Results for: tanaz bhathena

Below is a list of 6 the books by this author.

Book cover of BEAUTY OF THE MOMENT
BEAUTY OF THE MOMENT
By: tanaz bhathena | Published: February 2019

Susan dreams of being an artist. Malcolm wants to move him and his sister out of a bad living situation. Sparks fly when the two teens meet at a fundr...

Susan dreams of being an artist. Malcolm wants to move him and his sister out of a bad living situation. Sparks fly when the two teens meet at a fundraiser for Syrian refugees. A Canadian YA romance for fans of The Sun is Also a Star. Susan is the new girl -- she's sharp and driven, and strives to meet her parents' expectations of excellence. Malcolm is the bad boy -- he started raising hell at age fifteen, after his mom died of cancer, and has had a reputation ever since.      Susan hasn't told anyone, but she wants to be an artist. Malcolm doesn't know what he wants -- until he meets her.      Love is messy and families are messier, but in spite of their burdens, Susan and Malcolm fall for each other. The ways they drift apart and come back together are testaments to family, culture, and being true to who you are.

Theme: Immigration, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780735263741
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BEAUTY OF THE MOMENT
BEAUTY OF THE MOMENT
By: tanaz bhathena | Published: June 2020

After her family moves from Saudi Arabia to Canada, Susan Thomas strives to meet her parents' expectations of excellence. Malcolm Vakil is the bad boy...

After her family moves from Saudi Arabia to Canada, Susan Thomas strives to meet her parents' expectations of excellence. Malcolm Vakil is the bad boy who started raising hell at age fifteen, after his mom died of cancer. Susan wants to be an artist. Malcolm doesn't know what he wants-- until he meets her. In spite of their differences-- and their burdens-- Susan and Malcolm fall for each other. As they drift apart and come back together, will they be able to be true to who they are? For junior and senior high readers. 2019.

Theme: Diversity, Refugee, Social Justice , Romance

  • ISBN
    9780735263765
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$13.99
Quantity:
Book cover of GIRL LIKE THAT
GIRL LIKE THAT
By: tanaz bhathena | Published: February 2018

A Center for the Study of Multicultural Children's Literature Best Book of 2018 A Canadian Children's Book Centre Best Book of 2018 An Ontario Libra...

A Center for the Study of Multicultural Children's Literature Best Book of 2018 A Canadian Children's Book Centre Best Book of 2018 An Ontario Library Association White Pine Award Shortlist Pick A Globe and Mail Top 100 Book A Quill & Quire Book of the Year A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book for Teens A New York Public Library Notable Best Book for Teens A Times of India Best Fiction Title of 2018 A timeless exploration of high-stakes romance, self-discovery, and the lengths we go to love and be loved. "Fascinating and disturbing." -Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Small Great Things and Leaving Time Sixteen-year-old Zarin Wadia is many things: a bright and vivacious student, an orphan, a risk taker. She's also the kind of girl that parents warn their kids to stay away from: a troublemaker whose many romances are the subject of endless gossip at school. You don't want to get involved with a girl like that, they say. So how is it that eighteen-year-old Porus Dumasia has only ever had eyes for her? And how did Zarin and Porus end up dead in a car together, crashed on the side of a highway in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia? When the religious police arrive on the scene, everything everyone thought they knew about Zarin is questioned. And as her story is pieced together, told through multiple perspectives, it becomes clear that she was far more than just a girl like that. This beautifully written debut novel from Tanaz Bhathena reveals a rich and wonderful new world to readers; tackles complicated issues of race, identity, class, and religion; and paints a portrait of teenage ambition, angst, and alienation that feels both inventive and universal.

Theme: Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780374305444
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.50
Quantity:
Book cover of GIRL LIKE THAT
GIRL LIKE THAT
By: tanaz bhathena | Published: February 2019

A timeless exploration of high-stakes romance, self-discovery, and the lengths we go to love and be loved. "Fascinating and disturbing.&a...

A timeless exploration of high-stakes romance, self-discovery, and the lengths we go to love and be loved. "Fascinating and disturbing." -Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Small Great Things and Leaving Time Sixteen-year-old Zarin Wadia is many things: a bright and vivacious student, an orphan, a risk taker. She's also the kind of girl that parents warn their kids to stay away from: a troublemaker whose many romances are the subject of endless gossip at school. You don't want to get involved with a girl like that, they say. So how is it that eighteen-year-old Porus Dumasia has only ever had eyes for her? And how did Zarin and Porus end up dead in a car together, crashed on the side of a highway in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia? When the religious police arrive on the scene, everything everyone thought they knew about Zarin is questioned. And as her story is pieced together, told through multiple perspectives, it becomes clear that she was far more than just a girl like that. This beautifully written debut novel from Tanaz Bhathena reveals a rich and wonderful new world to readers; tackles complicated issues of race, identity, class, and religion; and paints a portrait of teenage ambition, angst, and alienation that feels both inventive and universal. Praise for A Girl Like That: "Bhathena makes an impressive debut with this eye-opening novel about a free-spirited girl in present-day Saudi Arabia. . . . Bhathena's novel should spur heated discussions about sexist double standards and the ways societies restrict, control, and punish women and girls." -Publishers Weekly, starred review "A powerful debut." -School Library Journal, starred review

  • ISBN
    9781250294586
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.50
Quantity:
Book cover of HUNTED BY THE SKY
HUNTED BY THE SKY
By: tanaz bhathena | Published: June 2020

A riveting story of discovery, forbidden romance and idealism against all odds, set in a fantasy world inspired in part by Indian history and myth. Fo...

A riveting story of discovery, forbidden romance and idealism against all odds, set in a fantasy world inspired in part by Indian history and myth. For fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi. Gul has spent her life running. She has a star-shaped birthmark on her arm, and in the kingdom of Ambar, girls with such birthmarks have been disappearing for years. Gul's mark is what caused her parents' murder at the hand of King Lohar's ruthless soldiers and forced her into hiding to protect her own life. So when a group of rebel women called the Sisters of the Golden Lotus rescue her, take her in, and train her in warrior magic, Gul wants only one thing: revenge. Cavas lives in the tenements, and he's just about ready to sign his life over to the king's army. His father is terminally ill, and Cavas will do anything to save him. But sparks fly when he meets a mysterious girl--Gul--in the capital's bazaar, and as the chemistry between them undeniably grows, he becomes entangled in a mission of vengeance--and discovers a magic he never expected to find. Dangerous circumstances have brought Gul and Cavas together at the king's domain in Ambar Fort . . . a world with secrets deadlier than their own. Exploring identity, class struggles, and high-stakes romance, Hunted by the Sky is a gripping adventure set in a world inspired by medieval India.

  • ISBN
    9780735267022
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of RISING LIKE A STORM
RISING LIKE A STORM
By: tanaz bhathena | Published: June 2021

The exciting follow-up to the riveting Hunted by the Sky, set in a fantasy world inspired by Indian history and myth. For fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi...

The exciting follow-up to the riveting Hunted by the Sky, set in a fantasy world inspired by Indian history and myth. For fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi. A girl with a mark, a boy with her soul/Their fates intertwined, two halves of a whole Hunted by the Sky ended with the death of King Lohar and Marjor Shayla is now Queen. Gul, the Star Warrior who, according to prophecy, will be the savior of magi and non-magi alike, is being hunted by Shayla's Sky Warriors. She and Cavas are safe for now, in the City of Tavan, protected by the Pashu King, Subodh, but it's only a matter of time before the magical golden bars protecting the city weaken and collapse. Already there are big gaps through which bounty hunters can slip, and the attacks are becoming more and more frequent. Gul and Cavas are still reeling from the deaths of not only the king, but also Cavas' father, and they carry their wounds separately. But they must put aside their anger -- and their guilt -- to train together under Subodh and the Tavani women, the Legion of the Star Warrior. Together, they are the key to the new prophecy, two halves of a whole, but they're having trouble combining their powers successfully. Gul is especially afraid of hurting Cavas with her death magic, given the destruction she unleashed in King Lohar's court. But when Cavas is captured in a brutal attack from Queen Shayla, Gul must come to terms with her powers and seek to unite a fractured kingdom against its malevolent ruler.

  • ISBN
    9780735267053
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity: