Your search returned 7 results in the Theme: nigeria.

Book cover of BLOOD SCION
BLOOD SCION
By: deborah falaye | Published: March 2022

This is what they deserve. They wanted me to be a monster. I will be the worst monster they ever created. Fifteen-year-old Sloane can...

This is what they deserve. They wanted me to be a monster. I will be the worst monster they ever created. Fifteen-year-old Sloane can incinerate an enemy at will--she is a Scion, a descendant of the ancient Orisha gods. Under the Lucis' brutal rule, her identity means her death if her powers are discovered. But when she is forcibly conscripted into the Lucis army on her fifteenth birthday, Sloane sees a new opportunity: to overcome the bloody challenges of Lucis training, and destroy them from within.

Theme: Fantasy, Nigeria, Mythology

  • ISBN
    9780062954046
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of CATCH THAT CHICKEN
CATCH THAT CHICKEN
By: atinuke | Published: July 2020

Theme: Nigeria

  • ISBN
    9781536212686
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of CHILDREN OF THE QUICKSANDS
CHILDREN OF THE QUICKSANDS
By: efua traore | Published: July 2022

A richly imagined magical adventure set in West Africa by a prize-winning new voice in children's writing, Children of the Quicksands introduces...

A richly imagined magical adventure set in West Africa by a prize-winning new voice in children's writing, Children of the Quicksands introduces readers to Yoruba myths and legends while showcasing the wealth of culture, traditions, adventure, joy, pride, and love found in Nigeria. In a remote Nigerian village, thirteen-year-old Simi is desperate to uncover a family secret. Ajao is nothing like Lagos -- no cells phones, no running water or electricity. Not a single human-made sound can be heard at night, just the noise of birds and animals rustling in the dark forest outside. Her witchlike grandmother dispenses advice and herbal medicine to the village, but she's tight lipped about their family history. Something must have happened, but what? Determined to find out, Simi disobeys her grandmother and goes exploring only to find herself sinking in the red quicksand of a forbidden lake and into the strange parallel world that lies beneath. It must have been a dream... right? Wrong. Something isn't right. Children are disappearing and it's up to Simi to discover the truth.

Theme: BIPOC , Magical Realism, Nigeria

  • ISBN
    9781338781922
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of HOW YOU GROW WINGS
HOW YOU GROW WINGS
By: rimma onoseta | Published: July 2022

An emotionally riveting novel for fans of Ibi Zoboi and Erika L. Sánchez about two sisters in Nigeria on their journey to break free of an...

An emotionally riveting novel for fans of Ibi Zoboi and Erika L. Sánchez about two sisters in Nigeria on their journey to break free of an oppressive home. Sisters Cheta and Zam couldn’t be more different. Cheta, sharp-tongued and stubborn, never shies away from conflict—either at school or at home, where her mother fires abuse at her. Timid Zam escapes most of her mother’s anger, skating under the radar and avoiding her sister whenever possible. In a turn of good fortune, Zam is invited to live with her aunt’s family in the lap of luxury. Jealous, Cheta also leaves home, but to a harder existence that will drive her to terrible decisions. When the sisters are reunited, Zam alone will recognize just how far Cheta has fallen—and Cheta’s fate will rest in Zam’s hands. Debut author Rimma Onoseta deftly explores classism, colorism, cycles of abuse, how loyalty doesn’t always come attached to love, and the messy truths that sometimes, family is not a source of comfort, and that morality is all shades of grey.

Theme: Mature, Nigeria, #OwnVoices, BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9781643751917
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$25.95
Quantity:
Book cover of TWICE AS PERFECT
TWICE AS PERFECT
By: louisa onome | Published: June 2022

For seventeen-year-old Adanna Nkwachi, life is all about duty: to school and the debate team, to her Nigerian parents, and even to her cousin Genny...

For seventeen-year-old Adanna Nkwachi, life is all about duty: to school and the debate team, to her Nigerian parents, and even to her cousin Genny as Ada helps prepare Genny's wedding to Afrobeats superstar Skeleboy. Because ever since her older brother, Sam, had a fight with their parents a few years ago and disappeared, somebody has to fill the void he left behind. Ada may never know what caused Sam to leave home, but the one thing she's certain of is that it's on her to make sure her parents' sacrifices aren't in vain. One day, chance brings the siblings back together and they start working to repair their bond. Although she fears how their parents will react if they find out, Ada is determined to get answers about the night Sam left--Sam, who was supposed to be an engineer but is now, what, a poet? The more she learns about Sam's poetry, the more Ada begins to wonder if maybe being happy is just as important as doing what's expected of her. Amid parental pressure, anxiety over the debate competition, a complicated love life, and the Nigerian wedding-to-end-all-weddings, can Ada learn, just this once, to put herself first?

Theme: Immigration, Nigeria, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781443464703
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of WAR GIRLS
WAR GIRLS
By: tochi onyebuchi | Published: October 2019

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria. The year is 2172....

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria. The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky. In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life. Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together. And they're willing to fight an entire war to get there. Acclaimed author, Tochi Onyebuchi, has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi.

Theme: Afrofuturism, Nigeria

  • ISBN
    9780451481672
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of WAR GIRLS
WAR GIRLS
By: tochi onyebuchi | Published: September 2020

Theme: Afrofuturism, Nigeria

  • ISBN
    9780451481696
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$15.99
Quantity: