Results for: lamar giles

Below is a list of 8 the books by this author.

Book cover of ENDANGERED
ENDANGERED
By: lamar giles | Published: April 2015

Edgar Award nominee for Best Juvenile Mystery Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga’s I Hunt Killers, from accla...

Edgar Award nominee for Best Juvenile Mystery Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga’s I Hunt Killers, from acclaimed author Lamar Giles, author of the Edgar Award–nominated Fake ID. The one secret she cares about keeping—her identity—is about to be exposed. That is, unless Lauren “Panda” Daniels—an anonymous photo blogger who specializes in busting classmates and teachers in compromising positions—plays along with her blackmailer’s little game of Dare or . . . Dare. But when the game turns deadly, Panda doesn’t know what to do. And she may need to step out of the shadows to save herself . . . and everyone else on the Admirer’s hit list.

Theme: Diversity, Crime, Thriller

  • ISBN
    9780062297563
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$21.99
Discount:
$4.40
Your Price:
$17.59
Quantity:
Book cover of ENDANGERED
ENDANGERED
By: lamar giles | Published: November 2016

Edgar Award nominee for Best Young Adult Mystery Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga’s I Hunt Killers, from ac...

Edgar Award nominee for Best Young Adult Mystery Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga’s I Hunt Killers, from acclaimed author Lamar Giles, author of the Edgar Award–nominated Fake ID. The one secret she cares about keeping—her identity—is about to be exposed. That is, unless Lauren “Panda” Daniels—an anonymous photo blogger who specializes in busting classmates and teachers in compromising positions—plays along with her blackmailer’s little game of Dare or . . . Dare. But when the game turns deadly, Panda doesn’t know what to do. And she may need to step out of the shadows to save herself . . . and everyone else on the Admirer’s hit list.

Theme: Thriller, Diversity, Bullying issues

  • ISBN
    9780062297570
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$13.50
Discount:
$2.70
Your Price:
$10.80
Quantity:
Book cover of FRESH INK
FRESH INK
By: lamar giles | Published: July 2019

All it takes to rewrite the rules is a little fresh ink in this remarkable YA collection from thirteen of the most recognizable diverse authors writin...

All it takes to rewrite the rules is a little fresh ink in this remarkable YA collection from thirteen of the most recognizable diverse authors writing today including Nicola Yoon, Jason Reynolds, Melissa de la Cruz, and many more, and published in partnership with We Need Diverse Books.  "This awesome anthology came together with the fantastic organization We Need Diverse Books, and...combines an all-star cast of talent." --Paste Magazine Careful--you are holding fresh ink. And not hot-off-the-press, still-drying-in-your-hands ink. Instead, you are holding twelve stories with endings that are still being written--whose next chapters are up to you.  Because these stories are meant to be read. And shared. Thirteen of the most accomplished YA authors deliver a label-defying anthology that includes ten short stories, a graphic novel, and a one-act play from Walter Dean Myers never before in-print. This collection addresses topics like gentrification, acceptance, untimely death, coming out, and poverty and ranges in genre from contemporary realistic fiction to adventure and romance. It will inspire you to break conventions, bend the rules, and color outside the lines. All you need is fresh ink. AUTHORS INCLUDE: Schuyler Bailar, Melissa de la Cruz, Sara Farizan, Sharon G. Flake, Eric Gansworth, Malindo Lo, Walter Dean Myers, Daniel José Older, Thien Pham, Jason Reynolds, Aminah Mae Safi, Gene Luen Yang, Nicola Yoon "I absolutely love this mix of established and newer talents, and I'm really intrigued and excited by the mixed formats." --BookRiot "Huge, huge names in YA participated." --Bustle

Theme: Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781524766313
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Literature Anthologies
List Price:
$13.99
Discount:
$2.80
Your Price:
$11.19
Quantity:
Book cover of LAST LAST DAY OF SUMMER
LAST LAST DAY OF SUMMER
By: lamar giles | Published: April 2019

Theme: Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781328460837
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$24.99
Discount:
$5.00
Your Price:
$19.99
Quantity:
Book cover of LAST LAST-DAY-OF-SUMMER
LAST LAST-DAY-OF-SUMMER
By: lamar giles | Published: September 2020

"The Last Last-Day-of-Summer, for me, fills a gaping void in children's literature." --Jason Reynolds, author of Newbery Honoree Long Way Down The Har...

"The Last Last-Day-of-Summer, for me, fills a gaping void in children's literature." --Jason Reynolds, author of Newbery Honoree Long Way Down The Hardy Boys meets The Phantom Tollbooth, in the new century! When two adventurous cousins accidentally extend the last day of summer by freezing time, they find the secrets hidden between the unmoving seconds, minutes, and hours are not the endless fun they expected.

  • ISBN
    9780358244417
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$11.99
Discount:
$2.40
Your Price:
$9.59
Quantity:
Book cover of LAST MIRROR ON THE LEFT
LAST MIRROR ON THE LEFT
By: lamar giles | Published: October 2020

In this new Legendary Alston Boys adventure from Edgar-nominated author Lamar Giles, Otto and Sheed must embark on their most dangerous journey yet, b...

In this new Legendary Alston Boys adventure from Edgar-nominated author Lamar Giles, Otto and Sheed must embark on their most dangerous journey yet, bringing a fugitive to justice in a world that mirrors their own but has its own rules to play by. Unlike the majority of Logan County''s residents, Missus Nedraw of the Rorrim Mirror Emporium remembers the time freeze from The Last Last-Day-of-Summer, and how Otto and Sheed took her mirrors without permission in order to fix their mess. Usually that''s an unforgivable offense, punishable by a million-year sentence. However, she''s willing to overlook the cousins'' misdeeds if they help her with a problem of her own. One of her worst prisoners has escaped, and only the Legendary Alston Boys of Logan County can help bring the fugitive to justice. This funny and off-the-wall adventure is perfect for readers of Jonathan Auxier and Lemony Snicket.

  • ISBN
    9780358129417
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$24.99
Discount:
$5.00
Your Price:
$19.99
Quantity:
Book cover of NOT SO PURE & SIMPLE
NOT SO PURE & SIMPLE
By: lamar giles | Published: January 2020

In his first contemporary teen novel, critically acclaimed author and two-time Edgar Award finalist Lamar Giles spotlights the consequences of societa...

In his first contemporary teen novel, critically acclaimed author and two-time Edgar Award finalist Lamar Giles spotlights the consequences of societal pressure, confronts toxic masculinity, and explores the complexity of what it means to be a "real man." Del has had a crush on Kiera Westing since kindergarten. And now, during their junior year, she's finally available. So when Kiera volunteers for an opportunity at their church, Del's right behind her. Though he quickly realizes he's inadvertently signed up for a Purity Pledge. His dad thinks his wires are crossed, and his best friend, Qwan, doesn't believe any girl is worth the long game. But Del's not about to lose his dream girl, and that's where fellow pledger Jameer comes in. He can put in the good word. In exchange, Del just has to get answers to the Pledgers' questions...about sex ed. With other boys circling Kiera like sharks, Del needs to make his move fast. But as he plots and plans, he neglects to ask the most important question: What does Kiera want? He can't think about that too much, though, because once he gets the girl, it'll all sort itself out. Right?

Theme: Diversity, #MeToo

  • ISBN
    9780062349194
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$21.99
Discount:
$4.40
Your Price:
$17.59
Quantity:
Book cover of SPIN
SPIN
By: lamar giles | Published: January 2019

Even in murder, the music lives on. When rising star Paris Secord (aka DJ ParSec) is found dead on her turntables, it sends the local music scene ree...

Even in murder, the music lives on. When rising star Paris Secord (aka DJ ParSec) is found dead on her turntables, it sends the local music scene reeling. No one is feeling that grief more than her shunned pre-fame best friend, Kya, and ParSec's chief groupie, Fuse -- two sworn enemies who happened to be the ones who discovered her body. The police have few leads, and when the trail quickly turns cold, the authorities don't seem to be pushing too hard to investigate further. But nobody counted on Paris's deeply loyal fans, ParSec Nation, or the outrage that would drive Fuse and Kya to work together. As ParSec Nation takes to social media and the streets in their crusade for justice, Fuse and Kya start digging into Paris's past, stumbling across a deadly secret. With new info comes new motives. New suspects. And a fandom that will stop at nothing in their obsessive quest for answers, not even murder...

  • ISBN
    9781338219210
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$23.99
Discount:
$4.80
Your Price:
$19.19
Quantity: