Results for: davide cali

Below is a list of 7 the books by this author.

Book cover of ABIGAIL THE WHALE
ABIGAIL THE WHALE
By: davide cali | Published: September 2016

Abigail dreads swimming lessons. Every time she dives into the pool, she makes a big splash, and all the girls in her class shout: “Abigail&rsqu...

Abigail dreads swimming lessons. Every time she dives into the pool, she makes a big splash, and all the girls in her class shout: “Abigail’s a whale!” Abigail can see that she is larger than the other girls. She feels huge, heavy, and out of place. Abigail’s swimming teacher takes her aside and points out: we can change how we see ourselves. He offers a creative visualization technique she can use to feel bolder, more confident, and more accepting of herself. Abigail tries it out in challenging situations that week—walking home in the dark, eating her vegetables, trying to fall asleep. Illustrations in the book show her perspective morphing powerfully to match her new thought patterns. Next time she’s in swimming class, instead of feeling heavy, Abigail thinks sardine, eel, barracuda, shark! She starts to figure out how to draw on mindfulness, creative thinking, resilience, and positive self-esteem to embrace exactly who she is. This picture book supports social/emotional learning and serves as a perfect jumping-off point for topics like bullying, empathy, confidence, and creative problem solving.

Theme: Big Ideas

  • ISBN
    9781771471985
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
List Price:
$18.95
Discount:
$3.79
Your Price:
$15.16
Quantity:
Book cover of CINDERELLA & THE FURRY SLIPPERS
CINDERELLA & THE FURRY SLIPPERS
By: davide cali | Published: October 2017

Handsome princes, fancy castles, extravagant balls . . . in this girl-power fractured fairy tale, Cinderella learns that if it looks too good to be tr...

Handsome princes, fancy castles, extravagant balls . . . in this girl-power fractured fairy tale, Cinderella learns that if it looks too good to be true, it probably is, and it's better to create your own happy ending. Cinderella is dying to go to the ball. She's seen pictures of the fancy castle and the handsome prince, she's heard the fairy tales about true love, she's found the perfect dress in Princess magazine and she's even found an ad for a Fairy Godmother. She's all set. Except the fairy godmother doesn't look like the one in the ad. And the castle doesn't look like the picture. And the prince . . . well, Cinderella decides her fairy-tale ending is going to look different--and be a whole lot more fun.

  • ISBN
    9781101918982
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Traditional Single Stories - Fractured Fairy Tales
List Price:
$21.99
Discount:
$4.40
Your Price:
$17.59
Quantity:
Book cover of ENEMY
ENEMY
By: davide cali | Published: October 2013

After watching an enemy for a very long time during an endless war, a soldier finally creeps out into the night to the other man's hole and is surpris...

After watching an enemy for a very long time during an endless war, a soldier finally creeps out into the night to the other man's hole and is surprised by what he finds there.

  • ISBN
    9780958557184
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book - Advanced
List Price:
$27.99
Discount:
$5.60
Your Price:
$22.39
Quantity:
Book cover of GEORGE & HIS SHADOW
GEORGE & HIS SHADOW
By: davide cali | Published: October 2017

One morning, when George walks into his kitchen, he finds someone sitting at his table. “Who are you?” he asks. “I’m your shad...

One morning, when George walks into his kitchen, he finds someone sitting at his table. “Who are you?” he asks. “I’m your shadow,” answers the shadow. The shadow follows George—for a walk on the street, fishing on the pier at Coney Island, and everywhere else George goes. Who is this shadow? Is he an annoying pest? Is he a friend? Or is he both? From the award-winning pair behind I Can’t Wait and The Enemy comes a sweet, silly, and often poignant look at how unexpected friendship can be. With mod, quirky art full of personality from Serge Bloch (Butterflies in My Stomach and The Big Adventure of a Little Line) and a disarming text from Davide Cali (I Didn’t Do My Homework Because . . .), George and His Shadow is charming! Perfect for fans of Leo: A Ghost Story and Imaginary Fred.

  • ISBN
    9780062568304
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
List Price:
$21.99
Discount:
$4.40
Your Price:
$17.59
Quantity:
Book cover of I DIDN'T DO MY HOMEWORK BECAUSE
I DIDN'T DO MY HOMEWORK BECAUSE
By: davide cali | Published: March 2014

How many excuses are there for not doing homework? Let us count the ways: Giant lizards invaded the neighborhood. Elves hid all the pencils. And then ...

How many excuses are there for not doing homework? Let us count the ways: Giant lizards invaded the neighborhood. Elves hid all the pencils. And then there was that problem with carnivorous plants . The excuses go on and on, each more absurd than the next and escalating to hilarious heights. Featuring detail-rich illustrations by Benjamin Chaud, this book is guaranteed to amuse kids and their parents, not to mention anyone who has experienced a slacker student moment-and isn't that everyone?

Theme: Humour

  • ISBN
    9781452125510
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
List Price:
$17.99
Discount:
$0.00
Your Price:
$17.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SNOW WHITE & THE 77 DWARFS
SNOW WHITE & THE 77 DWARFS
By: davide cali | Published: June 2015

Snow White is on the run from an evil witch when she comes across some dwarfs in the forest. They agree to take her in and keep her safe if she will h...

Snow White is on the run from an evil witch when she comes across some dwarfs in the forest. They agree to take her in and keep her safe if she will help them with their chores. She soon realizes she's taking on a lot more than she bargained for. 77 breakfasts to make, 77 lunches to pack (don't forget the juice boxes!), 77 pairs of pants to mend and a whole lot of dishes. Eventually Snow White decides to take her chances with the witch. There's a surprise ending... well, it may not be so surprising. This is a hilarious retelling of the classic tale, with bright, energetic illustrations featuring busy dwarfs, and the even busier Snow White.

  • ISBN
    9781770497634
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Traditional Single Stories - Fractured Fairy Tales
List Price:
$19.99
Discount:
$4.00
Your Price:
$15.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TINY TALE OF LITTLE PEA
TINY TALE OF LITTLE PEA
By: davide cali | Published: September 2017

?When he was born, Little Pea was tiny. Teeny-tiny.? His clothes were hand sewn by his mother and his shoes were hand-me-down doll shoes. As he grew o...

?When he was born, Little Pea was tiny. Teeny-tiny.? His clothes were hand sewn by his mother and his shoes were hand-me-down doll shoes. As he grew older, Little Pea enjoyed climbing tomato plants, driving around in his wind-up car and riding on the backs of grasshoppers. But then Little Pea started school. And he suddenly realized just how small he was. Too small for his chair. Too small to play the flute. Too small for gym class. What would become of wee Little Pea? This picture book story by internationally renowned children's author Davide Cali is a graceful and beautifully told contemporary fable about an unconventional hero. As Little Pea finds a place for himself in the world despite his perceived disadvantage, he becomes a champion for younger siblings, small children and all those who are differently abled. By using ingenuity to overcome challenges, Little Pea empowers children to do the same, which makes this book a terrific choice for a character education lesson focusing on perseverance or resilience. It also works for conversations on self-acceptance and individuality or on creativity (Little Pea is an artist). The idea of tiny worlds is enormously appealing to young children, and Sébastien Mourrain's imaginative scenes depicting Little Pea's miniature life will draw readers in with their funny, clever details.

  • ISBN
    9781771388436
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
List Price:
$18.99
Discount:
$3.80
Your Price:
$15.19
Quantity: