Your search returned 11 results in the Theme: caribbean .

Book cover of AFRICAN ORCHESTRA
AFRICAN ORCHESTRA
By: wendy hartmann | Published: March 2019

With magical illustrations from Joan Rankin, and poetry from masterful storyteller, Wendy Hartmann, The African Orchestra lyrically captures the mag...

With magical illustrations from Joan Rankin, and poetry from masterful storyteller, Wendy Hartmann, The African Orchestra lyrically captures the magic of the African sounds of nature. From the clicking of crickets to the crackle of the fire, follow the journey that celebrates these sounds, in the rhythm and music of Africa.

Theme: Diversity, Caribbean

  • ISBN
    9781566560252
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Traditional Single Stories - African & West Indies
Retail Price:
$12.95
Quantity:
Book cover of CECE RIOS & THE DESERT OF SOULS
CECE RIOS & THE DESERT OF SOULS
By: kaela rivera | Published: April 2021

When a powerful desert spirit kidnaps her sister, Cece Rios must learn forbidden magic to get her back, in this own voices middle grade fantasy perfec...

When a powerful desert spirit kidnaps her sister, Cece Rios must learn forbidden magic to get her back, in this own voices middle grade fantasy perfect for fans of The Storm Runner and Aru Shah and the End of Time. Living in the remote town of Tierra del Sol is dangerous, especially in the criatura months, when powerful spirits roam the desert and threaten humankind. But Cecelia Rios has always believed there was more to the criaturas, much to her family's disapproval. After all, only brujas--humans who capture and control criaturas--consort with the spirits, and brujeria is a terrible crime. When her older sister, Juana, is kidnapped by, El Sombrerón, a powerful dark criatura, Cece is determined to bring Juana back, To get into Devil's Alley, though, she'll have to become a bruja herself--while hiding her quest from her parents, her town, and the other brujas. Thankfully, the legendary criatura Coyote has a soft spot for humans and agrees to help her on her journey. With him at her side, Cece sets out to reunite her family--and maybe even change what it means to be a bruja along the way.

Theme: #OwnVoices, Caribbean , Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062947550
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.00
Quantity:
Book cover of HOME HOME
HOME HOME
By: lisa allen-agostini | Published: May 2020

Fans of Monday's Not Coming and Girl in Pieces will love this award-winning novel about a girl on the verge of losing herself and the unlikely journey...

Fans of Monday's Not Coming and Girl in Pieces will love this award-winning novel about a girl on the verge of losing herself and the unlikely journey to recovery after she is removed from anything and everyone she knows to be home. Moving from Trinidad to Canada wasn't her idea. But after being hospitalized for depression, her mother sees it as the only option. Now, living with an estranged aunt she barely remembers and dealing with her "troubles" in a foreign country, she feels more lost than ever. Everything in Canada is cold and confusing. No one says hello, no one walks anywhere, and bus trips are never-ending and loud. She just wants to be home home, in Trinidad, where her only friend is going to school and Sunday church service like she used to do. But this new home also brings unexpected surprises: the chance at a family that loves unconditionally, the possibility of new friends, and the promise of a hopeful future. Though she doesn't see it yet, Canada is a place where she can feel at home--if she can only find the courage to be honest with herself.

Theme: Caribbean

  • ISBN
    9781984893581
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of JUMBIES 01
JUMBIES 01
By: tracey baptiste | Published: April 2016

Corinne La Mer claims she isn’t afraid of anything. Not scorpions, not the boys who tease her, and certainly not jumbies. They’re just tri...

Corinne La Mer claims she isn’t afraid of anything. Not scorpions, not the boys who tease her, and certainly not jumbies. They’re just tricksters made up by parents to frighten their children. Then one night Corinne chases an agouti all the way into the forbidden forest, and shining yellow eyes follow her to the edge of the trees. They couldn’t belong to a jumbie. Or could they? When Corinne spots a beautiful stranger at the market the very next day, she knows something extraordinary is about to happen. When this same beauty, called Severine, turns up at Corinne’s house, danger is in the air. Severine plans to claim the entire island for the jumbies. Corinne must call on her courage and her friends and learn to use ancient magic she didn’t know she possessed to stop Severine and to save her island home.

Theme: Diversity, Caribbean

  • ISBN
    9781616205928
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$10.95
Quantity:
Book cover of JUMBIES 02 RISE OF THE JUMBIES
JUMBIES 02 RISE OF THE JUMBIES
By: tracey baptiste | Published: September 2019

Theme: Caribbean , Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781616209827
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$11.95
Quantity:
Book cover of JUMBIES 03 THE JUMBIE GOD'S REVENGE
JUMBIES 03 THE JUMBIE GOD'S REVENGE
By: tracey baptiste | Published: September 2019

Theme: Caribbean , Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781616208912
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$24.95
Quantity:
Book cover of LOOK BACK
LOOK BACK
By: trish cooke | Published: March 2019

A beautiful picture book that tells children that it is okay to be afraid. Who was the mysterious Ti Bolom? Could he be real or was he just one of Gra...

A beautiful picture book that tells children that it is okay to be afraid. Who was the mysterious Ti Bolom? Could he be real or was he just one of Grandma's inventions from her Caribbean childhood? Illustrator Caroline Binch and writer Trish Cooke-both acclaimed award winners-come together to tell this magical story of Grandma's rainforest adventure.

Theme: Diversity, Caribbean

  • ISBN
    9781566560993
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$12.95
Quantity:
Book cover of LOOKING FOR A JUMBIE
LOOKING FOR A JUMBIE
By: tracey baptiste | Published: August 2021

Theme: Caribbean , Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062970817
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MY MOTHER'S DAUGHTER
MY MOTHER'S DAUGHTER
By: perdita felicien | Published: March 2021

"A phenomenal, human story. . . . I could not put this book down." --CLARA HUGHES A raw and affecting memoir about a mother and daughter who beat the ...

"A phenomenal, human story. . . . I could not put this book down." --CLARA HUGHES A raw and affecting memoir about a mother and daughter who beat the odds together. Decades before Perdita Felicien became a World Champion hurdler running the biggest race of her life at the 2004 Olympics, she carried more than a nations hopes--she carried her mother Catherine's dreams. In 1974, Catherine is determined and tenacious, but she's also pregnant with her second child and just scraping by in St. Lucia. When she meets a wealthy white Canadian family vacationing on the island, she knows it's her chance. They ask her to come to Canada to be their nanny--and she accepts. This was the beginning of Catherine's new life: a life of opportunity, but also suffering. Within a few years, she would find herself pregnant a third time--this time in her new country with no family to support her, and this time, with Perdita. Together, in the years to come, mother and daughter would experience racism, domestic abuse, and even homelessness, but Catherine's will would always pull them through. As Perdita grew and began to discover her preternatural athletic gifts, she was edged onward by her mother's love, grit, and faith. Facing literal and figurative hurdles, she learned to leap and pick herself back up when she stumbled. This book is a daughter's memoir--a book about the power of a parent's love to transform their child's life.

Theme: #OwnVoices, Caribbean , Diversity, Immigration

  • ISBN
    9780385689960
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    High School - Biography
Retail Price:
$32.95
Quantity:
Book cover of NOCTURNA
NOCTURNA
By: maya motayne | Published: March 2020

The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogy--set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world--about a face-changing thief and a risk-tak...

The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogy--set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world--about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab. To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her...and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. As a talented faceshifter, it's been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that's exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she's forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan's royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever. After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can't help but feel that he will never live up to his brother's legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic. But when Finn and Alfie's fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power--which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with Castallan's fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.

Theme: Caribbean , Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062842749
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SHADOWSHAPER CYPHER 01 SHADOWSHAPER
SHADOWSHAPER CYPHER 01 SHADOWSHAPER
By: daniel older | Published: August 2016

Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned to have an easy summer of making art and hanging out with her friends. But t...

Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned to have an easy summer of making art and hanging out with her friends. But then a corpse crashes the first party of the season. Her stroke-ridden grandfather starts apologizing over and over. And when the murals in her neighborhood begin to weep real tears... Well, something more sinister than the usual Brooklyn ruckus is going on. With the help of a mysterious fellow artist named Robbie, Sierra discovers shadowshaping, a thrilling magic that infuses ancestral spirits into paintings, music, and stories. But someone is killing the shadowshapers one by one -and the killer believes Sierra is hiding their greatest secret. Now she must unravel her family's past, take down the killer in the present, and save the future of shadowshaping for herself and generations to come. Full of a joyful, defiant spirit and writing as luscious as a Brooklyn summer night, Shadowshaper marks the YA debut of a brilliant new storyteller.

Theme: Diversity, Paranormal, Caribbean

  • ISBN
    9781338032475
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.99
Quantity: