Results for: lesa cline-ransome

Below is a list of 8 the books by this author.

Book cover of COUNTING THE STARS
COUNTING THE STARS
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: October 2019

“A detail-rich picture book.” —Kirkus Reviews “Straightforward and inviting.” —School Library Journal From a...

“A detail-rich picture book.” —Kirkus Reviews “Straightforward and inviting.” —School Library Journal From award-winning author Lesa Cline-Ransome and acclaimed illustrator Raúl Colón comes the sensitive, informative, and inspiring picture book biography of the remarkable mathematician Katherine Johnson, one of the NASA “human computers” whose work was critical to the first US space launch. Before John Glenn orbited the Earth or astronauts walked on the moon, a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as “human computers” used their knowledge, pencils, adding machines, and writing paper to calculate the orbital mechanics needed to launch spacecraft. Katherine Johnson was one of these mathematicians who used trajectories and complex equations to chart the space program. Even as Virginia’s Jim Crow laws were in place in the early 1950s, Katherine worked analyzing data at the NACA (later NASA) Langley laboratory. In 1962, as NASA prepared for the orbital mission of John Glenn, Katherine Johnson was called upon and John Glenn said “get the girl” (Katherine Johnson) to run the numbers by hand to chart the complexity of the orbital flight. He knew that his flight couldn’t work without her unique skills. President Barack Obama awarded Katherine Johnson the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2015 and her incredible life inspired the Oscar-nominated film Hidden Figures. Get to know this incredible and inspirational woman with this beautifully illustrated picture book from an award-winning duo.

Theme: Diversity, Girl Power

  • ISBN
    9781534404755
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Biography (individual)
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of FREEDOM'S SCHOOL
FREEDOM'S SCHOOL
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: January 2015

When Lizzie's parents are granted their freedom from slavery, Mama says its time for Lizzie and her brother Paul to go to a real school--a new one, bu...

When Lizzie's parents are granted their freedom from slavery, Mama says its time for Lizzie and her brother Paul to go to a real school--a new one, built just for them. Lizzie can't wait. The scraps of learning she has picked up here and there have just made her hungry for more. The walk to school is long. Some days it's rainy, or windy, or freezing cold. Sometimes there are dangers lurking along the way, like angry white folks with rocks, or mysterious men on horseback. The schoolhouse is still unpainted, and its very plain, but Lizzie has never seen a prettier sight. Except for maybe the teacher, Mizz Howard, who has brown skin, just like her. They've finally made it to Freedom's School. But will it be strong enough to stand forever? Praise forLight in the Darkness "In this tale, [Cline-Ransome] makes the point that learning was not just a dream of a few famous and accomplished men and women, but one that belonged to ordinary folk willing to risk their lives. Ransome's full-page watercolor paintings-in beautiful shades of blue for the night and yellow for the day-are a window, albeit somewhat gentle, into a slave's life for younger readers. A compelling story about those willing to risk "[a] lash for each letter." -Kirkus Reviews "Told from the perspective of Rosa, a girl who makes the dangerous nighttime journey to the lessons with her mother, the story effectively conveys the urgent dedication of the characters to their surreptitious schooling and their belief in the power of literacy...Solid text and soft, skillful illustrations combine for a poignant tribute to the power of education and the human spirit."-School Library Journal

Theme: Black History

  • ISBN
    9781423161035
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book - Advanced
Retail Price:
$18.99
Quantity:
Book cover of GAME CHANGERS
GAME CHANGERS
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: July 2018

Theme: Picture Book

  • ISBN
    9781481476843
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Biography (individual)
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of LEAVING LYMON
LEAVING LYMON
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: January 2020

  • ISBN
    9780823444427
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of LIGHT IN THE DARKNESS
LIGHT IN THE DARKNESS
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: January 2013

Rosa and her mama go to school together-in the dark of night, silently, afraid that any noise they hear is a patroller on the lookout for escaped slav...

Rosa and her mama go to school together-in the dark of night, silently, afraid that any noise they hear is a patroller on the lookout for escaped slaves. Their school is literally a hole in the ground, where they and other slaves of all ages gather to form letters out of sticks, scratch letters in the dirt, and pronounce their sounds in whispers. Young Rosa is eager to learn the letters and then the words, because after the words comes reading. But she must have patience, her mama reminds her, and keep her letters to herself when she's working on the plantation. If the Master catches them, it'll mean a whipping-one lash for each letter. No matter how slow and dangerous the process might be, Rosa is determined to learn, and pass on her learning to others.

Theme: Black History

  • ISBN
    9781423134954
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book - Advanced
Retail Price:
$17.99
Quantity:
Book cover of NOT PLAYING BY THE RULES - 21 FEMALE ATH
NOT PLAYING BY THE RULES - 21 FEMALE ATH
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: April 2020

This powerful and inspiring collection features 21 female trailblazers in their sport, perfect for fans of Women in Sports and Good Night Stories for ...

This powerful and inspiring collection features 21 female trailblazers in their sport, perfect for fans of Women in Sports and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls! Before girls wore pants or women were permitted to swim in bathing suits at public beaches, who paved the way for women in sports? And who's breaking new ground today? This anthology introduces 21 trailblazing women who have broken through the boundaries set for female athletes. From basketball slam-dunker Lisa Leslie to tennis superstars Venus and Serena Williams, whose father had onlookers jeer at and taunt the girls as they practiced, to Paralympian Tatyana McFadden, who was a speed demon even at her Russian orphanage before she was adopted, to Olympic gold medalist Ethelda Bleibtrey, who was led off to jail when she shed her shoes and stockings to swim in public, Not Playing by the Rules inspires, informs, and illustrates the strength, determination, and accomplishments of women athletes both yesterday and today. With powerful photographs and hand-lettered, inspirational quotes from the athletes themselves, this is a collection every young girl should own. The featured athletes include Ethelda Bleibtrey, Bobbi Gibb, Althea Gibson, Gabby Douglas, Flo Hyman, Lisa Leslie, Mia Hamm, Tatyana McFadden, Mo'ne Davis, Ibtihaj Muhammad, Diana Golden, Constance Applebee, Lizzie Arlington, Babe Didrikson, Alice Coachman, Joy Johnson, Nancy Lieberman, Nadia Comăneci, Venus and Serena Williams, and Yusra Mardini.

Theme: Biography

  • ISBN
    9781524764531
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Sports And Active Games
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SHE PERSISTED - CLAUDETTE COLVIN
SHE PERSISTED - CLAUDETTE COLVIN
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: February 2021

  • ISBN
    9780593115831
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Biography (individual)
Retail Price:
$19.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SHE PERSISTED - CLAUDETTE COLVIN
SHE PERSISTED - CLAUDETTE COLVIN
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: February 2021

Before Rosa Parks famously refused to give up her seat on a bus in Montgomery, Alabama, fifteen-year-old Claudette Colvin made the same choice. She in...

Before Rosa Parks famously refused to give up her seat on a bus in Montgomery, Alabama, fifteen-year-old Claudette Colvin made the same choice. She insisted on standing up--or in her case, sitting down--for what was right, and in doing so, fought for equality, fairness, and justice. In this chapter book biography by award-winning author Lesa Cline-Ransome, readers learn about the amazing life of Claudette Colvin--and how she persisted. Complete with an introduction from Chelsea Clinton!

Theme: Social Justice , Black History, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780593115848
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Biography (individual)
Retail Price:
$7.99
Quantity: