Your search returned 7 results in the Theme: sports - skating.

Book cover of AMAZING WINTER OLYMPICS - FIGURE SKATING
AMAZING WINTER OLYMPICS - FIGURE SKATING
By: ashley gish | Published: January 2022

Theme: Sports - Skating

  • ISBN
    9781682770467
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Sports And Active Games
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity:
Book cover of AMAZING WINTER OLYMPICS - SPEED SKATING
AMAZING WINTER OLYMPICS - SPEED SKATING
By: ashley gish | Published: January 2022

Theme: Sports - Skating

  • ISBN
    9781682770511
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Sports And Active Games
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity:
Book cover of ANA ON THE EDGE
ANA ON THE EDGE
By: aj sass | Published: October 2021

For fans of George and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, a heartfelt coming of age story about a nonbinary ice skater navigating a binary world....

For fans of George and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, a heartfelt coming of age story about a nonbinary ice skater navigating a binary world. Twelve-year-old Ana-Marie Jin, the reigning US Juvenile figure skating champion, is not a frilly dress kind of kid. So, when Ana learns that next season's program will be princess themed, doubt forms fast. Still, Ana tries to focus on training and putting together a stellar routine worthy of national success. Once Ana meets Hayden, a transgender boy new to the rink, thoughts about the princess program and gender identity begin to take center stage. And when Hayden mistakes Ana for a boy, Ana doesn't correct him and finds comfort in this boyish identity when he's around. As their friendship develops, Ana realizes that it's tricky juggling two different identities on one slippery sheet of ice. And with a major competition approaching, Ana must decide whether telling everyone the truth is worth risking years of hard work and sacrifice.

Theme: Sports - Skating

  • ISBN
    9780316458627
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$11.99
Quantity:
Book cover of JAKE MADDOX - TRUST ON THIN ICE
JAKE MADDOX - TRUST ON THIN ICE
By: jake maddox | Published: January 2023

Theme: Sports - Skating

  • ISBN
    9781666341461
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
Retail Price:
$9.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MEET CLARA HUGHES
MEET CLARA HUGHES
By: elizabeth macleod | Published: January 2024

Meet Clara Hughes -- athlete, Olympic medalist and mental health advocate. Clara is still the only person in the world to ever win multiple medals at...

Meet Clara Hughes -- athlete, Olympic medalist and mental health advocate. Clara is still the only person in the world to ever win multiple medals at both the Summer Olympics and the Winter Olympics. But perhaps her biggest accomplishment is the work she has done to help others. Growing up in Winnipeg, Clara liked sports. She wasn't a top athlete and was headed down a bad path until the fateful day she watched speed skater Gaétan Boucher compete at the 1988 Winter Games. Clara decided she would do that too. It was to be a life-changing decision, one that set her on a course of training, competing and winning at the Olympic level in not just one but TWO sports. But as the world was cheering her on, Clara didn't feel right inside. She finally realized that winning all the medals in the world wouldn't make her okay -- she had to work as hard on her mental health as she did on her training. Maybe even harder. Young readers will get the inside story of Clara Hughes's inspiring life and how she learned to not only take care of herself, but to inspire others to do the same. The Scholastic Canada Biography series focuses on fascinating people who have shaped Canada's past and present. Written by acclaimed author Elizabeth MacLeod, each book also features comics-inspired illustrations by Mike Deas.

Theme: Female Athletes, Sports - Skating

  • ISBN
    9781443197724
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Biography
Retail Price:
$18.99
Quantity:
Book cover of NOT YET - THE STORY OF AN UNSTOPPABLE SKATER
NOT YET - THE STORY OF AN UNSTOPPABLE SKATER
By: hadley davis | Published: February 2024

A universal story about courage and determination that is loosely based on the life of five-time Emirati National Champion, Zahra Lari, who was the...

A universal story about courage and determination that is loosely based on the life of five-time Emirati National Champion, Zahra Lari, who was the first figure skater to compete internationally in a hijab. After watching an ice-skating movie, young Zahra sets her mind to learn how to ice skate even though her family and friends doubt her abilities. After all, she's too old to learn, the rink is too cold, and figure skaters don't look like her... not yet at least! Illustrated with Sara Alfageeh's energetic lines and colors that pop right off the page, we follow Zahra's story as she glides across the floors of her house in her socks all the way to the ice rink... and as she repeatedly says ''not yet'' to naysayers -- including herself -- who try to convince her to stop pursuing her dream. An inspiring tale of self-empowerment and perseverance as we see the refrain -- not yet -- grow from a low, meek mumble to a mantra and promise filled with determination.

Theme: Sports - Skating, Female Athletes, BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9781338865202
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Biography
Retail Price:
$25.99
Quantity:
Book cover of VOICI CLARA HUGHES - BIOGRAPHIE EN IMAGE
VOICI CLARA HUGHES - BIOGRAPHIE EN IMAGE
By: elizabeth macleod | Published: January 2024

See below for English description. Voici Clara Hughes: athlète, médaillée olympique et militante pour la santé mentale....

See below for English description. Voici Clara Hughes: athlète, médaillée olympique et militante pour la santé mentale. Encore aujourd'hui, Clara est la seule personne au monde à avoir remporté plusieurs médailles aux Jeux olympiques d'été et d'hiver. Mais sa plus grande réussite est sans aucun doute le travail qu'elle a accompli pour aider les autres. Clara, qui a grandi à Winnipeg, a toujours aimé les sports. Elle n'a pas toujours été une athlète de haut niveau. Elle se trouvait même sur une mauvaise pente jusqu'au jour fatidique où elle a regardé le patineur de vitesse Gaétan Boucher, à la télévision, participer aux Jeux d'hiver de 1988. Clara a alors décidé qu'elle ferait la même chose. Cette décision a changé sa vie et l'a conduite à s'entraîner, à concourir et à gagner au niveau olympique dans pas moins de deux sports. Mais alors que le pays tout entier applaudissait ses exploits, Clara ne se sentait pas bien en son for intérieur. Elle a finalement réalisé que gagner toutes les médailles du monde ne lui permettrait pas d'aller mieux: elle devait consacrer autant d'efforts à sa santé mentale qu'à son entraînement. Les jeunes lecteurs découvriront la vie exemplaire de Clara Hughes et comment elle a appris non seulement à prendre soin d'elle, mais aussi à encourager les autres à faire de même. Meet Clara Hughes -- athlete, Olympic medalist and mental health advocate. Clara is still the only person in the world to ever win multiple medals at both the Summer Olympics and the Winter Olympics. But perhaps her biggest accomplishment is the work she has done to help others. Growing up in Winnipeg, Clara liked sports. She wasn't a top athlete and was headed down a bad path until the fateful day she watched speed skater Gaétan Boucher compete at the 1988 Winter Games. Clara decided she would do that too. It was to be a life-changing decision, one that set her on a course of training, competing and winning at the Olympic level in not just one but TWO sports. But as the world was cheering her on, Clara didn't feel right inside. She finally realized that winning all the medals in the world wouldn't make her okay -- she had to work as hard on her mental health as she did on her training. Maybe even harder. Young readers will get the inside story of Clara Hughes's inspiring life and how she learned to not only take care of herself, but to inspire others to do the same. Original title: Scholastic Canada Biography: Meet Clara Hughes

Theme: Female Athletes, Sports - Skating

  • ISBN
    9781443198042
  • Binding
    Hardcover French
  • Category
    French Biography K - 12
Retail Price:
$19.99
Quantity: