Results for: adam rex

Below is a list of 9 the books by this author.

Book cover of COLD CEREAL
COLD CEREAL
By: adam rex | Published: January 2013

From author Adam Rex comes the first book in the Cold Cereal Saga—a hilarious, clever, and action-packed adventure series with an educational ho...

From author Adam Rex comes the first book in the Cold Cereal Saga—a hilarious, clever, and action-packed adventure series with an educational hook. Scottish Play Doe—aka Scott—is used to being a little different. Sometimes he hallucinates things no one else can see. But then one of these hallucinations tries to steal Scott's backpack, and he comes face-to-face with an honest-to-goodness leprechaun named Mick who's on the run from, of all things, the Goodco Cereal Company. With the help of his friends Erno and Emily, Scott and Mick uncover Goodco's sinister plans—and take the first steps in saving the world from the evil cereal company. Like the Artemis Fowl Series and the Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series, the Cold Cereal Saga takes elements of familiar mythology—in this case, Arthurian legend and Irish folklore—and reimagines it in the modern world with a cast of relatable characters and myriad magical beings. The story is told from multiple points of view, and there are dozens of illustrations—including "commercial breaks"—and stories within the story. Supports the Common Core State Standards

Theme: Humour

  • ISBN
    9780062060037
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$8.99
Discount:
$1.80
Your Price:
$7.20
Quantity:
Book cover of FAT VAMPIRE - NEVER COMING OF AGE STORY
FAT VAMPIRE - NEVER COMING OF AGE STORY
By: adam rex | Published: July 2011

Theme: Humour, Vampire

  • ISBN
    9780061920929
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$10.99
Discount:
$2.20
Your Price:
$8.80
Quantity:
Book cover of ON ACCOUNT OF THE GUM
ON ACCOUNT OF THE GUM
By: adam rex | Published: October 2020

Improbable, ridiculous remedies accumulate when there is gum stuck in your hair.

  • ISBN
    9781452181547
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$24.99
Discount:
$5.00
Your Price:
$20.00
Quantity:
Book cover of PLUTO GETS THE CALL
PLUTO GETS THE CALL
By: adam rex | Published: November 2019

Pluto gets a call from Earth telling him he isn’t a planet anymore, so he sets out on a journey through the solar system to find out why in this...

Pluto gets a call from Earth telling him he isn’t a planet anymore, so he sets out on a journey through the solar system to find out why in this funny and fact-filled romp that’s perfect for fans of The Scrambled States of America. Pluto loves being a planet. That is, until the day he gets a call from some Earth scientists telling him he isn’t a planet anymore! You probably wanted to meet a real planet, huh? So, Pluto takes the reader on a hilarious and informative journey through the solar system to introduce the other planets and commiserate about his situation along the way. Younger readers will be so busy laughing over Pluto’s interactions with the other planets, asteroids, moons, and even the sun, they won’t even realize just how much they’re learning about our solar system!

Theme: Kindness, science themes

  • ISBN
    9781534414532
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Discount:
$4.80
Your Price:
$19.20
Quantity:
Book cover of PSSST
PSSST
By: adam rex | Published: September 2007

  • ISBN
    9780152058173
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
Retail Price:
$22.00
Discount:
$4.40
Your Price:
$17.61
Quantity:
Book cover of SCHOOL'S 1ST DAY OF SCHOOL
SCHOOL'S 1ST DAY OF SCHOOL
By: adam rex | Published: June 2016

It's the first day of school at Frederick Douglass Elementary and everyone's just a little bit nervous, especially the school itself. What will the ...

It's the first day of school at Frederick Douglass Elementary and everyone's just a little bit nervous, especially the school itself. What will the children do once they come? Will they like the school? Will they be nice to him? The school has a rough start, but as the day goes on, he soon recovers when he sees that he's not the only one going through first-day jitters.

Theme: School, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781596439641
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$24.99
Discount:
$5.00
Your Price:
$20.00
Quantity:
Book cover of SMEK FOR PRESIDENT
SMEK FOR PRESIDENT
By: adam rex | Published: February 2016

In this much anticipated sequel toThe True Meaning of Smekday, Tip and J.Lo are back for another hilarious intergalactic adventure. And this time (and...

In this much anticipated sequel toThe True Meaning of Smekday, Tip and J.Lo are back for another hilarious intergalactic adventure. And this time (and last time, and maybe next time), they want to make things right with the Boov. After Tip and J.Lo banished the Gorg from Earth in a scheme involving the cloning of many, many cats, the pair is notorious-but not for their heroics. Instead, human Dan Landry has taken credit for conquering the Gorg, and the Boov blame J.Lo for ruining their colonization of the planet. Determined to clear his name, J.Lo and Tip pack into Slushious, a Chevy that J.Lo has engineered into a fairly operational spaceship, and head to New Boovworld, the aliens' new home on one of Saturn's moons. But their welcome isn't quite as warm as Tip and J.Lo would have liked. J.Lo is dubbed Public Enemy Number One, and Captain Smek knows that capturing the alien is the only way he'll stand a chance in the Boovs' first-ever presidential election. With the help of a friendly flying billboard named Bill, a journey through various garbage chutes, a bit of time travel, and a slew of hilarious Boovish accents, Tip and J.Lo must fight to set the record straight-and return home in once piece.Praise forSmek for President!* "Rex is a comic genius." -School Library Journal, starred review * "[P]lenty of gleeful ridiculousness adorns this outing, which is illustrated with Rex's own fanciful comics...This sequel shares the strengths of its predecessor: the loving friendship between Tip and J.Lo, the respect for the absurd, and the social consciences of the teen protagonist and her ET BFF." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Light political satire mixes with action, death rays, and time travel, making this book a smart, fun ride." -Booklist "Rex packs his sequel with loads of action and a steady spotlight on friendship...And his humor is, as it was inSmekday, laugh-out-loud funny." -The Horn Book Praise forThe True Meaning of Smekday * "First-time novelist Rex has written an imaginative, wacky, hilarious sci-fi story that will appeal to fans of Eoin Colfer and Jon Scieszka. Lively cartoon-paneled illustrations are interspersed throughout and add to the fun. This is a fast-paced adventure with a whip-smart protagonist, a lovable and resourceful extraterrestrial, and plenty of social commentary." -School Library Journal, starred review * "Who knew the end of the world could be so hilarious? ? Rex's high-octane fantasy could fairly be called an apocalyptic comedy." -Publishers Weekly, starred review * "[G]uaranteed to tickle the middle-school funny bone." -Booklist, starred review

  • ISBN
    9781484709696
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$8.99
Discount:
$1.80
Your Price:
$7.20
Quantity:
Book cover of UNLUCKY CHARMS
UNLUCKY CHARMS
By: adam rex | Published: January 2014

For fans of Artemis Fowl and Percy Jackson & the Olympians comes the second book in Adam Rex's acclaimed Cold Cereal Saga, about three kids wh...

For fans of Artemis Fowl and Percy Jackson & the Olympians comes the second book in Adam Rex's acclaimed Cold Cereal Saga, about three kids who must save the world from the diabolical schemes of an evil breakfast company. Scottish Play Doe and his friends may have escaped from the clutches of the evil Nimue, but they're not out of the woods just yet. The Goodco Cereal Company's quest to take over the world is quickly gaining momentum: it has already started to sell cereals containing the magical chemical Intellijuice and, what's worse, has kidnapped one of the world's most important public figures, the Queen of England, and replaced her with goblin impersonators. When Scott and the others learn that Goodco is holding the real queen captive in a magical other-England, they decide to pass through a rift in the time-space continuum and rescue her—and hopefully convince the faeries to stop the invasion that will bring about the end of the world as they know it.

Theme: Humour

  • ISBN
    9780062060068
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$9.75
Discount:
$1.95
Your Price:
$7.81
Quantity:
Book cover of XO OX - A LOVE STORY
XO OX - A LOVE STORY
By: adam rex | Published: January 2017

Dear Gazelle, For some time now I have wanted to write a letter to say how much I admire you. You are so graceful and fine. Even when you are runni...

Dear Gazelle, For some time now I have wanted to write a letter to say how much I admire you. You are so graceful and fine. Even when you are running from tigers you are like a ballerina who is running away from tigers. I think that what I'm trying to say is that I love you. XO, OX And so begins an epic, if initially unrequited, love affair between a graceful gazelle and a clumsy, hapless ox. Romance will never be the same. Adam Rex's hilarious, sweet, and at times heartbreaking letters between a hopelessly romantic ox and a conceited, beautiful gazelle are paired perfectly with Scott Campbell's joyful illustrations to bring you a romance for the ages. A Neal Porter Book

  • ISBN
    9781626722880
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$24.99
Discount:
$5.00
Your Price:
$20.00
Quantity: