Results for: cecil castellucci

Below is a list of 8 the books by this author.

Book cover of BEIGE
BEIGE
By: cecil castellucci | Published: March 2009

"Castellucci mixes details of the L.A. punk scene with memorable characters and witty dialogue. . . . Consider this pure Nirvana." &...

"Castellucci mixes details of the L.A. punk scene with memorable characters and witty dialogue. . . . Consider this pure Nirvana." — Booklist Exiled from Canada to Los Angeles, Katy can't believe she is spending the summer with her father—punk name: the Rat—a recovered addict and drummer for the band Suck. Even though Katy feels abandoned by her mom, even though the Rat's place is a mess and he's not like anything she'd call a father, Kathy won't make a fuss. After all, she is a girl who is quiet and polite, a girl who smiles, a girl who is, well, beige. Or is she? From the author of Boy Proof and The Queen of Cool comes an edgy L.A. novel full of humor, heart, and music.

  • ISBN
    9780763642327
  • Format
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$10.00
Discount:
$2.00
Your Price:
$8.00
Quantity:
Book cover of BOY PROOF
BOY PROOF
By: cecil castellucci | Published: September 2006

A Time Magazine 100 Best Young Adult Books of All Time Selection  "This novel's funny first-person narrative will grab teens (and not j...

A Time Magazine 100 Best Young Adult Books of All Time Selection  "This novel's funny first-person narrative will grab teens (and not just sci-fi fans) with its romance and the screwball special effects." — Booklist Meet Egg. Her real name is Victoria Jurgen, but she's renamed herself after the kick-ass heroine of her favorite sci-fi movie, Terminal Earth. Like her namesake, Egg dresses all in white, colors her eyebrows, and shaves her head. She always knows the right answers, she's always in control, and she's far too busy — taking photos for the school paper, meeting with the Science Fiction and Fantasy Club, and hanging out at the "creature shop" with her dad, the special-effects makeup wizard — to be bothered with friends, much less members of the opposite sex. As far as Egg is concerned, she's boy proof, and she likes it that way. But then Egg meets a boy named Max, a boy who's smart and funny and creative and cool . . . and happens to like Egg. Could this be the end of the world — at least as Egg knows it?

  • ISBN
    9780763627966
  • Format
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$10.00
Discount:
$2.00
Your Price:
$8.00
Quantity:
Book cover of DON'T COSPLAY WITH MY HEART
DON'T COSPLAY WITH MY HEART
By: cecil castellucci | Published: January 2018

This sweetly snarky, romantic YA novel follows Edan as she tries to gather the strength to be the hero in her own real life even as she connects with ...

This sweetly snarky, romantic YA novel follows Edan as she tries to gather the strength to be the hero in her own real life even as she connects with her dream boy at a costume competition. When Edan Kupferman dresses up like her favorite character, Gargantua, she feels tall and powerful. That's important right now, because her family is a mess, her best friend is gone for the summer, her crush is confusing, and Edan's feeling small and not sure which end is up. When Edan's cosplaying, she can be angry, loud, and not the good girl everyone thinks she is. And when she's at conventions, she feels like she's found her own Team Tomorrow. But when her personal life starts to spiral out of control, Edan has to figure out whether she needs a sidekick, or if she has the strength to be the hero of her own story.

Theme: Humour

  • ISBN
    9781338125498
  • Format
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
List Price:
$22.99
Discount:
$4.60
Your Price:
$18.39
Quantity:
Book cover of GRANDMA'S GLOVES
GRANDMA'S GLOVES
By: cecil castellucci | Published: August 2010

From a debut illustrator comes a story about a child who loses a beloved grandparent finds comfort in carrying on the activities they shared in this s...

From a debut illustrator comes a story about a child who loses a beloved grandparent finds comfort in carrying on the activities they shared in this sweet, genuine look at a universal rite of passage.  Grandma is always on her knees in the dirt, with her gardening gloves on, talking to her roses and laughing with the birds-of-paradise. Her home brims with plants and blossoms, and on hot days, she waters her granddaughter, her "most special flower of all," with the garden hose. But a day comes when Grandma is no longer there to care for the little girl, who feels sad and small and alone until she remembers all that her grandmother taught her — and all that she now has to teach. Full of light and life and the solace of green growing things, this moving and beautifully illustrated picture book explores a timeless bond with warmth and joy.

Theme: Death & Grief

  • ISBN
    9780763631680
  • Format
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
List Price:
$18.00
Discount:
$3.60
Your Price:
$14.40
Quantity:
Book cover of ODD DUCK
ODD DUCK
By: cecil castellucci | Published: May 2013

Despite the fact that she swims with a teacup balanced on her head and stays north when all of the ducks fly south for the winter, Theodora believes h...

Despite the fact that she swims with a teacup balanced on her head and stays north when all of the ducks fly south for the winter, Theodora believes herself to be a normal duck and makes a friend in Chad, who may be as eccentric as she is.

  • ISBN
    9781596435575
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
List Price:
$18.50
Discount:
$3.70
Your Price:
$14.80
Quantity:
Book cover of PLAIN JANES
PLAIN JANES
By: cecil castellucci | Published: January 2020

Meet the Plain Janes--artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The ...

Meet the Plain Janes--artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The LumberJanes and Awkward. When artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved city life behind for the boring suburb of Kent Waters, she thinks her life is over. But then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with fellow misfits Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things-a shared name and frustration with the adults around them--the girls form a secret club dedicated to fighting suburban apathy with guerrilla works of art scattered around their small town. But for Main Jane, the group is more than simple teenaged rebellion; it's an act of survival. She's determined not to let fear rule her life like it does her parents' and neighbors' lives. Armed with her sketchbook and a mission of resistance, the PLAIN Janes are out to prove that passion, bravery, and a group of great friends can save anyone from the hell that is high school. With each installment printed in its own distinct color, this volume includes the original two stories--The Plain Janes and Janes in Love--plus a never-before-seen third story, Janes Attack Back. The Janes are back, and better than ever.

  • ISBN
    9780316522816
  • Format
    Paperback
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
List Price:
$23.99
Discount:
$4.80
Your Price:
$19.19
Quantity:
Book cover of SOUPY LEAVES HOME
SOUPY LEAVES HOME
By: cecil castellucci | Published: May 2017

Set in 1932, this is the story of two misfits with no place to call home, who build a relationship during a train hopping journey from the cold heartb...

Set in 1932, this is the story of two misfits with no place to call home, who build a relationship during a train hopping journey from the cold heartbreak of their eastern homes toward the sunny promise of California. Pearl "Soupy" Plankette ran away from her abusive father, but has nowhere to go until she stumbles upon a disguise that gives her the key to a new identity. Reborn as a boy named Soupy, she hitches her star to Remy "Ramshackle" Smith, a hobo who takes her under his wing. Ramshackle's kindness and protection go a long way to help Soupy heal from her difficult past. But Ramshackle has his own demons to wrestle with, and he'll need Soupy just as much as she needs him. “A compelling graphic offering that explores relevant gender roles and self-identity through a historical lens.” – from the Kirkus Starred Review "VERDICT A well-researched and richly illustrated runaway tale that will appeal to fans of escapist fiction and thoughtful readers."–Anna Murphy, ¬Berkeley Carroll School, Brooklyn, From the School Library Journal review, March 2017 “Soupy Leaves Home tells the story of a time no longer familiar to us—a time of living the rails and simmering Mulligan Soup, a time of chosen names and secret languages—yet a tale that anyone with a longing heart and a restless spirit can relate to. It transports you magically to a place long gone, but its tale of poverty and survival are still as relevant as they ever were—the characters may be penniless, but they are so emotionally wealthy that this book leaves you filled with warmth, hope, and love.”—Gerard Way “Castellucci’s heartfelt odyssey is a reckoning with death and identity on the tracks, brought to life by Pimienta’s patient, ever-evolving use of color. Soupy Leaves Home is for all restless souls hungry to start again.”—Nate Powell (March, Swallow Me Whole)  “A charming and optimistic slice of Americana.”—Hope Larson (Wrinkle in Time, Batgirl) "I love Cecil Castellucci, she is crazy and cool and full of energy and heart, and so is all of her work. And Soupy Leaves Home may be one of her finest and most effecting works yet!”—Jeff Lemire

  • ISBN
    9781616554316
  • Format
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
List Price:
$19.99
Discount:
$4.00
Your Price:
$15.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TIN STAR
TIN STAR
By: cecil castellucci | Published: February 2014

"Beaten and left for dead, fourteen-year-old Tula Bane finds herself abandoned on a space station called Yertina Feray after traveling with the coloni...

"Beaten and left for dead, fourteen-year-old Tula Bane finds herself abandoned on a space station called Yertina Feray after traveling with the colonist group, Children of the Earth"--

Theme: Science Fiction

  • ISBN
    9781596437753
  • Format
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$18.99
Discount:
$3.80
Your Price:
$15.19
Quantity: