Results for: dean atta

Below is a list of 2 the books by this author.

Book cover of BLACK FLAMINGO
BLACK FLAMINGO
By: dean atta | Published: May 2020

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of...

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender. Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough. As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born. Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, DRAG QUEENS, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062990297
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BLACK FLAMINGO
BLACK FLAMINGO
By: dean atta | Published: May 2021

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite...

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough. As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born.

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Written in Verse, #BlackLivesMatter, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062990303
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$13.50
Quantity: