Results for: tricia springstubb

Below is a list of 7 the books by this author.

Book cover of CODY & THE MYSTERIES OF THE UNIVERSE
CODY & THE MYSTERIES OF THE UNIVERSE
By: tricia springstubb | Published: April 2017

“Brimming with charm, delight, and a diverse cast of characters.” — Booklist In Cody’s second neighborhood adventure, her ...

“Brimming with charm, delight, and a diverse cast of characters.” — Booklist In Cody’s second neighborhood adventure, her best friend, Spencer, is moving in around the corner. Cody can’t wait: she needs Spencer to help solve the mystery of the never-seen Mr. Meen, who lives on the other side of the porch with a skull-and-crossbones sign in the window and an extermination truck out front. Spencer’s new-school jitters and the turf-claiming kids next door — who have their own reasons for acting out — make this year’s shift from summer into a new school year extra-confusing for Cody — and extra-delightful.

  • ISBN
    9780763694531
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    First Novel
Retail Price:
$8.99
Quantity:
Book cover of EVERY SINGLE 2ND
EVERY SINGLE 2ND
By: tricia springstubb | Published: November 2017

A poignant and topical middle grade novel about the effects of an accidental shooting on family, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Rebecc...

A poignant and topical middle grade novel about the effects of an accidental shooting on family, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Rita Williams-Garcia. Now available in paperback. A single second. That’s all it takes to turn a world upside-down. Twelve-year-old Nella Sabatini’s life is changing too soon, too fast. Her best friend Clem doesn’t seem concerned; she’s busy figuring out the best way to spend the “leap second”—an extra second about to be added to the world’s official clock. The only person who might understand how Nella feels is Angela, but the two of them have gone from being “secret sisters” to not talking at all. Then Angela’s idolized big brother makes a terrible, fatal mistake, one that tears apart their tight-knit community and plunges his family into a whirlwind of harsh publicity. In the midst of this controversy, Nella is faced with startling revelations about her parents, friends, and neighborhood. Soon she must choose whether to stand by or stand up. The clock ticks down, and in that extra second, past and present merge—the future will be up to Nella.

Theme: Prejudice & Racism

  • ISBN
    9780062366290
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$8.50
Quantity:
Book cover of KHALIL & MR HAGERTY & THE BACKYARD
KHALIL & MR HAGERTY & THE BACKYARD
By: tricia springstubb | Published: May 2020

A sweet friendship spanning age and culture blooms in a shared backyard. Khalil lives in the upstairs apartment with his family, which is big and busy...

A sweet friendship spanning age and culture blooms in a shared backyard. Khalil lives in the upstairs apartment with his family, which is big and busy and noisy. Downstairs lives Mr. Hagerty, who is quiet. Khalil and Mr. Hagerty don't appear to have a lot in common, but hot summer days have a way of bringing people together. As Khalil looks for buried treasure in the yard, Mr. Hagerty tends to his garden. Both help each other navigate language -- whether it be learning new words or remembering those seemingly forgotten. Before long, an unlikely friendship is born, full of treasure, thoughtfulness, and chocolate cake. Through well-cultivated details and vibrant cut-paper collage, author Tricia Springstubb and illustrator Elaheh Taherian nurture a heart-tugging tribute to the love of good neighbors and to the strength of intergenerational and intercultural bonds.

Theme: Diversity, Inter-Generational, Culturally Responsive

  • ISBN
    9781536203066
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MO WREN LOST & FOUND
MO WREN LOST & FOUND
By: tricia springstubb | Published: August 2011

When eleven-year-old Mo's mother dies in an accident and Mo's devastated father deals with the loss by moving the family to a new town and starting a ...

When eleven-year-old Mo's mother dies in an accident and Mo's devastated father deals with the loss by moving the family to a new town and starting a new life as the owner of a sports bar, Mo must leave her much loved neighborhood on Fox Street to live in an apartment above the "cursed" Corky's Tavern.

  • ISBN
    9780061990397
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$17.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MOONPENNY ISLAND
MOONPENNY ISLAND
By: tricia springstubb | Published: June 2016

Readers of Kate DiCamillo and Sheila Turnage will love Moonpenny Island, a middle grade novel of friendship and secrets by the beloved and acclaimed T...

Readers of Kate DiCamillo and Sheila Turnage will love Moonpenny Island, a middle grade novel of friendship and secrets by the beloved and acclaimed Tricia Springstubb. Moonpenny is a tiny island in a great lake. When the summer people leave and the ferries stop running, just the tried-and-true islanders are left behind. Flor and her best, her perfect friend, Sylvie, are the only eleven-year-olds for miles and miles—and Flor couldn’t be happier. But come the end of summer, unthinkable things begin to happen. Sylvie is suddenly, mysteriously, whisked away to school on the mainland. Flor’s mother leaves to take care of Flor’s sick grandmother and doesn’t come back. Her big sister has a secret, and Flor fears it’s a dangerous one. Meanwhile, a geologist and his peculiar daughter arrive to excavate prehistoric trilobites, one of the first creatures to develop sight. Soon Flor is helping them. As her own ability to see her life on this little lump of limestone evolves, she faces truths about those she loves—and about herself—she never imagined.

Theme: Coming of Age

  • ISBN
    9780062112941
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$8.50
Quantity:
Book cover of PHOEBE & DIGGER
PHOEBE & DIGGER
By: tricia springstubb | Published: March 2013

With a new baby taking up Mama’s time and attention, what will happen when Phoebe needs her? When Mama got a new baby, Phoebe got a new digge...

With a new baby taking up Mama’s time and attention, what will happen when Phoebe needs her? When Mama got a new baby, Phoebe got a new digger. And when Mama is busy with the baby, Phoebe and Digger are busy, too: “Waa!” says the baby. “Rmm!” says Digger. Poop! goes the baby. “Rmm!” says Digger. Finally, Mama says it’s time to go to the park, the one with real dirt — and while Mama and the baby sit on the boring bench, Phoebe and Digger happily build and knock down and dig things up. That is, until a big girl comes by, a kid with mean teeth and grabby hands. Phoebe tries everything she can, but what if she never gets Digger back? Comical illustrations and a spot-on story are sure to make readers of all ages smile in recognition.

Theme: Bullying issues

  • ISBN
    9780763652814
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$19.00
Quantity:
Book cover of WHAT HAPPENED ON FOX STREET
WHAT HAPPENED ON FOX STREET
By: tricia springstubb | Published: August 2011

  • ISBN
    9780061986369
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$6.99
Quantity: