Results for: thanhha lai

Below is a list of 4 the books by this author.

Book cover of BUTTERFLY YELLOW
BUTTERFLY YELLOW
By: thanhha lai | Published: September 2019

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut fro...

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms—and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn’t know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her. Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn’t remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

Theme: War/Children and War, Vietnam, Diversity, #OwnVoices

  • ISBN
    9780062229212
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$21.99
Discount:
$4.40
Your Price:
$17.59
Quantity:
Book cover of INSIDE OUT & BACK AGAIN
INSIDE OUT & BACK AGAIN
By: thanhha lai | Published: February 2011

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author's ...

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee—fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama—this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child's-eye view of family and immigration. For all the ten years of her life, Hà has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, and the warmth of her friends close by. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. Hà and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope. In America, Hà discovers the foreign world of Alabama: the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food . . . and the strength of her very own family. This moving story of one girl's year of change, dreams, grief, and healing received four starred reviews, including one from Kirkus which proclaimed it "enlightening, poignant, and unexpectedly funny." An author's note explains how and why Thanhha Lai translated her personal experiences into Hà's story.

Theme: Immigration, Refugee, Prejudice & Racism

  • ISBN
    9780061962783
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$21.00
Discount:
$4.20
Your Price:
$16.80
Quantity:
Book cover of INSIDE OUT & BACK AGAIN
INSIDE OUT & BACK AGAIN
By: thanhha lai | Published: January 2013

Theme: Prejudice & Racism

  • ISBN
    9780061962790
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$10.99
Discount:
$2.20
Your Price:
$8.79
Quantity:
Book cover of LISTEN SLOWLY
LISTEN SLOWLY
By: thanhha lai | Published: May 2016

This remarkable and bestselling novel from Thanhha Lai, author of the National Book Award–winning and Newbery Honor Book Inside Out & Ba...

This remarkable and bestselling novel from Thanhha Lai, author of the National Book Award–winning and Newbery Honor Book Inside Out & Back Again, follows a young girl as she learns the true meaning of family. Listen, Slowly is a New York Times Book Review Notable Book and a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year! A California girl born and raised, Mai can’t wait to spend her vacation at the beach. Instead, she has to travel to Vietnam with her grandmother, who is going back to find out what really happened to her husband during the Vietnam War. Mai’s parents think this trip will be a great opportunity for their out-of-touch daughter to learn more about her culture. But to Mai, those are their roots, not her own. Vietnam is hot, smelly, and the last place she wants to be. Besides barely speaking the language, she doesn’t know the geography, the local customs, or even her distant relatives. To survive her trip, Mai must find a balance between her two completely different worlds. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Linda Sue Park, Listen, Slowly is an irresistibly charming and emotionally poignant tale about a girl who discovers that home and culture, family and friends, can all mean different things. This paperback edition includes a special letter from the author and a Vietnamese glossary and pronunciation guide.

Theme: Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062229199
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$8.50
Discount:
$1.70
Your Price:
$6.80
Quantity: