Results for: helen lester

Below is a list of 12 the books by this author.

Book cover of BORIS & THE WORRISOME WAKIES
BORIS & THE WORRISOME WAKIES
By: helen lester | Published: March 2017

I'm hunnnnngry! I think my PJs are on backwards! My cuddle-bunny is hogging the bed!" It's bedtime, but Boris has the worrisome wakies! No ma...

I'm hunnnnngry! I think my PJs are on backwards! My cuddle-bunny is hogging the bed!" It's bedtime, but Boris has the worrisome wakies! No matter how much Papa and Mama badger their little badger, Boris can't sleep. He's too itchy, too thirsty, too everything . But the wakies at bedtime lead to snoozing-and trouble-at school! Can Boris banish the worrisome wakies for good? Fans of Helen Lester and Lynn Munsinger's comic creations Tacky the Penguin and Wodney Wat will find something new to smile about in this rollicking, relatable tale."

Theme: Story Time

  • ISBN
    9780544640948
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of HAPPY BIRDDAY TACKY
HAPPY BIRDDAY TACKY
By: helen lester | Published: May 2013

The Nice Icy Land was crackling with busy-ness. It had taken weeks and a lot of whispery chirps for Tacky the Penguin's friends to plan a Perfect Surp...

The Nice Icy Land was crackling with busy-ness. It had taken weeks and a lot of whispery chirps for Tacky the Penguin's friends to plan a Perfect Surprise Birdday Party for him on his special hatchday. With songs, presents, cake, fishy ice cream, and surprise entertainment from Iglooslavia's own Twinklewebs the Dance Queen, how could anything go wrong? But it's a comedy of errors . . . and all is far from perfect. Luckily, Tacky's good cheer-and his flippity dance moves-save the day with a flap of his flippers and a tap of his tippywebs. Munsinger's adorable, expressive penguin illustrations are the icing on the cake.

Theme: Humour

  • ISBN
    9780547912288
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of HOOWAY FOR WODNEY WAT
HOOWAY FOR WODNEY WAT
By: helen lester | Published: February 1999

Poor Rodney Rat can't pronounce his R's and the other rodents tease him mercilessly. But when Camilla Capybara joins Rodney's class and announces that...

Poor Rodney Rat can't pronounce his R's and the other rodents tease him mercilessly. But when Camilla Capybara joins Rodney's class and announces that she is bigger, meaner, and smarter than any of the other rodents, everyone is afraid. It seems she really is bigger, meaner, and smarter than all of the rest of them. Until our unwitting hero, Wodney Wat, catches Camilla out in a game of Simon Says. Read along with Wodney as he surprises himself and his classmates by single-handedly saving the whole class from the big bad bully. Children will delight as shy Rodney Rat triumphs over all and his tiny voice decides the day, R's or no R's.

  • ISBN
    9780395923924
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$25.99
Quantity:
Book cover of HURTY FEELINGS
HURTY FEELINGS
By: helen lester | Published: April 2007

Fragility was a solid piece of work. But despite her sturdy exterior, Fragility was fragile. Anything and everything hurt her feelings. In the most be...

Fragility was a solid piece of work. But despite her sturdy exterior, Fragility was fragile. Anything and everything hurt her feelings. In the most benign compliment, Fragility heard an insult. No one could even say she looked nice without evoking images of big, squishy cupcakes-since they are also nice-and causing Fragility to flop on the ground and weep. Fragility's friends stop speaking to her for fear of another fit, but Rudy, a very rude bully, has other ideas. In the face of real insults, will Fragility finally learn to take a compliment?

Theme: Bullying issues, Character Education

  • ISBN
    9780618840625
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$10.99
Quantity:
Book cover of ME 1ST
ME 1ST
By: helen lester | Published: July 2013

This funny, fetching tale will bring chuckles-and a lesson-to any child with a tendency to echo Pinkerton's cries of `Me first.'' - Publishers Weekly ...

This funny, fetching tale will bring chuckles-and a lesson-to any child with a tendency to echo Pinkerton's cries of `Me first.'' - Publishers Weekly Pinkerton Pig will do anything to be first-first down the slide, first in line at the trough-a-teria, first on the bus. His pushy ploys backfire on a Pig Scouts hike when he hears the magic words 'Would you care for a sandwich?' Little does he know, he's being tricked by a sandcastle-dwelling Sandwitch in need of care! How long will Pinkerton be doomed to powder her warty nose? This cheery look at the dangers of piggishness is now part of a fun, 8' x 8' hardcover series about life lessons.Includes downloadable audio!

Theme: Kindergarten

  • ISBN
    9780544003217
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$12.99
Quantity:
Book cover of POOKINS GETS HER WAY
POOKINS GETS HER WAY
By: helen lester | Published: February 2015

'Kids will recognize bits of themselves in Pookins . . . an amusing, hard-edged heroine.' - Booklist Pookins always gets her way. If she doesn't,...

'Kids will recognize bits of themselves in Pookins . . . an amusing, hard-edged heroine.' - Booklist Pookins always gets her way. If she doesn't, she makes faces, she throws apples, and she yells very loudly! But when Pookins finds a magic gnome who grants her three wishes, she hastily wishes to be a flower. Powerless to do anything, she realizes that her way may not be the best way, and that a bit of empathy for the gnome might set things right. This new addition to the Laugh-Along Lessons series focuses on the importance of being considerate.Includes parent/teacher discussion guide and downloadable audio!

  • ISBN
    9780544324060
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$10.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SCORE 1 FOR THE SLOTHS
SCORE 1 FOR THE SLOTHS
By: helen lester | Published: February 2015

Score another one for Lester and Munsinger." - Publishers Weekly The sloths at Sleepy Valley Sloth School are content in their sloth...

Score another one for Lester and Munsinger." - Publishers Weekly The sloths at Sleepy Valley Sloth School are content in their slothfulness. One day, a new sloth arrives, a go-getter, a mover and a shaker-which is to say she actually moves. The other sloths think she's a pest, and she thinks they're bores, that is until a real boar arrives-an official representative of S.O.S. (Society for Organizing Sameness) sent to close the school. Something has to be done, and all eyes turn to Sparky . . . This new addition to the Laugh-Along Lessons series focuses on the importance of being true to yourself. Includes a parent/teacher discussion guide and downloadable audio! "

  • ISBN
    9780544324053
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$10.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TACKY & THE HAUNTED IGLOO
TACKY & THE HAUNTED IGLOO
By: helen lester | Published: July 2015

It's Halloween, and Goodly, Lovely, Angel, Neatly, and Perfect are planning the spookiest haunted igloo ever! They've decorated with spoohooky cobwebs...

It's Halloween, and Goodly, Lovely, Angel, Neatly, and Perfect are planning the spookiest haunted igloo ever! They've decorated with spoohooky cobwebs, they've baked some awful waffle treats, and the only thing left to do is dress up as something scary to haunt the igloo. Everything is going spooktacularly . . . until ghostly hunters show up! They want all the penguins' snacks, but their trick-or-treaters (and, of course, snacky Tacky) have eaten them all. How will the penguins get out of this mess? Tacky will teach these trick-or-treating hunters that, if they can't get treats, they're surely going to get tricked.

  • ISBN
    9780544339941
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TACKY GOES TO CAMP
TACKY GOES TO CAMP
By: helen lester | Published: May 2012

Tacky and his fellow penguins are off to summer camp in Nice Icy Land to enjoy themselves while Rock Hopping, Line Dancing, and playing Capture the Ic...

Tacky and his fellow penguins are off to summer camp in Nice Icy Land to enjoy themselves while Rock Hopping, Line Dancing, and playing Capture the Ice Cube. One night, they gather around the campfire to sing, eat s'mores, and tell scary stories. But after going to bed, something straight out of one of their scary stories pays the sleeping penguins a visit. Goodly, Lovely, Angel, Neatly, and Perfect think they should high-tail it out of there, but it is Tacky-with some unexpected heroics-who saves the day. Includes lyrics to the official Camp Whoopihaha song!

  • ISBN
    9780547722139
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$9.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TACKY THE PENGUIN
TACKY THE PENGUIN
By: helen lester | Published: November 2003

Tacky's perfect friends find him annoying until his odd behavior saves the day.

  • ISBN
    9780395562338
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$10.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TACKYLOCKS & THE 3 BEARS
TACKYLOCKS & THE 3 BEARS
By: helen lester | Published: May 2004

How do you keep a crowd of energetic young penguins entertained? Put on a play, perhaps? But will they pay attention through an entire performance? If...

How do you keep a crowd of energetic young penguins entertained? Put on a play, perhaps? But will they pay attention through an entire performance? If Tacky's center stage, they might. Even in his flowing blond wig and little red 'skipping shoes,' everyone's favorite misfit penguin imbues the character of Goldilocks with his own indomitable personality and style. So what if the set is in shambles? This is one performance Mrs. Beakly's students won't soon forget.

  • ISBN
    9780618439539
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Traditional Single Stories - Fractured Fairy Tales
Retail Price:
$9.99
Quantity:
Book cover of WODNEY WAT'S WOBOT
WODNEY WAT'S WOBOT
By: helen lester | Published: October 2011

When Wodney must face off against that big bully Camilla Capybara for a second time, a talking robot becomes his secret weapon. The meek wodent . . . ...

When Wodney must face off against that big bully Camilla Capybara for a second time, a talking robot becomes his secret weapon. The meek wodent . . . er, rodent . . . hero with a speech impediment and a heart of gold is back! So is Camilla Capybara-the BIG bully who makes poor Wodney and his classmates tremble. But this time, Wodney has a secret weapon: a robot that helps him pronounce his r's and seems to be just the thing to scare Camilla away for good. With the second empowering tale about Wodney, Lester and Munsinger use their signature dose of humor to remind us that the little guy can finish first, and it's often brains-not brawn-that save the day.

Theme: Bullying issues, Self-Esteem, Kindergarten

  • ISBN
    9780547367569
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity: