Your search returned 6 results in the Theme: names.

Book cover of DANBI LEADS THE SCHOOL PARADE
DANBI LEADS THE SCHOOL PARADE
By: anna kim | Published: July 2020

Theme: Names

  • ISBN
    9780451478894
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of HOW NIVI GOT HER NAMES
HOW NIVI GOT HER NAMES
By: laura deal | Published: April 2017

Nivi has always known that her names were special, but she does not know where they came from. So, one sunny afternoon, Nivi decides to ask her mom...

Nivi has always known that her names were special, but she does not know where they came from. So, one sunny afternoon, Nivi decides to ask her mom how she got her names. The stories of the people Nivi is named after lead her to an understanding of traditional Inuit naming practices and knowledge of what those practices mean to Inuit. How Nivi Got Her Names is an easy-to-understand introduction to traditional Inuit naming, with a story that touches on Inuit custom adoption.

Theme: Names, Indigenous, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781772271379
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$10.95
Quantity:
Book cover of I WANT A NICKNAME
I WANT A NICKNAME
By: tradara mclaurine | Published: June 2022

It's not Sha-Dee-Ah, Shaw-Day-Uh, or Sha-Dee-Uh...it's Shadaia! Frustrated with everyone mispronouncing her name, Shadaia decides she needs a...

It's not Sha-Dee-Ah, Shaw-Day-Uh, or Sha-Dee-Uh...it's Shadaia! Frustrated with everyone mispronouncing her name, Shadaia decides she needs a nickname. Maybe that will help everyone get it right. A book about empowerment, self-esteem, and loving the meaning behind your name. This powerful picture book from author Tradara McLaurine will encourage all children to be proud of the name they're given. Perfect for children ages 3-7 and for fans of Alma and How She Got Her Name by Juana Martinez-Neal and Your Name is a Song by Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow.

Theme: Names, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781955767132
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of NAME JAR
NAME JAR
By: yangsook choi | Published: October 2003

The new kid in school needs a new name! Or does she? Being the new kid in school is hard enough, but what about when nobody can pronounce your...

The new kid in school needs a new name! Or does she? Being the new kid in school is hard enough, but what about when nobody can pronounce your name? Having just moved from Korea, Unhei is anxious that American kids will like her. So instead of introducing herself on the first day of school, she tells the class that she will choose a name by the following week. Her new classmates are fascinated by this no-name girl and decide to help out by filling a glass jar with names for her to pick from. But while Unhei practices being a Suzy, Laura, or Amanda, one of her classmates comes to her neighborhood and discovers her real name and its special meaning. On the day of her name choosing, the name jar has mysteriously disappeared. Encouraged by her new friends, Unhei chooses her own Korean name and helps everyone pronounce it—Yoon-Hey.

Theme: Asian Heritage, Character Education, Diversity, Self-Esteem, Names

  • ISBN
    9780440417996
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$11.99
Quantity:
Book cover of THAO
THAO
By: thao lam | Published: April 2021

Even though it's only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao's name. She's been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! But the...

Even though it's only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao's name. She's been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! But the teasing names--Tofu, Tiny, China Girl--are worse. Maybe it's time to be someone else? Thao decides to try on a different name, something easy, like Jennifer. It works, but only until she opens her lunchbox to find her mother's Vietnamese spring rolls, gỏi cuốn--Thao's favorite! Now, it feels a lot more comfortable to be herself. Simple on the surface, this story inspired by Thao's own childhood is full of humor, heart, and important ideas of diversity, inclusion, and cultural pride.

Theme: Vietnam, Names

  • ISBN
    9781771474320
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$19.95
Quantity:
Book cover of YOUR NAME IS A SONG
YOUR NAME IS A SONG
By: jamilah thompkins | Published: July 2020

Frustrated by a day full of teachers and classmates mispronouncing her beautiful name, a little girl tells her mother she never wants to come back to...

Frustrated by a day full of teachers and classmates mispronouncing her beautiful name, a little girl tells her mother she never wants to come back to school. In response, the girl's mother teaches her about the musicality of African, Asian, Black-American, Latinx, and Middle Eastern names on their lyrical walk home through the city. Empowered by this newfound understanding, the young girl is ready to return the next day to share her knowledge with her class. Your Name is a Song is a celebration to remind all of us about the beauty, history, and magic behind names.

Theme: Diversity, #BlackLivesMatter, Names

  • ISBN
    9781943147724
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$21.95
Quantity: