Results for: chris crutcher

Below is a list of 9 the books by this author.

Book cover of ANGRY MANAGEMENT
ANGRY MANAGEMENT
By: chris crutcher | Published: February 2011

Theme: Drugs & Addiction, LGBTQ2S+

  • ISBN
    9780060502485
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    High School - Literature Anthologies
Retail Price:
$11.99
Quantity:
Book cover of ATHLETIC SHORTS
ATHLETIC SHORTS
By: chris crutcher | Published: October 2002

A collection of short stories featuring characters from earlier books by Chris Crutcher.

  • ISBN
    9780060507831
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    High School - Literature Anthologies
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity:
Book cover of LOSERS BRACKET
LOSERS BRACKET
By: chris crutcher | Published: April 2018

A provocative and heart-wrenching novel about family, loss, and loyalty from acclaimed and bestselling author Chris Crutcher. Losers Bracket is the po...

A provocative and heart-wrenching novel about family, loss, and loyalty from acclaimed and bestselling author Chris Crutcher. Losers Bracket is the powerful and gripping new novel by the author of Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes and Whale Talk. When it comes to family, Annie is in the losers bracket. While her foster parents are great (mostly), her birth family would not have been her first pick. And no matter how many times Annie tries to write them out of her life, she always gets sucked back into their drama. Love is like that. But when a family argument breaks out at Annie’s swim meet and her nephew goes missing, Annie might be the only one who can get him back. With help from her friends, her foster brother, and her social service worker, Annie puts the pieces of the puzzle together, determined to find her nephew and finally get him into a safe home. Award-winning author Chris Crutcher’s books are strikingly authentic and unflinchingly honest. Losers Bracket is by turns gripping, heartbreaking, hopeful, and devastating, and hits the sweet spot for fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp.

  • ISBN
    9780062220066
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of LOSERS BRACKET
LOSERS BRACKET
By: chris crutcher | Published: April 2019

  • ISBN
    9780062220080
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity:
Book cover of PERIOD 8
PERIOD 8
By: chris crutcher | Published: March 2014

In this terrifying and provocative novel by the bestselling and award-winning author of Deadline and Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes, a teenage boy tries...

In this terrifying and provocative novel by the bestselling and award-winning author of Deadline and Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes, a teenage boy tries to uncover what happened to a girl who has vanished from his high school. Was she abducted, or did she run for her life? Paul "The Bomb" Baum tells the truth. No matter what. It was something he learned at Sunday school. But telling the truth can cause problems, and not just minor ones. And as Paulie discovers, finding the truth can be even more problematic. Period 8 is supposed to be that one period in high school where the truth can shine, a safe haven. Only what Paulie and Hannah (his ex-girlfriend, unfortunately) and his other classmates don't know is that the ultimate liar is in their midst. Terrifying, thought-provoking, and original, this novel combines all the qualities of a great psychological thriller with the controversy, ethics, athletics, humor, and raw emotion of a classic Crutcher story.

Theme: Bullying issues

  • ISBN
    9780061914829
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity:
Book cover of RUNNING LOOSE
RUNNING LOOSE
By: chris crutcher | Published: N/A

  • ISBN
    9780060094911
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$10.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SLEDDING HILL
SLEDDING HILL
By: chris crutcher | Published: September 2006

Eddie hasn't had an easy year First his father dies. Then his best friend Billy accidentally kicks a stack of Sheetrock over on himself, breaking his...

Eddie hasn't had an easy year First his father dies. Then his best friend Billy accidentally kicks a stack of Sheetrock over on himself, breaking his neck and effectively hitting tilt on his Earthgame. Eddie and Billy were inseparable. Still are. Billy isn't going to let a little thing like death stop him from hanging in there with his friend. And when Eddie faces an epic struggle with the powers that be, Billy will remain right there beside him.

  • ISBN
    9780060502454
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity:
Book cover of STAYING FAT FOR SARAH BYRNES
STAYING FAT FOR SARAH BYRNES
By: chris crutcher | Published: January 2018

Called a “masterpiece” in a starred review from School Library Journal, award-winning author Chris Crutcher’s acclaimed Staying Fat ...

Called a “masterpiece” in a starred review from School Library Journal, award-winning author Chris Crutcher’s acclaimed Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes is an enduring classic. This bestselling novel is about love, loyalty, and friendship in the face of adversity. “Superb plotting, extraordinary characters, and cracking narrative make this novel unforgettable.”—Publishers Weekly   Sarah Byrnes and Eric Calhoune have been friends for years. When they were children, his weight and her scars made them both outcasts. Now Sarah Byrnes—the smartest, toughest person Eric has ever known—sits silent in a hospital. Eric must uncover the terrible secret she’s hiding before its dark current pulls them both under. Will appeal to fans of Marieke Nijkamp, Andrew Smith, and John Corey Whaley. “Once again, Chris Crutcher plunges his readers into life's tough issues within a compelling story filled with human compassion . . . with his characteristic intelligence, humor, and empathy."—ALAN Review An American Library Association Best Book for Young AdultsIncludes exclusive extras.

  • ISBN
    9780062687746
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity:
Book cover of WHALE TALK
WHALE TALK
By: chris crutcher | Published: January 2018

“A truly exceptional book.”—Washington Post There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is ...

“A truly exceptional book.”—Washington Post There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher’s controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school. "Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide.”—Washington Post T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he’s had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp. "Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"—Publishers Weekly An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age Features a new afterword by Chris Crutcher.

Theme: Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062687753
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity: