Your search returned 2 results in the Theme: vietnam.

Book cover of BUTTERFLY YELLOW
BUTTERFLY YELLOW
By: thanhha lai | Published: September 2019

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut fro...

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms—and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn’t know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her. Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn’t remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

Theme: War/Children and War, Vietnam, Diversity, #OwnVoices

  • ISBN
    9780062229212
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$21.99
Discount:
$4.40
Your Price:
$17.59
Quantity:
Book cover of PAPER BOAT
PAPER BOAT
By: thao lam | Published: September 2020

At her home in Vietnam, a girl rescues ants from the sugar water set out to trap them. Later, when the girl’s family flees war-torn Vietnam, ants le...

At her home in Vietnam, a girl rescues ants from the sugar water set out to trap them. Later, when the girl’s family flees war-torn Vietnam, ants lead them through the moonlit jungle to the boat that will take them to safety. Before boarding, the girl folds a paper boat from a bun wrapper and drops it into the water, and the ants climb on. Their perilous journey, besieged by punishing weather, predatory birds, and dehydration, before reaching a new beginning, mirrors the family’s own. Impressionistic collages and a moving, Own Voices narrative make this a one-of-a-kind tale of courage, resilience, and hope.

Theme: Refugee, #OwnVoices, Vietnam, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781771473637
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
List Price:
$19.95
Discount:
$3.99
Your Price:
$15.96
Quantity: