Results for: alexandra duncan

Below is a list of 3 the books by this author.

Book cover of BLIGHT
BLIGHT
By: alexandra duncan | Published: August 2017

When an agribusiness facility producing genetically engineered food releases a deadly toxin into the environment, seventeen-year-old Tempest Torres ra...

When an agribusiness facility producing genetically engineered food releases a deadly toxin into the environment, seventeen-year-old Tempest Torres races to deliver the cure before time runs out. From the author of the acclaimed American Booksellers Association’s Indies Introduce pick Salvage, which was called “Brilliant, feminist science fiction” by Stephanie Perkins, the internationally bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss. This stand-alone action-adventure story is perfect for fans of Oryx and Crake and The House of the Scorpion. Seventeen-year-old Tempest Torres has lived on the AgraStar farm north of Atlanta, Georgia, since she was found outside its gates at the age of five. Now she’s part of the security force guarding the fence and watching for scavengers—people who would rather steal genetically engineered food from the Company than work for it. When a group of such rebels accidentally sets off an explosion in the research compound, it releases into the air a blight that kills every living thing in its path—including humans. With blight-resistant seeds in her pocket, Tempest teams up with a scavenger boy named Alder and runs for help. But when they finally arrive at AgraStar headquarters, they discover that there’s an even bigger plot behind the blight—and it’s up to them to stop it from happening again. Inspired by current environmental issues, specifically the genetic adjustment of seeds to resist blight and the risks of not allowing natural seed diversity, this is an action-adventure story that is Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake meets Nancy Farmer’s House of the Scorpion.

Theme: Future, FOOD

  • ISBN
    9780062396990
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SALVAGE
SALVAGE
By: alexandra duncan | Published: September 2015

Theme: Science Fiction

  • ISBN
    9780062220158
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity:
Book cover of SOUND
SOUND
By: alexandra duncan | Published: September 2016

The stand-alone companion to Alexandra Duncan’s acclaimed literary sci-fi debut novel Salvage, an Indies Introduce title that internationally be...

The stand-alone companion to Alexandra Duncan’s acclaimed literary sci-fi debut novel Salvage, an Indies Introduce title that internationally bestselling author Stephanie Perkins called “brilliant, feminist science fiction.” Kirkus Reviews called Sound “essential” in a starred review. As a child, Ava’s adopted sister, Miyole, watched her mother take to the stars, piloting her own ship from Earth to space making deliveries. Now a teen herself, Miyole is finally living her dream as a research assistant on her very first space voyage. If she plays her cards right, she could even be given permission to conduct her own research and experiments in her habitat lab on the flight home. But when her ship saves a rover that has been viciously attacked by looters and kidnappers, Miyole—along with a rescued rover girl named Cassia—embarks on a mission to rescue Cassia’s abducted brother, changing the course of Miyole’s life forever. Harrowing, provocative, and literary, Sound begins roughly a decade after the action in the author’s critically acclaimed Salvage and is a powerful stand-alone companion. School Library Journal says Sound “will appeal to readers looking for science fiction with strong female heroines and abundant diversity.”

Theme: Science Fiction, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062220189
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity: