Winner An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Book An IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Choice An IRA Teachers’ Choice A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book A BookPage Best Children’s Book An ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Recording An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection   “[Vawter’s] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be ‘somebody instead of just a kid who couldn’t talk right.’” —The Washington Post   “Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story.” —Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America   *“[A] tense, memorable story.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred   “An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer.” —School Library Journal

Theme: Stuttering, Historical Fiction

  • ISBN
    9780307931511
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$8.99
Quantity:
Book cover of PAPERBOY
PAPERBOY
By: vince vawter | Published: May 2013

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred   "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story....

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred   "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again   This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King’s Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.   Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend’s paper route for the month of July, he’s not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it’s the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man’s life.   A Newbery Honor Award Winner An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Book An IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Choice An IRA Teachers’ Choice A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book A BookPage Best Children’s Book An ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Recording An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection   “[Vawter’s] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be ‘somebody instead of just a kid who couldn’t talk right.’” —The Washington Post   “Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story.” —Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America   *“[A] tense, memorable story.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred   “An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer.” —School Library Journal

  • ISBN
    9780385742443
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$19.99
Quantity: