Results for: vicki grant

Below is a list of 10 the books by this author.

Book cover of 36 QUESTIONS THAT CHANGED MY MIND ABOUT
36 QUESTIONS THAT CHANGED MY MIND ABOUT
By: vicki grant | Published: October 2017

Inspired by the real psychology study popularized by theNew York Timesand its "Modern Love" column, this contemporary YA is perfect...

Inspired by the real psychology study popularized by theNew York Timesand its "Modern Love" column, this contemporary YA is perfect for fans ofEleanor and Park. Two random strangers. Two secrets. Thirty-six questions to make them fall in love. Hildy and Paul each have their own reasons for joining the university psychology study that asks the simple question: Can love be engineered? The study consists of 36 questions, ranging from "What is your most terrible memory?" to "When did you last sing to yourself?" By the time Hildy and Paul have made it to the end of the questionnaire, they've laughed and cried and lied and thrown things and run away and come back and driven each other almost crazy. They've also each discovered the painful secret the other was trying so hard to hide. But have they fallen in love? Told in the language of modern romance--texting, Q&A, IM--and punctuated by Paul's sketches, this clever high-concept YA is full of humor and heart. As soon as you've finished reading, you'll be searching for your own stranger to ask the 36 questions. Maybe you'll even fall in love. Rights have sold in 19 territories!

  • ISBN
    9780762463183
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.49
Quantity:
Book cover of 36 QUESTIONS THAT CHANGED MY MIND ABOUT YOU
36 QUESTIONS THAT CHANGED MY MIND ABOUT YOU
By: vicki grant | Published: September 2020

Inspired by the real psychology study popularized by the New York Times and its "Modern Love" column, this contemporary YA is perfect for fans of...

Inspired by the real psychology study popularized by the New York Times and its "Modern Love" column, this contemporary YA is perfect for fans of Eleanor and Park. Two random strangers. Two secrets. Thirty-six questions to make them fall in love. Hildy and Paul each have their own reasons for joining the university psychology study that asks the simple question: Can love be engineered? The study consists of 36 questions, ranging from "What is your most terrible memory?" to "When did you last sing to yourself?" By the time Hildy and Paul have made it to the end of the questionnaire, they've laughed and cried and lied and thrown things and run away and come back and driven each other almost crazy. They've also each discovered the painful secret the other was trying so hard to hide. But have they fallen in love? Told in the language of modern romance--texting, Q&A, IM--and punctuated by Paul's sketches, this clever high-concept YA is full of humor and heart. As soon as you've finished reading, you'll be searching for your own stranger to ask the 36 questions. Maybe you'll even fall in love. White Pine 2019 nominee.

Theme: Romance

  • ISBN
    9780762498499
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 9 DOORS
9 DOORS
By: vicki grant | Published: November 2020

In this high-interest accessible novel for middle readers, Emery and Richard discover there can be serious consequences to scaring your neighbors.

Theme: Orca Currents series

  • ISBN
    9781459827424
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$10.95
Quantity:
Book cover of COCHONNET
COCHONNET
By: vicki grant | Published: October 2011

Dan appréhende l'ennuyeuse sortie scolaire dans une ferme historique éloignée. Pas tant à cause du fumier que du fait que...

Dan appréhende l'ennuyeuse sortie scolaire dans une ferme historique éloignée. Pas tant à cause du fumier que du fait que le fermier élève des porcs. Les porcs s'appellent aussi des cochons et le nom de famille de Dan est Cauchon. Déjà en butte aux moqueries, Dan se cuirasse contre l'épreuve anticipée. Mais il n'a pas prévu l'apparition d'un inquiétant fermier tatoué, la disparition mystérieuse de son enseignante ou les menaces de mort contre ses camarades. Et encore moins qu'il sera seul à pouvoir les sauver. Dan is not sure he'll survive the boring field trip to a remote heritage farm. How could a place with no running water, telephone or electricity be anything but dull? To top it all off, the farmer knows nothing about farming and is angry about having to conduct the tour. When Dan sneaks back to the school bus, he discovers the driver and teacher have been bound and gagged. Who is this "farmer" anyway, and will Dan be able to find help in time?

Theme: High Interest/Low Vocabulary, Orca Currents series

  • ISBN
    9781459800069
  • Binding
    Paperback French
  • Category
    French Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$9.95
Quantity:
Book cover of GREEN VELVET SECRET
GREEN VELVET SECRET
By: vicki grant | Published: March 2023

Yardley and her grandmother, Gidge, are best friends. Sharing a love of vintage clothing and quirky jewelry, Yardley and Gidge spend a lot of time...

Yardley and her grandmother, Gidge, are best friends. Sharing a love of vintage clothing and quirky jewelry, Yardley and Gidge spend a lot of time together, which suits Yardley just fine. Kids her own age aren’t that interesting, and her parents are often busy with their small theatre company. So when Gidge reveals to Yardley and her parents that she has been diagnosed with terminal cancer, Yardley is devastated. Gidge, on the other hand, seems to embrace her last days with vigor, writing goodbye letters and selling off her expansive wardrobe to Over Easy Vintage Emporium. Yardley finds solace at Over Easy, befriending the owner, Con, and, begrudgingly, his nephew, Harris, a boy her age. And when a strange woman walks into the store claiming to win a prize — Gidge’s green velvet dress — in a contest she doesn’t remember entering, Yardley starts to believe her grandmother may have come back to life. Reluctantly accepting Harris’ offer to help, Yardley sets out in search of this mysterious woman — only to discover there’s much more to her — and to her grandmother — than she ever imagined.

  • ISBN
    9780735270121
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of PIGBOY
PIGBOY
By: vicki grant | Published: September 2020

Theme: High Interest/Low Vocabulary, Bullying issues, Mystery

  • ISBN
    9781459827516
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$10.95
Quantity:
Book cover of REVIENS
REVIENS
By: vicki grant | Published: May 2012

Ria est riche, mince, jolie et populaire. Ses amies pensent qu'elle mène la vie rêvée. Mais sa situation a pris un tournant...

Ria est riche, mince, jolie et populaire. Ses amies pensent qu'elle mène la vie rêvée. Mais sa situation a pris un tournant malencontreux. Ses parents se séparent et, avant qu'elle ait pu absorber le choc de cette nouvelle, son père bien-aimé disparaît dans un accident d'avion. Et comme si ça ne suffisait pas, des rumeurs circulent à l'effet que son père ne serait pas le héros que l'on croyait. Ria décide de prendre les grands moyens pour se protéger, ainsi que son jeune frère, et défendre la réputation de son père. Ria is rich, slim, pretty, popular. If you only knew her at school, you'd think she led a charmed life-and until recently you'd have been right. But her situation has taken a sudden, unfortunate change. Her parents' seemingly perfect marriage has broken up, and before she's had a chance to absorb the blow, her beloved father disappears in a plane crash. What's worse, rumors begin to surface that he may have perpetrated a multimillion-dollar investment scam and everybody-Ria's mother, her best friends, even her boyfriend-believes them. Ria sees no choice but to take her little brother and run. She vows to keep the memory of her father alive. Soon, though, she begins to wonder: is her memory playing tricks on her-or is he?

Theme: High Interest/Low Vocabulary, Orca Soundings Series

  • ISBN
    9781459801905
  • Binding
    Paperback French
  • Category
    French Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$9.95
Quantity:
Book cover of SHORT FOR CHAMELEON
SHORT FOR CHAMELEON
By: vicki grant | Published: March 2017

Embarrassed by your brother? Estranged from your uncle? Then you might need some help from Almost Family Surrogate Agency. Cam Redden and his dad are...

Embarrassed by your brother? Estranged from your uncle? Then you might need some help from Almost Family Surrogate Agency. Cam Redden and his dad are rent-a-relatives, available for hire to anyone looking to upgrade. Cam’s job is all about being whoever other people want him to be. Then two new clients come along. Albertina is an old lady with a big mouth, a bigger wig and a serious mission. Raylene is a beautiful girl with a nose ring, a wonky eye and a painful secret. Now to get to the bottom of the tragic mysteries that fuel them both, Cam may finally have to be himself.

Theme: Humour

  • ISBN
    9781443448987
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$17.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SMALL BONES
SMALL BONES
By: vicki grant | Published: September 2015

Dot, whose name reflects her stature, has always had big dreams-but her dreams have to be put on hold while she searches for the truth about her...

Dot, whose name reflects her stature, has always had big dreams-but her dreams have to be put on hold while she searches for the truth about her parents. She gets a job as a seamstress at a lakeside resort in rural Ontario and falls hard for Eddie, a charming local boy who is equal parts helpful and distracting as Dot investigates her past. Searching for answers to questions about her birth, Dot learns more than she ever wanted to about the terrible effects of war, the legacy of deceit-and the enduring nature of love. Part of the SECRETS-a series of seven linked novels that can be read in any order.

Theme: War/Children and War, Romance

  • ISBN
    9781459806535
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.95
Quantity:
Book cover of TELL ME WHEN YOU FEEL SOMETHING
TELL ME WHEN YOU FEEL SOMETHING
By: vicki grant | Published: May 2022

The perfect after-school job turns deadly for teens working as "simulated patients" at the local med school. Everyone has something to hide and no...

The perfect after-school job turns deadly for teens working as "simulated patients" at the local med school. Everyone has something to hide and no one is safe in this contemporary YA thriller that exposes the dark reality of #MeToo in the world of medicine, for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson. It seemed like a cool part-time program -- being a "simulated" patient for med school students to practice on. But now vivacious, charismatic Viv lies in a very real coma. Cellphone footage just leads to more questions. What really happened? Other kids suspect it was not an intentional overdose -- but each has a reason why they can't tell the truth. Through intertwining and conflicting narratives, a twisted story unfolds of trust betrayed as we sift through the seemingly innocent events leading up to the tragic night. Perhaps simulated patients aren't the only people pretending to be something they're not . . .

  • ISBN
    9780735270114
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity: