Your search returned 10 results in the Theme: vietnam.

Book cover of BUTTERFLY YELLOW
BUTTERFLY YELLOW
By: thanhha lai | Published: September 2019

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut...

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms—and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn’t know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her. Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn’t remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

Theme: War/Children and War, Vietnam, Diversity, #OwnVoices, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780062229212
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BUTTERFLY YELLOW
BUTTERFLY YELLOW
By: thanhh lai | Published: October 2020

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a...

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn't know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her. Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn't remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

Theme: #OwnVoices, War/Children and War, Vietnam, Diversity, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780062229229
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity:
Book cover of DRAWN TOGETHER
DRAWN TOGETHER
By: minh le | Published: May 2018

When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a common language leads to confusion, frustration, and silence. But as they sit down to draw...

When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a common language leads to confusion, frustration, and silence. But as they sit down to draw together, something magical happens-with a shared love of art and storytelling, the two form a bond that goes beyond words.

Theme: Asian Heritage, Culturally Responsive , Vietnam

  • ISBN
    9781484767603
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of HUNDRED YEARS OF HAPPINESS
HUNDRED YEARS OF HAPPINESS
By: thanhha lai | Published: April 2022

An's grandmother Bà sometimes gets trapped in her cloudy memories. An and her grandfather, Ông, come up with a plan to bring her back to a happy...

An's grandmother Bà sometimes gets trapped in her cloudy memories. An and her grandfather, Ông, come up with a plan to bring her back to a happy moment: they grow gấc fruits so they can make xôi gấc, Bà's favorite dish from her wedding in Việt Nam many years ago. A stunning picture book showcasing the love between grandparents and grandchildren, the challenges of memory loss, and the joy that sweet reminders of a faraway home can bring.

Theme: Inter-Generational, Vietnam, Diversity, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780063026926
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of INSIDE OUT & BACK AGAIN
INSIDE OUT & BACK AGAIN
By: thanhha lai | Published: January 2013

Theme: Prejudice & Racism, Refugee, Asian Heritage, Vietnam

  • ISBN
    9780061962790
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$10.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MY 1ST DAY
MY 1ST DAY
By: phung guang | Published: February 2021

A visually stunning story of resilience and determination by an award-winning new author-illustrator team. This is no ordinary first journey. The...

A visually stunning story of resilience and determination by an award-winning new author-illustrator team. This is no ordinary first journey. The raining season has come to the Mekong Delta, and An, a young Vietnamese boy, sets out alone in a wooden boat wearing a little backpack and armed only with a single oar. On the way, he is confronted by giant crested waves, heavy rainfall and an eerie forests where fear takes hold of him. Although daunted by the dark unknown, An realizes that he is not alone and continues to paddle. He knows it will all be worth it when he reaches his destination.

Theme: School, Diversity, Vietnam, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780593306260
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of PAPER BOAT
PAPER BOAT
By: thao lam | Published: September 2020

At her home in Vietnam, a girl rescues ants from the sugar water set out to trap them. Later, when the girl’s family flees war-torn Vietnam, ants...

At her home in Vietnam, a girl rescues ants from the sugar water set out to trap them. Later, when the girl’s family flees war-torn Vietnam, ants lead them through the moonlit jungle to the boat that will take them to safety. Before boarding, the girl folds a paper boat from a bun wrapper and drops it into the water, and the ants climb on. Their perilous journey, besieged by punishing weather, predatory birds, and dehydration, before reaching a new beginning, mirrors the family’s own. Impressionistic collages and a moving, Own Voices narrative make this a one-of-a-kind tale of courage, resilience, and hope.

Theme: Refugee, Culturally Responsive , #OwnVoices, Vietnam

  • ISBN
    9781771473637
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$19.95
Quantity:
Book cover of PHO LOVE STORY
PHO LOVE STORY
By: loan le | Published: December 2021

If Bao Nguyen had to describe himself, he'd say he was a rock. Steady and strong, but not particularly interesting. His grades are average, his...

If Bao Nguyen had to describe himself, he'd say he was a rock. Steady and strong, but not particularly interesting. His grades are average, his social status unremarkable. He works at his parents' pho restaurant, and even there, he is his parents' fifth favorite employee. Not ideal. If Linh Mai had to describe herself, she'd say she was a firecracker. Stable when unlit, but full of potential for joy and fire. She loves art and dreams pursuing a career in it. The only problem? Her parents rely on her in ways they're not willing to admit, including working practically full-time at her family's pho restaurant. For years, the Mais and the Nguyens have been at odds, having owned competing, neighboring pho restaurants. Bao and Linh, who've avoided each other for most of their lives, both suspect that the feud stems from feelings much deeper than friendly competition. But then a chance encounter brings Linh and Bao in the same vicinity despite their best efforts and sparks fly, leading them both to wonder what took so long for them to connect. But then, of course, they immediately remember. Can Linh and Bao find love in the midst of feuding families and complicated histories?

Theme: Romance, Vietnam, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9781534441941
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$16.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TEAM CHU & THE BATTLE OF BLACKWOOD ARE
TEAM CHU & THE BATTLE OF BLACKWOOD ARE
By: julie dao | Published: July 2022

An action-packed middle grade adventure set in an imaginative virtual reality world that is a joyful celebration of the fierceness of sibling love...

An action-packed middle grade adventure set in an imaginative virtual reality world that is a joyful celebration of the fierceness of sibling love and rivalry. Sadie and Clip Chu love laser tag. Like, really love it. When a new arena opens in town with state-of-the-art courses and virtual reality headsets, they couldn't be more excited?--or more competitive. But then a mysterious figure appears and claims to be part of the game, and the Chus and their friends must find a way to save themselves from a sinister force lurking beneath the surface of the simulation. As they team up to beat the obstacles in store, the Chu siblings learn that they're far better off working with instead of against each other. Team Chu and the Battle of Blackwood Arena is the first book in this commercial middle grade fantasy series featuring Vietnamese-American siblings Clip and Sadie Chu, perfect for fans of Tristan Strong and Nevermoor.

Theme: Diversity, Vietnam, Adventure

  • ISBN
    9780374388751
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of THAO
THAO
By: thao lam | Published: April 2021

Even though it's only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao's name. She's been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! But the...

Even though it's only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao's name. She's been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! But the teasing names--Tofu, Tiny, China Girl--are worse. Maybe it's time to be someone else? Thao decides to try on a different name, something easy, like Jennifer. It works, but only until she opens her lunchbox to find her mother's Vietnamese spring rolls, gỏi cuốn--Thao's favorite! Now, it feels a lot more comfortable to be herself. Simple on the surface, this story inspired by Thao's own childhood is full of humor, heart, and important ideas of diversity, inclusion, and cultural pride.

Theme: Vietnam

  • ISBN
    9781771474320
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$19.95
Quantity: