Your search returned 5 results in the Theme: cerebral palsy.

Book cover of EMILY INCLUDED
EMILY INCLUDED
By: kathleen mcdonnell | Published: October 2011

The true story of Emily Eaton. Born with severe cerebral palsy, Emily and her family had to fight for her right to go to school with non-disabled...

The true story of Emily Eaton. Born with severe cerebral palsy, Emily and her family had to fight for her right to go to school with non-disabled children in a regular classroom. Their fight, which began at a time when children with CP were segregated, was groundbreaking. Unwilling to take no for an answer, Emily's fight would take her all the way to the Supreme Court. Eventually victorious, Emily’s story makes her an amazing role model for children everywhere - whether they are living with a disability or not.

Theme: Special Needs

  • ISBN
    9781926920337
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Social Studies - Issues (economic, Political And Social)
Retail Price:
$8.95
Quantity:
Book cover of FLY
FLY
By: alison hughes | Published: October 2022

A powerful novel in free verse about courage, connection and self-discovery. Felix Landon Yarrow, a fourteen-year-old with cerebral palsy, is...

A powerful novel in free verse about courage, connection and self-discovery. Felix Landon Yarrow, a fourteen-year-old with cerebral palsy, is captivated by the noble, chivalrous ideals of knighthood. So when he fears a school villain poses a danger to his lady love, finding a way to save her becomes his quest. In the elaborate plot he creates, Felix will triumphantly conquer his enemy and rescue his “damsel in distress.” Alas, for this brave knight, as for most middle schoolers, plans often have a way of going awry. A moving story about a young boy grappling with an imperfect world and discovering others are, too.

Theme: Special Needs

  • ISBN
    9781525305832
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of OUT OF MY MIND
OUT OF MY MIND
By: sharon draper | Published: March 2010

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks. Out of My Mind...

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks. Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list! "If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it." --Denver Post "A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes." --School Library Journal (starred review) "Unflinching and realistic." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Uplifting...This moving novel will makes activists of us all." --Booklist (starred review) From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder. Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people--her teachers, her doctors, her classmates--dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it...somehow.

Review: This powerful story by a two-time Coretta Scott King winner offers a wrenching insight into so many vital lives that the able-bodied overlook. If there's only one book teens and parents (and everyone else) can read this year, "Out of My Mind" should be it. --The Denver Post "Like Stephen Hawking, who becomes her hero, Melody discovers that her inner strength and intelligence are more reliable than most of the humans around her. She becomes an activist for herself, even as Draper challenges those who read her story to become activists for those who are different." -The Columbus Dispatch *Fifth-grader Melody has cerebral palsy, a condition that affects her body but not her mind. Although she is unable to walk, talk, or feed or care for herself, she can read, think, and feel. A brilliant person is trapped inside her body, determined to make her mark in the world in spite of her physical limitations. Draper knows of what she writes; her daughter, Wendy, has cerebral palsy, too. And although Melody is not Wendy, the authenticity of the story is obvious. Told in Melody's voice, this highly readable, compelling novel quickly establishes her determination and intelligence and the almost insurmountable challenges she faces. It also reveals her parents' and caretakers' courage in insisting that Melody be treated as the smart, perceptive child she is, and their perceptiveness in understanding how to help her, encourage her, and discourage self-pity from others. Thoughtless teachers, cruel classmates, Melody's unattractive clothes ("Mom seemed to be choosing them by how easy they'd be to get on me"), and bathroom issues threaten her spirit, yet the brave Melody shines through. Uplifting and upsetting, this is a book that defies age categorization, an easy enough read for upper-elementary students yet also a story that will enlighten and resonate with teens and adults. Similar to yet the antithesis of Terry Trueman's Stuck in Neutral (2000), this moving novel will make activists of us all. -Booklist STARRED REVIEW *Born with cerebral palsy, Melody, 10, has never spoken a word. She is a brilliant fifth grader trapped in an uncontrollable body. Her world is enhanced by insight and intellect, but gypped by physical limitations and misunderstandings. She will never sing or dance, talk on the phone, or whisper secrets to her friends. She's not complaining, though; she's planning and fighting the odds. In her court are family, good neighbors, and an attentive student teacher. Pitted against her is the "normal" world: schools with limited resources, cliquish girls, superficial assumptions, and her own disability. Melody's life is tragically complicated. She is mainly placed in the special-ed classroom where education means being babysat in a room with replayed cartoons and nursery tunes. Her supportive family sets her up with a computer. She learns the strength of thumbs as she taps on a special keyboard that finally lets her "talk." When she is transitioned into the regular classroom, Melody's undeniable contribution enables her class to make it to the national quiz team finals. Then something happens that causes her to miss the finals, and she is devastated by her classmates' actions. Kids will benefit from being introduced to Melody and her gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes and reveals the quiet strength and fortitude it takes to overcome disabil

Theme: Special Needs

  • ISBN
    9781416971702
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$25.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SMALL STEPS
SMALL STEPS
By: louis sachar | Published: January 2008

The young adult follow-up to the bestselling Newbery Award book and movie sensation, Holes.  Two years after being released from Camp Green...

The young adult follow-up to the bestselling Newbery Award book and movie sensation, Holes.  Two years after being released from Camp Green Lake, Armpit is home in Austin, Texas, trying to turn his life around. But it's hard when you have a record and everyone expects the worst from you. The only person who believe in Armpit is Ginny, his ten-year-old disabled neighbor. Together, they are learning to take small steps.  Armpit seems to be on the right path until X-Ray, a buddy from Camp Green Lake, comes up with a get-rich-quick scheme. X-Ray's plan leads to a chance encounter with teen pop sensation Kaira DeLeon, the Beyoncé of her time, and suddenly Armpit's life spins out of control. Only one thing is certain: he'll never be the same again.  Combining his signature wit with a unique blend of adventure and deeply felt characters, Sachar explores issues of race, the nature of celebrity, the invisible connections that shape a person's life, and what it takes to stay the course. Doing the right thing is never a wrong choice—but always a small step in right direction.

Theme: Special Needs

  • ISBN
    9780385661584
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.95
Quantity:
Book cover of STUCK IN NEUTRAL
STUCK IN NEUTRAL
By: terry truman | Published: September 2001

Shawn McDaniel's life is not what it may seem to anyone looking at him. He is glued to his wheelchair, unable to voluntarily move a muscle—he...

Shawn McDaniel's life is not what it may seem to anyone looking at him. He is glued to his wheelchair, unable to voluntarily move a muscle—he can't even move his eyes. For all Shawn's father knows, his son may be suffering. Shawn may want a release. And as long as he is unable to communicate his true feelings to his father, Shawn's life is in danger. To the world, Shawn's senses seem dead. Within these pages, however, we meet a side of him that no one else has seen—a spirit that is rich beyond imagining, breathing life. The paperback features an Extras section, giving readers even more insight into Shawn's life, and includes a Q&A with Terry Trueman, as well as a sneak peek at the sequel to Stuck in Neutral, Life Happens Next. Supports the Common Core State Standards

Theme: Special Needs

  • ISBN
    9780064472135
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.50
Quantity: