Your search returned 53 results in the Theme: sports - baseball.

Book cover of 1934 - CHATHAM COLOURED ALL-STARS' BARRI
1934 - CHATHAM COLOURED ALL-STARS' BARRI
By: heidi jacobs | Published: June 2023

Theme: Sports - Baseball, Prejudice & Racism, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781771964777
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Biography
Retail Price:
$24.95
Quantity:
Book cover of 6 INNINGS
6 INNINGS
By: james preller | Published: March 2010

Two teams, six innings, one game. A lively cast of characters-baseball-loving boys between the ages of eleven to thirteen-are playing the biggest...

Two teams, six innings, one game. A lively cast of characters-baseball-loving boys between the ages of eleven to thirteen-are playing the biggest game of their lives. With acrobatic catches, clutch hits, dramatic whiffs, and costly errors, this game is full of action. But as the book unfolds, pitch by pitch, a deeper story emerges, with far more at stake: Sam and Mike, best friends, are trying to come to terms with Sam's newly diagnosed cancer. And this baseball diamond becomes the ultimate testing ground of Sam and Mike's remarkable friendship as they strive to find a way to both come out winners. This is for the championship. This is for life. Six Innings is a 2009 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Theme: Sports - Baseball

  • ISBN
    9780312602406
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of ALL STAR
ALL STAR
By: audrey vernick | Published: January 2022

In 1947, Larry Doby signed with the Cleveland Indians, becoming the first Black player in the American leagues. He endured terrible racism, both from...

In 1947, Larry Doby signed with the Cleveland Indians, becoming the first Black player in the American leagues. He endured terrible racism, both from fans and his fellow teammates. Despite this, he became a unifying force on and off the field, and went on to become a seven-time All Star. Illustrated with Cannaday Chapman's bold, stylized illustrations, this exceptional biography tells the story of an unsung hero who not only opened doors for those behind him, but set amazing records during his Hall of Fame career. More significantly, it examines the long fight to overcome racism in sports and our culture at large, a fight that is far from over.

Theme: Diversity, #BlackLivesMatter, Sports - Baseball

  • ISBN
    9781328482976
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Biography
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BASEBALL - CATCHER
BASEBALL - CATCHER
By: christina earley | Published: August 2023

Theme: Sports - Baseball, High Interest/Low Vocabulary

  • ISBN
    9781638977582
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Sports And Active Games
Retail Price:
$25.85
Quantity:
Book cover of BASEBALL - CATCHER
BASEBALL - CATCHER
By: christina earley | Published: August 2023

Theme: Sports - Baseball, High Interest/Low Vocabulary

  • ISBN
    9781638977599
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Sports And Active Games
Retail Price:
$9.95
Quantity:
Book cover of BASEBALL GREAT
BASEBALL GREAT
By: tim green | Published: February 2010

Theme: Sports - Baseball

  • ISBN
    9780061626883
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$9.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BASEBALL HEROES - GOOD SPORTS
BASEBALL HEROES - GOOD SPORTS
By: glenn stout | Published: December 2010

Baseball Heroes is the first book in the new middle grade nonfiction series Good Sports, about the inspiring life stories of major league athletes...

Baseball Heroes is the first book in the new middle grade nonfiction series Good Sports, about the inspiring life stories of major league athletes who have overcome obstacles in the course of their life and careers. Each book tells the stories of athletes who have encountered and overcome significant obstacles, and whose story exempifies character and nerve in the face of adversity. Baseball Heroes highlights players who were among the first to break through barriers of race, ethnicity and even sex in order to play professional baseball. Subjects include Jackie Robinson, Hank Greenburg, Fernando Valenzuela, and Ila Borders.

Theme: Sports - Baseball

  • ISBN
    9780547417080
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Sports And Active Games
Retail Price:
$8.50
Quantity:
Book cover of BATS AT THE BALLGAME
BATS AT THE BALLGAME
By: brian lies | Published: September 2010

Hurry up! Come one-come all! We're off to watch the bats play ball! You'll never forget your first game: the green so green, the presence of...

Hurry up! Come one-come all! We're off to watch the bats play ball! You'll never forget your first game: the green so green, the presence of heroes past, and togetherness with family and friends, rooting for the home team. But you think humans are the only ones who enjoy America's national pastime? Grab your bat-the other kind-and your mitt, and join these captivating bats as they flutter off to watch their all-stars compete. How about a mothdog? Or some Cricket Jack? In sweeping compositions that transport fans to the rightside-up and upside-down world of bats at play, Brian Lies treats us to a whole new ballgame.

Theme: Sports - Baseball

  • ISBN
    9780547249704
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of CLUTCH
CLUTCH
By: heather camlot | Published: June 2017

"A coming of age story set in historic and diverse Montreal, where a young Jewish boy dreams of a brighter future just as Jackie Robinson is making...

"A coming of age story set in historic and diverse Montreal, where a young Jewish boy dreams of a brighter future just as Jackie Robinson is making history with baseball's Montreal Royals."--

Theme: Sports - Baseball, Historical Fiction

  • ISBN
    9780889955486
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.95
Quantity:
Book cover of DAN UNMASKED
DAN UNMASKED
By: chris negron | Published: June 2021

This heartfelt middle grade debut about grief, creativity, and the healing power of friendship shows that not all heroes wear capes and is perfect...

This heartfelt middle grade debut about grief, creativity, and the healing power of friendship shows that not all heroes wear capes and is perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Ali Benjamin. Whether they're on the baseball field or in Nate's basement devouring the newest issue of their favorite comic book, Dan and Nate are always talking. Until they're not. After an accident at baseball practice, Nate's fallen into a coma. And if Dan ever wants to talk to Nate again, he's got to take a page out of his hero Captain Nexus's book, and do whatever it takes to save the day. But heroes have powers--and without Nate, all Dan has is a closet stuffed with comics and a best-friend-shaped hole in his heart. There's no way a regular kid can save the day all on his own. Right?

Theme: Sports - Baseball

  • ISBN
    9780062943071
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$9.99
Quantity:
Book cover of EPIC SPORTS BIOS - DEREK JETER
EPIC SPORTS BIOS - DEREK JETER
By: abbe starr | Published: January 2023

Growing up, Derek Jeter dreamed of playing for the New York Yankees. His dream came true in 1995. Jeter was a star for the Yankees for 20 seasons and...

Growing up, Derek Jeter dreamed of playing for the New York Yankees. His dream came true in 1995. Jeter was a star for the Yankees for 20 seasons and helped the team win five World Series.

Theme: Sports - Baseball, High Interest/Low Vocabulary

  • ISBN
    9781728478555
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Biography
Retail Price:
$12.99
Quantity:
Book cover of EPIC SPORTS BIOS - ROBERTO CLEMENTE
EPIC SPORTS BIOS - ROBERTO CLEMENTE
By: abbe starr | Published: January 2023

Theme: High Interest/Low Vocabulary, Sports - Baseball

  • ISBN
    9781728478579
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Biography
Retail Price:
$12.99
Quantity:
Book cover of FAST PITCH
FAST PITCH
By: nic stone | Published: August 2021

Shenice Lockwood, captain of the Fulton Firebirds, is hyper-focused when she steps up to the plate. Nothing can stop her from leading her team to the...

Shenice Lockwood, captain of the Fulton Firebirds, is hyper-focused when she steps up to the plate. Nothing can stop her from leading her team to the U12 fast-pitch softball regional championship. But life has thrown some curveballs her way. Strike one: As the sole team of all-brown faces, Shenice and the Firebirds have to work twice as hard to prove that Black girls belong at bat. Strike two: Shenice's focus gets shaken when her great-uncle Jack reveals that a career-ending--and family-name-ruining--crime may have been a setup. Strike three: Broken focus means mistakes on the field. And Shenice's teammates are beginning to wonder if she's captain-qualified. It's up to Shenice to discover the truth about her family's past--and fast--before secrets take the Firebirds out of the game forever.

Theme: #OwnVoices, Sports - Baseball, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781984893017
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of FAST PITCH
FAST PITCH
By: nic stone | Published: January 2023

Shenice Lockwood, captain of the Fulton Firebirds, is hyper-focused when she steps up to the plate. Nothing can stop her from leading her team to the...

Shenice Lockwood, captain of the Fulton Firebirds, is hyper-focused when she steps up to the plate. Nothing can stop her from leading her team to the U12 fast-pitch softball regional championship. But life has thrown some curveballs her way. Strike one: As the sole team of all-brown faces, Shenice and the Firebirds have to work twice as hard to prove that Black girls belong at bat. Strike two: Shenice's focus gets shaken when her great-uncle Jack reveals that a career-ending--and family-name-ruining--crime may have been a setup. Strike three: Broken focus means mistakes on the field. And Shenice's teammates are beginning to wonder if she's captain-qualified. It's up to Shenice to discover the truth about her family's past--and fast--before secrets take the Firebirds out of the game forever.

Theme: Diversity, BIPOC , Sports - Baseball, Prejudice & Racism

  • ISBN
    9781984893048
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.49
Quantity:
Book cover of GET A GRIP VIVY COHEN
GET A GRIP VIVY COHEN
By: sarah kapit | Published: January 2021

In this perfectly pitched novel-in-letters, autistic eleven-year-old Vivy Cohen won't let anything stop her from playing baseball--not when she has a...

In this perfectly pitched novel-in-letters, autistic eleven-year-old Vivy Cohen won't let anything stop her from playing baseball--not when she has a major-league star as her pen pal. Vivy Cohen is determined. She's had enough of playing catch in the park. She's ready to pitch for a real baseball team. But Vivy's mom is worried about Vivy being the only girl on the team, and the only autistic kid. She wants Vivy to forget about pitching, but Vivy won't give up. When her social skills teacher makes her write a letter to someone, Vivy knows exactly who to choose: her hero, Major League pitcher VJ Capello. Then two amazing things happen: A coach sees Vivy's amazing knuckleball and invites her to join his team. And VJ starts writing back! Now Vivy is a full-fledged pitcher, with a catcher as a new best friend and a steady stream of advice from VJ. But when a big accident puts her back on the bench, Vivy has to fight to stay on the team.

Theme: Autism, Diversity, Sports - Baseball

  • ISBN
    9780525554196
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$13.99
Quantity: