Your search returned 4 results in the Theme: visually impaired.

Book cover of BOY
BOY
By: phil cummings | Published: January 2022

Sometimes the biggest message comes from the smallest voice. The king's battles with the dragon were always mighty and loud . . . CLING CLANG CLONG! R...

Sometimes the biggest message comes from the smallest voice. The king's battles with the dragon were always mighty and loud . . . CLING CLANG CLONG! ROAR! But Boy lived in a silent world and couldn't hear the fighting. Though he could not hear, Boy could see the fear around him . . . and how everyone would be much happier without it. From the CBCA Honour Award-winning team of Phil Cummings and Shane Devries comes this tender tale of power and perception.

Theme: Dragons, Special Needs, VISUALLY IMPAIRED

  • ISBN
    9781443182164
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$16.99
Quantity:
Book cover of DOG DRIVEN
DOG DRIVEN
By: terry johnson | Published: March 2021

FMcKenna Barney is determined to enter a commemorative mail run dog sled race in the Canadian wilderness, from Sault Ste. Marie to White River Ontario...

FMcKenna Barney is determined to enter a commemorative mail run dog sled race in the Canadian wilderness, from Sault Ste. Marie to White River Ontario. Winning would mean getting national media coverage, for Stargardt Disease which causes progressive vision loss, and which her sister has).McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs must compete against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights. And the whole time, she is keeping the secret from her family - that she also has Stargardt disease and vision loss. A page-turning adventure about living with disability and surviving the wilderness, Dog Driven is the story of one girl's self-determination and the courage it takes to trust in others.

Theme: Special Needs, VISUALLY IMPAIRED, Survival

  • ISBN
    9780358447702
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$11.99
Quantity:
Book cover of DOG DRIVEN
DOG DRIVEN
By: terry johnson | Published: December 2019

From the author of Ice Dogs comes a riveting adventure about a musher who sets out to prove her impaired vision won't hold her back from competing in...

From the author of Ice Dogs comes a riveting adventure about a musher who sets out to prove her impaired vision won't hold her back from competing in a rigorous sled race through the Canadian wilderness. Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen. McKenna Barney is trying to hide her worsening eyesight and has been isolating herself for the last year. But at the request of her little sister, she signs up for a commemorative mail run race in the Canadian wilderness-a race she doesn't know if she can even see to run. Winning would mean getting her disease-and her sister's-national media coverage, but it would also pit McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights. A page-turning adventure about living with disability and surviving the wilderness, Dog Driven is the story of one girl's self-determination and the courage it takes to trust in others.

Theme: Survival, VISUALLY IMPAIRED

  • ISBN
    9781328551597
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of JUST MARIA
JUST MARIA
By: jay hardwig | Published: January 2022

Just Maria is the story of Maria Romero, a blind sixth-grader who is trying her hardest to be normal. Not amazing. Not inspiring. Not helpless. Not we...

Just Maria is the story of Maria Romero, a blind sixth-grader who is trying her hardest to be normal. Not amazing. Not inspiring. Not helpless. Not weird. Just normal. Normal is hard enough with her white cane, glass eyes, and bumpy books, but Maria's task is complicated by her neighbor and classmate JJ Munson, an asthmatic overweight oddball known in the halls of Marble City Middle as a double-dork paste-eater. When JJ draws Maria into his latest hare-brained scheme--a series of public challenges to prove their worth as gumshoes for his Twinnoggin Detective Agency--she fears she's lost her last chance to go unnoticed. When a young girl goes missing on the streets of Marble City, Maria's new-found confidence is tested in ways she never anticipated. Use your cane and your brain, and figure it out . . . Aimed at middle-grade readers, Just Maria explores difference and disability without resorting to the saccharine and engages universal themes about the price of popularity and the meaning of independence.

Theme: Special Needs, VISUALLY IMPAIRED

  • ISBN
    9781646030828
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$20.95
Quantity: