Results for: nnedi okorafor

Below is a list of 7 the books by this author.

Book cover of AKATA WARRIOR
AKATA WARRIOR
By: nnedi okorafor | Published: October 2018

The newest novel by the author of Akata Witch and the forthcoming Marvel comic book series about Shuri, Black Panther's sister! “The most im...

The newest novel by the author of Akata Witch and the forthcoming Marvel comic book series about Shuri, Black Panther's sister! “The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!” —Laurie Halse Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Speak A year ago, Sunny Nwazue, an American-born girl Nigerian girl, was inducted into the secret Leopard Society. As she began to develop her magical powers, Sunny learned that she had been chosen to lead a dangerous mission to avert an apocalypse, brought about by the terrifying masquerade, Ekwensu. Now, stronger, feistier, and a bit older, Sunny is studying with her mentor Sugar Cream and struggling to unlock the secrets in her strange Nsibidi book. Eventually, Sunny knows she must confront her destiny. With the support of her Leopard Society friends, Orlu, Chichi, and Sasha, and of her spirit face, Anyanwu, she will travel through worlds both visible and invisible to the mysteries town of Osisi, where she will fight a climactic battle to save humanity. Much-honored Nnedi Okorafor, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy awards, merges today’s Nigeria with a unique world she creates. Akata Warrior blends mythology, fantasy, history and magic into a compelling tale that will keep readers spellbound.

  • ISBN
    9780142425855
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$15.99
Discount:
$3.20
Your Price:
$12.80
Quantity:
Book cover of AKATA WITCH 01
AKATA WITCH 01
By: nnedi okorafor | Published: July 2017

 "Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to...

 "Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things." -- Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods  Affectionately dubbed "the Nigerian Harry Potter," Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone!       Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing—she is a "free agent" with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.       Soon she's part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she’s finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?       World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called “stunning” by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more! Raves for Nnedi Okorafor's writing:  "There’s more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafor’s work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics." —Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea “The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!” —Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak "I always loved science fiction, but I didn’t feel I was part of it—until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor." —Whoopi Goldberg "Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full of color, life, and death. Nnedi Okorafor's work is wonderful!" —Diana Wynne Jones, award-winning author of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci "Jam-packed with mythological wonders." —Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series "Okorafor's imagination is stunning." —The New York Times Book Review

Theme: Diversity, Nigeria

  • ISBN
    9780142420911
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.99
Discount:
$3.00
Your Price:
$12.00
Quantity:
Book cover of AKATA WITCH 02 AKATA WARRIOR
AKATA WITCH 02 AKATA WARRIOR
By: nnedi okorafor | Published: October 2017

The newest novel by the author of Akata Witch and the forthcoming Marvel comic book series about Shuri, Black Panther's sister! “The most im...

The newest novel by the author of Akata Witch and the forthcoming Marvel comic book series about Shuri, Black Panther's sister! “The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!” —Laurie Halse Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Speak A year ago, Sunny Nwazue, an American-born girl Nigerian girl, was inducted into the secret Leopard Society. As she began to develop her magical powers, Sunny learned that she had been chosen to lead a dangerous mission to avert an apocalypse, brought about by the terrifying masquerade, Ekwensu. Now, stronger, feistier, and a bit older, Sunny is studying with her mentor Sugar Cream and struggling to unlock the secrets in her strange Nsibidi book. Eventually, Sunny knows she must confront her destiny. With the support of her Leopard Society friends, Orlu, Chichi, and Sasha, and of her spirit face, Anyanwu, she will travel through worlds both visible and invisible to the mysteries town of Osisi, where she will fight a climactic battle to save humanity. Much-honored Nnedi Okorafor, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy awards, merges today’s Nigeria with a unique world she creates. Akata Warrior blends mythology, fantasy, history and magic into a compelling tale that will keep readers spellbound.

Theme: Diversity, Nigeria

  • ISBN
    9780670785612
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$24.99
Discount:
$5.00
Your Price:
$20.00
Quantity:
Book cover of IKENGA
IKENGA
By: nnedi okorafor | Published: August 2020

Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded the to...

Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded the town. But then he was murdered, and most people believed the Chief of Chiefs, most powerful of the criminals, was responsible. Nnamdi has vowed to avenge his father, but he wonders what a twelve-year-old boy can do. Until a mysterious nighttime meeting, the gift of a magical object that enables super powers, and a charge to use those powers for good changes his life forever. How can he fulfill his mission? How will he learn to control his newfound powers? Award-winning Nnedi Okorafor, acclaimed for her Akata novels, introduces a new and engaging hero in her first novel for middle grade readers set against a richly textured background of contemporary Nigeria.

Theme: Fantasy, Nigeria

  • ISBN
    9780593113523
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$22.99
Discount:
$4.60
Your Price:
$18.40
Quantity:
Book cover of LAGUARDIA
LAGUARDIA
By: nnedi okorafor | Published: July 2019

Written by Nnedi Okorafor, Hugo and Nebula award- winning author and the writer of Marvel's Shuri, this deluxe trade paperback collects issues #1-#4 o...

Written by Nnedi Okorafor, Hugo and Nebula award- winning author and the writer of Marvel's Shuri, this deluxe trade paperback collects issues #1-#4 of the mini-series and includes artist sketches and afterword from the author. In an alternate world where aliens have integrated with society, pregnant Nigerian- American doctor Future Nwafor Chukwuebuka has just smuggled an illegal alien plant named Letme Live through LaGuardia International and Interstellar Airport... and that's not the only thing she's hiding. She and Letme become part of a community of human and alien immigrants; but as their crusade for equality continues and the birth of her child nears, Future-- and her entire world-- begins to change. "Laguardia" is essential reading for our times." -- Comicbook.com " Classic speculative fiction at its best, coupled with an endearing protagonist, and a vibrant, living sci-fi world rendered by a fantastic art team."-- Multiversity.com

Theme: Prejudice & Racism

  • ISBN
    9781506710754
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Teen
Retail Price:
$25.99
Discount:
$5.20
Your Price:
$20.80
Quantity:
Book cover of SHURI - WAKANDA FOREVER
SHURI - WAKANDA FOREVER
By: nnedi okorafor | Published: November 2020

  • ISBN
    9781302923693
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
Retail Price:
$16.99
Discount:
$3.40
Your Price:
$13.60
Quantity:
Book cover of WHO FEARS DEATH
WHO FEARS DEATH
By: nnedi okorafor | Published: February 2014

  • ISBN
    9780756407285
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$11.99
Discount:
$2.40
Your Price:
$9.60
Quantity: