Your search returned 12 results in the Theme: names.

Book cover of ALMA & HOW SHE GOT HER NAME
ALMA & HOW SHE GOT HER NAME
By: juana martinez-neal | Published: April 2018

A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book What’s in a name? For one little girl, her very long name tells the vibrant story of where she came from —...

A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book What’s in a name? For one little girl, her very long name tells the vibrant story of where she came from — and who she may one day be. If you ask her, Alma Sofia Esperanza José Pura Candela has way too many names: six! How did such a small person wind up with such a large name? Alma turns to Daddy for an answer and learns of Sofia, the grandmother who loved books and flowers; Esperanza, the great-grandmother who longed to travel; José, the grandfather who was an artist; and other namesakes, too. As she hears the story of her name, Alma starts to think it might be a perfect fit after all — and realizes that she will one day have her own story to tell. In her author-illustrator debut, Juana Martinez-Neal opens a treasure box of discovery for children who may be curious about their own origin stories or names.

Theme: Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780763693558
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BLOB
BLOB
By: anne appert | Published: September 2021

A humorous picture book featuring a blob (n. a creature that can be anything they want) about embracing who we are and the many things we can be....

A humorous picture book featuring a blob (n. a creature that can be anything they want) about embracing who we are and the many things we can be. Blob is a creature of indeterminate kind. Blob can be a giraffe, cotton candy, and even an octopus. It's not until a certain someone continuously calls them "Bob" that Blob starts to question who they really are. After a series of funny yet enlightening discoveries about all the possible things they can be, Blob realizes that the best thing to be is . . . Blob. (With the L.) Author, artist, and auntie Anne Appert creates an irresistible story sure to please fans of What If, Pig?, Tiny T. Rex, and other hilariously charming and meaningful picture books.

Theme: Humour

  • ISBN
    9780063036123
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of DAISY
DAISY
By: jessixa bagley | Published: February 2021

Because she is teased at school, Daisy hangs her head a lot, which leads to a new hobby of collecting lost and broken items and to a real treasure--a...

Because she is teased at school, Daisy hangs her head a lot, which leads to a new hobby of collecting lost and broken items and to a real treasure--a new friend.

Theme: Bullying issues

  • ISBN
    9780823446506
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of DANBI LEADS THE SCHOOL PARADE
DANBI LEADS THE SCHOOL PARADE
By: anna kim | Published: July 2020

Theme: Names

  • ISBN
    9780451478894
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of HOW NIVI GOT HER NAMES
HOW NIVI GOT HER NAMES
By: laura deal | Published: April 2017

Nivi has always known that her names were special, but she does not know where they came from. So, one sunny afternoon, Nivi decides to ask her mom...

Nivi has always known that her names were special, but she does not know where they came from. So, one sunny afternoon, Nivi decides to ask her mom how she got her names. The stories of the people Nivi is named after lead her to an understanding of traditional Inuit naming practices and knowledge of what those practices mean to Inuit. How Nivi Got Her Names is an easy-to-understand introduction to traditional Inuit naming, with a story that touches on Inuit custom adoption.

Theme: Names, Indigenous, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781772271379
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$13.95
Quantity:
Book cover of I WANT A NICKNAME
I WANT A NICKNAME
By: tradara mclaurine | Published: June 2022

It's not Sha-Dee-Ah, Shaw-Day-Uh, or Sha-Dee-Uh...it's Shadaia! Frustrated with everyone mispronouncing her name, Shadaia decides she needs a...

It's not Sha-Dee-Ah, Shaw-Day-Uh, or Sha-Dee-Uh...it's Shadaia! Frustrated with everyone mispronouncing her name, Shadaia decides she needs a nickname. Maybe that will help everyone get it right. A book about empowerment, self-esteem, and loving the meaning behind your name. This powerful picture book from author Tradara McLaurine will encourage all children to be proud of the name they're given. Perfect for children ages 3-7 and for fans of Alma and How She Got Her Name by Juana Martinez-Neal and Your Name is a Song by Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow.

Theme: BIPOC , Names, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781955767132
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MY NAME IS SAAJIN SINGH
MY NAME IS SAAJIN SINGH
By: kuljinder brar | Published: August 2022

A debut picture book that explores the importance of pronouncing names properly and celebrates cultural identity. Saajin loves his name--he loves it...

A debut picture book that explores the importance of pronouncing names properly and celebrates cultural identity. Saajin loves his name--he loves it so much that he sees it spelled out in the world around him in his snacks, in the sky and sometimes he even sings it aloud. On his first day of school, Saajin is excited to meet his new classmates, but things take a turn when the teacher mispronounces his name as Say-jin and he is not sure how--or if he should--correct her. After trying to live with the different version of his name for a while and some thoughtful conversations with his family about the meaning behind it, Saajin realizes the importance of reclaiming his name and embracing his identity. This empowering story, accompanied by energetic and vibrant art by Samrath Kaur, will resonate with any reader who has ever felt misunderstood.

Theme: Diversity, Sikh

  • ISBN
    9781773217055
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.95
Quantity:
Book cover of NAME JAR
NAME JAR
By: yangsook choi | Published: July 2022

After Unhei moves from Korea to the United States, her new classmates help her decide what her name should be.

Theme: Asian Heritage, Character Education, Diversity, Self-Esteem, Names

  • ISBN
    9780375806131
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of NAME JAR
NAME JAR
By: yangsook choi | Published: October 2003

The new kid in school needs a new name! Or does she? Being the new kid in school is hard enough, but what about when nobody can pronounce your...

The new kid in school needs a new name! Or does she? Being the new kid in school is hard enough, but what about when nobody can pronounce your name? Having just moved from Korea, Unhei is anxious that American kids will like her. So instead of introducing herself on the first day of school, she tells the class that she will choose a name by the following week. Her new classmates are fascinated by this no-name girl and decide to help out by filling a glass jar with names for her to pick from. But while Unhei practices being a Suzy, Laura, or Amanda, one of her classmates comes to her neighborhood and discovers her real name and its special meaning. On the day of her name choosing, the name jar has mysteriously disappeared. Encouraged by her new friends, Unhei chooses her own Korean name and helps everyone pronounce it—Yoon-Hey.

Theme: Asian Heritage, Character Education, Diversity, Self-Esteem, Names

  • ISBN
    9780440417996
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$11.99
Quantity:
Book cover of THAO
THAO
By: thao lam | Published: April 2021

Even though it's only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao's name. She's been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! But the...

Even though it's only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao's name. She's been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! But the teasing names--Tofu, Tiny, China Girl--are worse. Maybe it's time to be someone else? Thao decides to try on a different name, something easy, like Jennifer. It works, but only until she opens her lunchbox to find her mother's Vietnamese spring rolls, gỏi cuốn--Thao's favorite! Now, it feels a lot more comfortable to be herself. Simple on the surface, this story inspired by Thao's own childhood is full of humor, heart, and important ideas of diversity, inclusion, and cultural pride.

Theme: Vietnam, Names

  • ISBN
    9781771474320
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$19.95
Quantity:
Book cover of WHEN WORDS HAVE POWER
WHEN WORDS HAVE POWER
By: lisa chong | Published: October 2022

With gentleness and empathy, this beautiful story follows a young boy as he learns how a word that may seem funny to one person can be hurtful to...

With gentleness and empathy, this beautiful story follows a young boy as he learns how a word that may seem funny to one person can be hurtful to another. "When Words Have Power by Lisa Chong, illus. by Kaitlin Yang, follow[s] an Asian American boy who learns about the power of words during his everyday encounters." --Publishers Weekly, Fall 2022 Children's Sneak Previews Henry and his mother plan a special day together, which includes going to the Chinese market. But there they overhear someone calling them a strange name: "banana." Henry doesn't understand. A banana is just a piece of fruit. What's the big deal? And what does the name even mean? From debut author Lisa Chong and illustrator Kaitlin Yang, When Words Have Power reveals the powerful effect microaggressions and name calling can have and instead shows young readers how a little kindness and respect can lead to new friendships and stronger relationships with loved ones.

Theme: Bullying issues

  • ISBN
    9781513134857
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of YOUR NAME IS A SONG
YOUR NAME IS A SONG
By: jamilah thompkins | Published: July 2020

Frustrated by a day full of teachers and classmates mispronouncing her beautiful name, a little girl tells her mother she never wants to come back to...

Frustrated by a day full of teachers and classmates mispronouncing her beautiful name, a little girl tells her mother she never wants to come back to school. In response, the girl's mother teaches her about the musicality of African, Asian, Black-American, Latinx, and Middle Eastern names on their lyrical walk home through the city. Empowered by this newfound understanding, the young girl is ready to return the next day to share her knowledge with her class. Your Name is a Song is a celebration to remind all of us about the beauty, history, and magic behind names.

Theme: Diversity, #BlackLivesMatter, Names

  • ISBN
    9781943147724
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$21.95
Quantity: