Results for: gail bowen

Below is a list of 9 the books by this author.

Book cover of 1 FINE DAY YOU'RE GONNA DIE
1 FINE DAY YOU'RE GONNA DIE
By: gail bowen | Published: October 2010

Charlie D is back doing his late-night radio call-in show. It's Halloween—The Day of the Dead. Not a day filled with good memories for Charlie, ...

Charlie D is back doing his late-night radio call-in show. It's Halloween—The Day of the Dead. Not a day filled with good memories for Charlie, but the show must go on. His studio guest this evening is Dr. Robin Harris, an arrogant and ambitious "expert in the arts of dying and grieving," who also seems to be auditioning for her own radio talk show. Charlie and Dr. Harris do not hit it off. Things go from bad to worse when the doctor's ex-lover, Gabe, goes on air to announce that he's about to end his life. Dr. Harris is entirely unsympathetic until she learns that Gabe also has her daughter Kali and plans to poison her too. It will take all of Charlie D's on-air skills to save both Gabe and Kali.

Theme: High Interest Low Level, Suspense, Suicide

  • ISBN
    9781554693375
  • Format
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$9.95
Discount:
$1.99
Your Price:
$7.96
Quantity:
Book cover of 12 ROSE STREET
12 ROSE STREET
By: gail bowen | Published: March 2015

The indomitable Joanne Kilbourn is back! From beloved author Gail Bowen comes the 15th installment in the nationally bestselling series. For readers o...

The indomitable Joanne Kilbourn is back! From beloved author Gail Bowen comes the 15th installment in the nationally bestselling series. For readers of Louise Penny, Ruth Rendell, and Peter Robinson.      Joanne's husband Zack is the leading progressive candidate in a neck-and-neck race, with the existing mayor, for Regina's top job. The tough campaigning is well underway when a disturbing threat disrupts the celebration for the opening of the Racette-Hunter Centre -- a project Zack has been spearheading, intended to benefit the impoverished community of North Central Regina. Joanne soon realizes that sinister interests are working behind the scenes of the election, and another savage act makes clear that someone will stop at nothing to maintain the status quo.     The Shreve campaign perseveres, but when Zack's opponents share some shocking information about the past, the revelation sends Joanne reeling. As tensions around the election build, Joanne tries to hold herself together, keep her family intact, and get to the bottom of why a series of violent incidents, seemingly related to the mayoral race, all lead back to a mysterious property in North Central, 12 Rose Street.     A gripping novel about family and friendship, competition and betrayal, 12 Rose Street confirms why Gail Bowen is indeed the "queen of Canadian crime fiction" (Winnipeg Free Press).

  • ISBN
    9780771024009
  • Format
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$29.95
Discount:
$5.99
Your Price:
$23.96
Quantity:
Book cover of 13TH ROSE
13TH ROSE
By: gail bowen | Published: March 2013

For his Valentine's night call-in show, host Charlie D plans to offer his listeners two hours on the topic of "satisfaction." His in...

For his Valentine's night call-in show, host Charlie D plans to offer his listeners two hours on the topic of "satisfaction." His in-studio guest is twenty-five-year-old Misty de Vol Burgh, formerly the highest-paid escort in the city but now happily married to eighty-three-year-old billionaire Henry Burgh. It's all good fun until Charlie receives a chilling message: "It's take-out-the-garbage night. Time to kill all the hookers and wash the streets with blood." When Charlie is directed to a website that allows viewers to watch the murder of a prostitute in real time and promises that another killing will be broadcast live within the hour, the hunt is on. But The World According to Charlie D. has an audience of over a million listeners. The murderer could be anyone, anywhere. Charlie and his team have less than two hours to find and stop the killer.

Theme: Murder, Mystery

  • ISBN
    9781459802254
  • Format
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$9.95
Discount:
$1.99
Your Price:
$7.96
Quantity:
Book cover of DARKNESS OF THE HEART
DARKNESS OF THE HEART
By: gail bowen | Published: August 2018

The 18th installment of the bestselling Joanne Kilbourn series from the "queen of Canadian crime fiction" (Winnipeg Free Press). ...

The 18th installment of the bestselling Joanne Kilbourn series from the "queen of Canadian crime fiction" (Winnipeg Free Press). When, at the age of sixty, Joanne learns that Douglas Ellard, the reserved general practitioner whom she had grown up believing to be her father was, in fact, the best friend of her biological father, the brilliant visual artist Desmond Love, she begins to question not just who she is but what factors play a role in shaping all of us and in making us who we really are. Joanne is offered the chance to revisit her family history, when writer Roy Brodnitz, author of The Happiest Girl, a Broadway mega-hit inspired by a Desmond Love painting, approaches her with the idea of making a mini-series about the close relationship between the Ellard and Love families. Brodnitz is in town working on the film adaptation of his Broadway hit, and he and his film company soon become a significant presence in the life of Joanne's family, with results that are both life-changing and menacing. When Joanne and Zack's eighteen-year-old daughter, Taylor Shreve, develops a close friendship with the seventeen-year-old actress starring in the movie, the Shreve family is exposed to the dark side of the film industry and they uncover disturbing truths about the handsome and talented people they have invited into their lives. A Darkness of the Heart explores the ways in which clear vision, generosity of spirit, and a willingness to love can combat the forces in our world that seek to encroach upon innocence. Once again, Gail Bowen's powerful storytelling, engaging characters, and page-turning plot reaffirm her place as one of the finest mystery writers around.

  • ISBN
    9780771009754
  • Format
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$32.00
Discount:
$6.40
Your Price:
$25.60
Quantity:
Book cover of LAST GOOD DAY
LAST GOOD DAY
By: gail bowen | Published: September 2004

  • ISBN
    9780771014666
  • Format
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$32.99
Discount:
$6.60
Your Price:
$26.39
Quantity:
Book cover of LOVE YOU TO DEATH
LOVE YOU TO DEATH
By: gail bowen | Published: April 2010

When he learns that some of his loyal listeners are being killed, Charlie D., host of a late-night radio call-in show, tries to discover which listene...

When he learns that some of his loyal listeners are being killed, Charlie D., host of a late-night radio call-in show, tries to discover which listener is the killer.

Theme: Good for Reluctant Readers

  • ISBN
    9781554692620
  • Format
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$9.95
Discount:
$1.99
Your Price:
$7.96
Quantity:
Book cover of SHADOW KILLER
SHADOW KILLER
By: gail bowen | Published: September 2011

"It's Father's Day weekend, and it looks like some of the well-intentioned wisdom that Charlie D dispenses on his late-night radio call-in show might ...

"It's Father's Day weekend, and it looks like some of the well-intentioned wisdom that Charlie D dispenses on his late-night radio call-in show might blow up in his face. One young listener seems intent on killing his father and the rest of his family. Unfortunately, no one knows where he is. Time is running out, until Charlie's own long-estranged father enters the picture."--P. [4] of cover.

  • ISBN
    9781554698769
  • Format
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$9.95
Discount:
$1.99
Your Price:
$7.96
Quantity:
Book cover of TO GUARD AGAINST THE DARK
TO GUARD AGAINST THE DARK
By: gail bowen | Published: October 2017

The final book in bestselling author Julie E. Czerneda's hard science fiction Reunification trilogy, the thrilling conclusion to the award-winning Cla...

The final book in bestselling author Julie E. Czerneda's hard science fiction Reunification trilogy, the thrilling conclusion to the award-winning Clan Chronicles

  • ISBN
    9780756408787
  • Format
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$35.00
Discount:
$7.00
Your Price:
$28.00
Quantity:
Book cover of WINNER'S CIRCLE
WINNER'S CIRCLE
By: gail bowen | Published: August 2017

Book 17 of the nationally bestselling Joanne Kilbourn series is classic Gail Bowen: masterfully compelling storytelling that combines a modern, urban ...

Book 17 of the nationally bestselling Joanne Kilbourn series is classic Gail Bowen: masterfully compelling storytelling that combines a modern, urban family with a gripping, satisfying mystery. As Joanne Kilbourn-Shreve, her husband, Zack, and their soon-to-be seventeen-year-old daughter, Taylor, rush through the rain from their cottage to their car, the Thanksgiving weekend they just spent at the lake with Zack's law partners is already slipping away, burnished into memory as pleasantly as the hundreds of other weekends the Falconer-Shreve families have shared at Lawyers' Bay. Thoughts of the weekend past will now focus on the future and be prefaced by the words "next time." Within weeks, a triple homicide will rip apart the lives of those related to the lawyers who, at the end of their first year in law school, only half-jokingly styled themselves "The Winners' Circle." Dazed by grief, Joanne will seek answers to an impossible question: "Why did they die?" The facts behind the suicide of Christopher Altieri, known by his law partners as "the conscience of The Winners' Circle," appear to provide insights, but for Joanne those insights raise new, unsettling questions. Knitting this powerful narrative together is Joanne's unshakeable belief that the only thing worse than knowing is not knowing.

  • ISBN
    9780771024061
  • Format
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
List Price:
$29.95
Discount:
$5.99
Your Price:
$23.96
Quantity: