Your search returned 3 results in the Theme: stuttering.

Book cover of CLARA & DAVIE
CLARA & DAVIE
By: patricia polacco | Published: January 2014

The true story of young Clara Barton, the woman who founded the American Red Cross. Animals and flowers were Clara's best friends. She had a special...

The true story of young Clara Barton, the woman who founded the American Red Cross. Animals and flowers were Clara's best friends. She had a special way with critters and found joy in the beauty that sprang from the soil. But whenever Clara talked, her words didn't come out right. As hard as she tried, she could not get over her lisp. Clara's older brother Davie understood that his sister was gifted. When folks made fun of Clara's stilted words, Davie was always at her side reminding her that she had a talent for healing creatures. Davie told his sister, "Some day you are going to be a very great lady." And that's exactly what happened. Clara Barton became one of the most famous medical practitioners of all time, and founded the American Red Cross.

Theme: Stuttering

  • ISBN
    9780545354776
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book - Advanced
List Price:
$19.99
Discount:
$4.00
Your Price:
$15.99
Quantity:
Book cover of I TALK LIKE A RIVER
I TALK LIKE A RIVER
By: jordan scott | Published: September 2020

What if words got stuck in the back of your mouth whenever you tried to speak? What if they never came out the way you wanted them to? When a boy who ...

What if words got stuck in the back of your mouth whenever you tried to speak? What if they never came out the way you wanted them to? When a boy who stutters feels isolated, alone, and incapable of communicating in the way he'd like, it takes a kindly father and a walk by the river to help him find his voice.Sometimes it takes a change of perspective to get the words flowing.

Theme: Self Esteem, Stuttering, Nature

  • ISBN
    9780823445592
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
List Price:
$24.99
Discount:
$5.00
Your Price:
$19.99
Quantity:
Book cover of PAPERBOY
PAPERBOY
By: vince vawter | Published: April 2014

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred   "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story....

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred   "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again   This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King’s Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.   Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend’s paper route for the month of July, he’s not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it’s the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man’s life.   A Newbery Honor Award Winner An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Book An IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Choice An IRA Teachers’ Choice A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book A BookPage Best Children’s Book An ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Recording An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection   “[Vawter’s] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be ‘somebody instead of just a kid who couldn’t talk right.’” —The Washington Post   “Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story.” —Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America   *“[A] tense, memorable story.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred   “An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer.” —School Library Journal

Theme: Stuttering, Historical Fiction

  • ISBN
    9780307931511
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$8.99
Discount:
$1.80
Your Price:
$7.19
Quantity: