Your search returned 5 results in the Theme: vietnam.

Book cover of BUTTERFLY YELLOW
BUTTERFLY YELLOW
By: thanhha lai | Published: September 2019

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut fro...

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms—and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn’t know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her. Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn’t remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

Theme: War/Children and War, Vietnam, Diversity, #OwnVoices, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780062229212
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BUTTERFLY YELLOW
BUTTERFLY YELLOW
By: thanhh lai | Published: October 2020

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a sp...

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn't know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her. Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn't remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

Theme: #OwnVoices, War/Children and War, Vietnam, Diversity, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780062229229
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$13.50
Quantity:
Book cover of MY 1ST DAY
MY 1ST DAY
By: phung guang | Published: February 2021

A visually stunning story of resilience and determination by an award-winning new author-illustrator team. This is no ordinary first journey. The rain...

A visually stunning story of resilience and determination by an award-winning new author-illustrator team. This is no ordinary first journey. The raining season has come to the Mekong Delta, and An, a young Vietnamese boy, sets out alone in a wooden boat wearing a little backpack and armed only with a single oar. On the way, he is confronted by giant crested waves, heavy rainfall and an eerie forests where fear takes hold of him. Although daunted by the dark unknown, An realizes that he is not alone and continues to paddle. He knows it will all be worth it when he reaches his destination.

Theme: School, Diversity, Vietnam, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780593306260
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of PAPER BOAT
PAPER BOAT
By: thao lam | Published: September 2020

At her home in Vietnam, a girl rescues ants from the sugar water set out to trap them. Later, when the girl’s family flees war-torn Vietnam, ants le...

At her home in Vietnam, a girl rescues ants from the sugar water set out to trap them. Later, when the girl’s family flees war-torn Vietnam, ants lead them through the moonlit jungle to the boat that will take them to safety. Before boarding, the girl folds a paper boat from a bun wrapper and drops it into the water, and the ants climb on. Their perilous journey, besieged by punishing weather, predatory birds, and dehydration, before reaching a new beginning, mirrors the family’s own. Impressionistic collages and a moving, Own Voices narrative make this a one-of-a-kind tale of courage, resilience, and hope.

Theme: Refugee, Culturally Responsive , #OwnVoices, Vietnam, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781771473637
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$19.95
Quantity:
Book cover of THAO
THAO
By: thao lam | Published: April 2021

A funny, eye-opening story about the challenges of growing up with an unfamiliar name and learning to be true to yourself, new from the critically acc...

A funny, eye-opening story about the challenges of growing up with an unfamiliar name and learning to be true to yourself, new from the critically acclaimed Thao Lam Even though it's only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao's name. She's been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! But the teasing names--Tofu, Tiny, China Girl--are worse. Maybe it's time to be someone else? Thao decides to try on a different name, something easy, like Jennifer. It works, but only until she opens her lunchbox to find her mother's Vietnamese spring rolls, gỏi cuốn--Thao's favorite! Now, it feels a lot more comfortable to be herself. Simple on the surface, this story inspired by Thao's own childhood is full of humor, heart, and important ideas of diversity, inclusion, and cultural pride.

Theme: Diversity, Vietnam

  • ISBN
    9781771474320
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$19.95
Quantity: