Your search returned 9 results in the Theme: blended family.

Book cover of BLACK BROTHER BLACK BROTHER
BLACK BROTHER BLACK BROTHER
By: jewell rhodes | Published: March 2020

Sometimes, 12-year-old Donte wishes he were invisible. As one of the few black boys at Middlefield Prep, most of the students don't look like him. The...

Sometimes, 12-year-old Donte wishes he were invisible. As one of the few black boys at Middlefield Prep, most of the students don't look like him. They don't like him either. Dubbing him "Black Brother," Donte's teachers and classmates make it clear they wish he were more like his lighter-skinned brother, Trey. When he's bullied and framed by the captain of the fencing team, "King" Alan, he's suspended from school and arrested for something he didn't do. Terrified, searching for a place where he belongs, Donte joins a local youth center and meets former Olympic fencer Arden Jones. With Arden's help, he begins training as a competitive fencer, setting his sights on taking down the fencing team captain, no matter what. As Donte hones his fencing skills and grows closer to achieving his goal, he learns the fight for justice is far from over. Now Donte must confront his bullies, racism, and the corrupt systems of power that led to his arrest.

Theme: Blended family, Diversity, Prejudice & Racism, #BlackLivesMatter

  • ISBN
    9780316493802
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BRAVE
BRAVE
By: james bird | Published: June 2020

Theme: Indigenous, Blended family

  • ISBN
    9781250247759
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BUMP
BUMP
By: matt wallace | Published: January 2021

A moving and triumphant middle grade contemporary debut from award-winning author Matt Wallace about a heroic young girl--who dreams of becoming a pro...

A moving and triumphant middle grade contemporary debut from award-winning author Matt Wallace about a heroic young girl--who dreams of becoming a pro wrestler--learning to find courage and fight for what she loves. Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds' Track series! MJ knows what it means to hurt. Bruises from gymnastics heal, but big hurts--like her dad not being around anymore--don't go away. Now her mom needs to work two jobs, and MJ doesn't have friends at school to lean on. There is only one thing MJ loves: the world of professional wrestling. She especially idolizes the luchadores and the stories they tell in the ring. When MJ learns that her neighbor, Mr. Arellano, runs a wrestling school, she has a new mission in life: join the school, train hard, and become a wrestler. But trouble lies ahead. After wrestling in a showcase event, MJ attracts the attention of Mr. Arellano's enemy at the State Athletic Commission. There are threats to shut the school down, putting MJ's new home--and the community that welcomed her--at risk. What can MJ do to save her new family?

Theme: Blended family

  • ISBN
    9780063007987
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.00
Quantity:
Book cover of INVISIBLE LEASH
INVISIBLE LEASH
By: patrice karst | Published: December 2019

From the author of the modern classic and bestselling phenomenon The Invisible String comes a tender story about permanent loss that also celebrates t...

From the author of the modern classic and bestselling phenomenon The Invisible String comes a tender story about permanent loss that also celebrates the joy that animals give us in this life and beyond. "When our pets aren't with us anymore, an Invisible Leash connects our hearts to each other. Forever." That's what Zack's friend Emily tells him after his dog dies. Zack doesn't believe it. He only believes in what he can see. But on an enlightening journey through their neighborhood--and through his grief--he comes to feel the comforting tug of the Invisible Leash. And it feels like love. Accompanied by tender. uplifting art by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff, bestselling author Patrice Karst's gentle story uses the same bonding technique from her classic book The Invisible String to help readers through the experience of the loss of a beloved animal.

Theme: Death & Grieving , Diversity, Blended family

  • ISBN
    9780316524858
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.49
Quantity:
Book cover of KAIA & THE BEES
KAIA & THE BEES
By: maribeth boelts | Published: March 2020

The author of Those Shoes and an award-winning illustrator team up for the story of a girl who tries to overcome her fear of bees to see how amazing t...

The author of Those Shoes and an award-winning illustrator team up for the story of a girl who tries to overcome her fear of bees to see how amazing they are. Kaia is the brave type. Like hottest-hot-pepper brave. But there is one thing that scares her: BEES! And right now, thousands of bees live on her roof because Kaia's dad is a beekeeper. Her dad says that the world needs bees and that's why they are beekeepers. But only he goes on the roof, not Kaia -- unless she can find a way to be the brave girl she always says she is. Against a sunny city setting, author Maribeth Boelts and illustrator Angela Dominguez depict Kaia's small courageous steps -- and her tiny insect neighbors -- with great empathy and charm. Buzzing with storytime potential, Kaia and the Bees is an honest and relatable tale about bravery and compassion, as well as the importance of bees to our world.

Theme: Blended family, science themes, Environment

  • ISBN
    9781536201055
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book - Advanced
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of LOVE LIKE SKY
LOVE LIKE SKY
By: leslie youngblood | Published: September 2019

"Brims with charm and compassion."--Vashti Harrison, New York Times best-selling author of Little Leaders "Love ain't lik...

"Brims with charm and compassion."--Vashti Harrison, New York Times best-selling author of Little Leaders "Love ain't like that.""How is it then?" Peaches asked, turning on her stomach to face me. "It's like sky. If you keep driving and driving, gas will run out, right?" "That's why we gotta go to the gas station.""Yep. But have you ever seen the sky run out? No matter how far we go?" "No, when we look up, there it is.""Well that's the kind of love Daddy and Mama got for us, Peaches--love like sky.""It never ends?" "Never." G-baby and her younger sister, Peaches, are still getting used to their "blended-up" family. They live with Mama and Frank out in the suburbs, and they haven't seen their real daddy much since he married Millicent. G-baby misses her best friend back in Atlanta, and is crushed that her glamorous new stepsister, Tangie, wants nothing to do with her. G-baby is so preoccupied with earning Tangie's approval that she isn't there for her own little sister when she needs her most. Peaches gets sick-really sick. Suddenly, Mama and Daddy are arguing like they did before the divorce, and even the doctors at the hospital don't know how to help Peaches get better. It's up to G-baby to put things right. She knows Peaches can be strong again if she can only see that their family's love for her really is like sky.

Theme: Blended family, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781368019392
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$11.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MAD BAD & DANGEROUS
MAD BAD & DANGEROUS
By: samira ahmed | Published: February 2021

Told in alternating narratives that bridge centuries, the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed traces the lives of two you...

Told in alternating narratives that bridge centuries, the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed traces the lives of two young women fighting to write their own stories and escape the pressure of cultural expectations in worlds too long defined by men. It's August in Paris and 17-year-old Khayyam Maquet--American, French, Indian, Muslim--is at a crossroads. This holiday with her parents should be a dream trip for the budding art historian. But her maybe-ex-boyfriend is probably ghosting her, she might have just blown her chance at getting into her dream college, and now all she really wants is to be back home in Chicago figuring out her messy life instead of brooding in the City of Light. Two hundred years before Khayyam's summer of discontent, Leila is struggling to survive and keep her true love hidden from the Pasha who has "gifted" her with favored status in his harem. In the present day--and with the company of a descendant of Alexandre Dumas--Khayyam begins to connect allusions to an enigmatic 19th-century Muslim woman whose path may have intersected with Alexandre Dumas, Eugène Delacroix, and Lord Byron. Echoing across centuries, Leila and Khayyam's lives intertwine, and as one woman's long-forgotten life is uncovered, another's is transformed.

Theme: Blended family

  • ISBN
    9781641292313
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$13.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TINY MANSION
TINY MANSION
By: keir graff | Published: September 2020

The last thing twelve-year-old Dagmar wants is to spend her summer vacation squished into a tiny house with her dad, her stepmom, and her annoying fiv...

The last thing twelve-year-old Dagmar wants is to spend her summer vacation squished into a tiny house with her dad, her stepmom, and her annoying five-year-old half brother. But after a sudden financial setback, her family is evicted from their Oakland apartment, and that's just where they end up, parked among the towering redwoods of Northern California. As Dagmar explores the forest around their new and (hopefully) temporary home, she discovers they are living next door to an eccentric tech billionaire and his very unusual extended family. There's his brother, a woodsman who sets dangerous booby traps all over the place, and his sister, a New Age animal lover who meditates to whale songs in an isolation tank. And then there's the billionaire's son, Blake, who has everything he could ever wish for--except maybe a friend. But when a wildfire engulfs the forest, everyone--rich and poor, kid and adult--will have to work together to escape. And with both families at risk of losing everything, it turns out it's not the size of the home but the people you share it with that matters.

Theme: Blended family, Natural Disasters

  • ISBN
    9781984813855
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of WHAT LANE
WHAT LANE
By: torrey maldonado | Published: April 2020

Theme: Diversity, Blended family

  • ISBN
    9780525518433
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity: