Your search returned 3 results in the Theme: pakistani.

Book cover of ANISA'S INTERNATIONAL DAY
ANISA'S INTERNATIONAL DAY
By: reem faruqi | Published: September 2022

From the award-winning author of Unsettled, meet Anisa, the adorable Pakistani American heroine of this irresistible younger middle grade novel about...

From the award-winning author of Unsettled, meet Anisa, the adorable Pakistani American heroine of this irresistible younger middle grade novel about a girl who introduces her class to the art of mehndi for International Day. Filled with fun black-and-white interior art, recipes, and activities in the back matter and perfect for fans of Meet Yasmin! "Genuine, sweet, and relatable. Anisa problems solves her way out of more than one sticky situation with sometimes unexpected--and joyful--results." --Maleeha Siddiqui, author of Barakah Beats Anisa is super-excited about International Day and can't wait to share her mother's samosas with her class. But when someone else has the exact same idea, Anisa is crushed. Going to her aunt's dholki party gives her an idea for the perfect activity instead--mehndi! There's only one problem: Anisa's best friend doesn't seem to like the idea. She doesn't even seem to like Anisa anymore. Will Anisa ever get to enjoy International Day?

Theme: School, Diversity, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780063206236
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.00
Quantity:
Book cover of MARIAM SHARMA HITS THE ROAD
MARIAM SHARMA HITS THE ROAD
By: sheba karim | Published: June 2018

Three Pakistani-American teenagers, on a trip through the land of pork ribs, mechanical bulls, and Confederate flags. It's going to be quite an...

Three Pakistani-American teenagers, on a trip through the land of pork ribs, mechanical bulls, and Confederate flags. It's going to be quite an adventure. The summer after her freshman year of college, Mariam is looking forward to working and hanging out with her best friends: irrepressible and beautiful Ghazala and religious but closeted Umar. But when a scandalous photo of Ghaz appears on a billboard in Times Square, Mariam and Umar come up with a plan to rescue her from her furious parents. And what could be a better escape than a spontaneous road trip down to New Orleans? With the heartbreaking honesty of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' mixed with the cultural growing pains and smart snark of When Dimple Met Rishi, this wry, remarkable road-trip story is about questioning where you come from-and choosing the family that chooses you back.

  • ISBN
    9780062445735
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MARIAM SHARMA HITS THE ROAD
MARIAM SHARMA HITS THE ROAD
By: sheba karim | Published: November 2020

Three Pakistani-American teenagers, on a trip through the land of pork ribs, mechanical bulls, and Confederate flags. It's going to be quite an...

Three Pakistani-American teenagers, on a trip through the land of pork ribs, mechanical bulls, and Confederate flags. It's going to be quite an adventure. The summer after her freshman year of college, Mariam is looking forward to working and hanging out with her best friends: irrepressible and beautiful Ghazala and religious but closeted Umar. But when a scandalous photo of Ghaz appears on a billboard in Times Square, Mariam and Umar come up with a plan to rescue her from her furious parents. And what could be a better escape than a spontaneous road trip down to New Orleans? With the heartbreaking honesty of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' mixed with the cultural growing pains and smart snark of When Dimple Met Rishi, this wry, remarkable road-trip story is about questioning where you come from--and choosing the family that chooses you back.

Theme: Diversity, Asian Heritage

  • ISBN
    9780062445742
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$13.50
Quantity: