Results for: elizabeth wein

Below is a list of 8 the books by this author.

Book cover of BLACK DOVE WHITE RAVEN
BLACK DOVE WHITE RAVEN
By: elizabeth wein | Published: March 2016

From the beloved and acclaimed Elizabeth Wein comes a searing new novel about friendship, flying, and war.      Emilia and Teo's lives changed ...

From the beloved and acclaimed Elizabeth Wein comes a searing new novel about friendship, flying, and war.      Emilia and Teo's lives changed in a fiery, terrifying instant when a bird brought down the plane their mothers were piloting. Teo's mother died immediately, but Em's survived, determined to raise Teo according to his late mother's wishes--among his own people in Ethiopia. Rhoda brings Em and Teo to Ethiopia and all three fall in love with the beautiful, peaceful country. But that peace is shattered by the threat of war with Italy, and teenage Em and Teo are drawn into the conflict. Will their love for their country and each other be their downfall . . . or their salvation?

  • ISBN
    9780385681889
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$15.99
Quantity:
Book cover of CODE NAME VERITY
CODE NAME VERITY
By: elizabeth wein | Published: May 2013

The book The New York Times called "a fiendishly plotted mind game of a novel" is now available in paperback!      Two young ...

The book The New York Times called "a fiendishly plotted mind game of a novel" is now available in paperback!      Two young women from totally different backgrounds are thrown together during the Second World War. One is a working-class girl from Manchester, the other a Scottish aristocrat; one is a pilot, the other a wireless operator. Yet whenever their paths cross, they complement each other perfectly, and before long they are devoted friends. But then a vital mission goes wrong, and one of the friends has to bail out of a faulty plane over France. She is captured by the Gestapo and becomes a prisoner of war. The story begins in "Verity's" own words, as she writes her account for her captors.

  • ISBN
    9780385676571
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.95
Quantity:
Book cover of ENIGMA GAME
ENIGMA GAME
By: elizabeth wein | Published: May 2020

A stunning new historical novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein, featuring a beloved character from the award-winning Code Name ...

A stunning new historical novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein, featuring a beloved character from the award-winning Code Name Verity; for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society. A German soldier risks his life to drop off the sought-after Enigma Machine to British Intelligence, hiding it in a pub in a small town in northeast Scotland, and unwittingly bringing together four very different people who decide to keep it to themselves. Louisa Adair, a young teen girl hired to look after the pub owner's elderly, German-born aunt, Jane Warner, finds it but doesn't report it. Flight-Lieutenant Jamie Beaufort-Stuart intercepts a signal but can't figure it out. Ellen McEwen, volunteer at the local airfield, acts as the go-between and messenger, after Louisa involves Jane in translating. The planes under Jamie's command seem charmed, as Jamie knows where exactly to go, while other squadrons suffer, and the four are loathe to give up the machine, even after Elisabeth Lind from British Intelligence arrives, even after the Germans start bombing the tiny town . . .

Theme: War/Children and War

  • ISBN
    9780735265288
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$16.99
Quantity:
Book cover of PEARL THIEF
PEARL THIEF
By: elizabeth wein | Published: May 2017

A stunning new novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein, a prequel to the award-winning Code Name Verity. Before Verity . . . th...

A stunning new novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein, a prequel to the award-winning Code Name Verity. Before Verity . . . there was Julie.       When fifteen-year-old Julia Beaufort-Stuart wakes up in the hospital, she knows the lazy summer break she'd imagined won't be exactly like she anticipated. And once she returns to her grandfather's estate, a bit banged up but alive, she begins to realize that her injury might not have been an accident. One of her family's employees is missing, and he disappeared on the very same day she la nded in the hospital.       Desperate to figure out what happened, she befriends Euan McEwen, the Scots Traveller boy who found her when she was injured, and his standoffish sister Ellen. As Julie grows closer to this family, she experiences some of the prejudices they've grown used to firsthand, a stark contrast to her own upbringing, and finds herself exploring thrilling new experiences that have nothing to do with a missing-person investigation.       Her memory of that day returns to her in pieces, and when a body is discovered, her new friends are caught in the crosshairs of long-held biases about Travellers. Julie must get to the bottom of the mystery in order to keep them from being framed for the crime.       In this prequel to Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, the exhilarating coming-of-age story returns to a beloved character just before she learned to fly.

  • ISBN
    9780385683456
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of PEARL THIEF
PEARL THIEF
By: elizabeth wein | Published: May 2018

A stunning new novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein, a prequel to the award-winning Code Name Verity. Before Verity . . . there...

A stunning new novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein, a prequel to the award-winning Code Name Verity. Before Verity . . . there was Julie. When fifteen-year-old Julia Beaufort-Stuart wakes up in the hospital, she knows the lazy summer break she'd imagined won't be exactly like she anticipated. And once she returns to her grandfather's estate, a bit banged up but alive, she begins to realize that her injury might not have been an accident. One of her family's employees is missing, and he disappeared on the very same day she la nded in the hospital. Desperate to figure out what happened, she befriends Euan McEwen, the Scots Traveller boy who found her when she was injured, and his standoffish sister Ellen. As Julie grows closer to this family, she experiences some of the prejudices they've grown used to firsthand, a stark contrast to her own upbringing, and finds herself exploring thrilling new experiences that have nothing to do with a missing-person investigation. Her memory of that day returns to her in pieces, and when a body is discovered, her new friends are caught in the crosshairs of long-held biases about Travellers. Julie must get to the bottom of the mystery in order to keep them from being framed for the crime. In this prequel to Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, the exhilarating coming-of-age story returns to a beloved character just before she learned to fly.

  • ISBN
    9780385683470
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity:
Book cover of ROSE UNDER FIRE
ROSE UNDER FIRE
By: elizabeth wein | Published: September 2014

The "New York Times"-bestselling author Elizabeth's Wein's companion book to "Code Name Verity," now in paperback. Rose Justice is a young pilot with ...

The "New York Times"-bestselling author Elizabeth's Wein's companion book to "Code Name Verity," now in paperback. Rose Justice is a young pilot with the Air Transport Auxiliary during the Second World War. On her way back from a semi-secret flight in the waning days of the war, Rose is captured by the Germans and ends up in Ravensbruck, the notorious Nazi women's concentration camp. There, she meets an unforgettable group of women, including a once glamorous and celebrated French detective novelist whose Jewish husband and three young sons have been killed; a resilient young girl who was a human guinea pig for Nazi doctors trying to learn how to treat German war wounds; and a Nachthexen, or Night Witch, a female fighter pilot and military ace for the Soviet air force. These damaged women must bond together to help each other survive. In this companion volume to the critically acclaimed novel "Code Name Verity," Elizabeth Wein continues to explore themes of friendship and loyalty, right and wrong, and unwavering bravery in the face of indescribable evil.

Theme: War/Children and War

  • ISBN
    9780385679558
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.95
Quantity:
Book cover of THOUSAND SISTERS
THOUSAND SISTERS
By: elizabeth wein | Published: January 2019

Theme: War/Children and War

  • ISBN
    9780062453013
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Biography (individual)
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of THOUSAND SISTERS
THOUSAND SISTERS
By: elizabeth wein | Published: January 2020

The gripping true story of the only women to fly in combat in World War II--from Elizabeth Wein, award-winning author of Code Name Verity In the early...

The gripping true story of the only women to fly in combat in World War II--from Elizabeth Wein, award-winning author of Code Name Verity In the early years of World War II, Josef Stalin issued an order that made the Soviet Union the first country in the world to allow female pilots to fly in combat. Led by Marina Raskova, these three regiments, including the 588th Night Bomber Regiment--nicknamed the "night witches"--faced intense pressure and obstacles both in the sky and on the ground. Some of these young women perished in flames. Many of them were in their teens when they went to war. This is the story of Raskova's three regiments, women who enlisted and were deployed on the front lines of battle as navigators, pilots, and mechanics. It is the story of a thousand young women who wanted to take flight to defend their country, and the woman who brought them together in the sky. Packed with black-and-white photographs, fascinating sidebars, and thoroughly researched details, A Thousand Sisters is the inspiring true story of a group of women who set out to change the world, and the sisterhood they formed even amid the destruction of war.

Theme: War/Children and War

  • ISBN
    9780062453037
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$13.50
Quantity: