Your search returned 9 results in the Theme: global read aloud.

Book cover of & THEN BOOM
& THEN BOOM
By: lisa fipps | Published: May 2024

Theme: Global Read Aloud

  • ISBN
    9780593406328
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$24.50
Quantity:
Book cover of AS LONG AS THE LEMON TREES GROW
AS LONG AS THE LEMON TREES GROW
By: zoulfa katouh | Published: March 2024

A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires...

A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea. Salama Kassab was a pharmacy student when the cries for freedom broke out in Syria. She still had her parents and her big brother; she still had her home. She had a normal teenager's life. Now Salama volunteers at a hospital in Homs, helping the wounded who flood through the doors daily. Secretly, though, she is desperate to find a way out of her beloved country before her sister-in-law, Layla, gives birth. So desperate, that she has manifested a physical embodiment of her fear in the form of her imagined companion, Khawf, who haunts her every move in an effort to keep her safe. But even with Khawf pressing her to leave, Salama is torn between her loyalty to her country and her conviction to survive. Salama must contend with bullets and bombs, military assaults, and her shifting sense of morality before she might finally breathe free. And when she crosses paths with the boy she was supposed to meet one fateful day, she starts to doubt her resolve in leaving home at all. Soon, Salama must learn to see the events around her for what they truly are--not a war, but a revolution--and decide how she, too, will cry for Syria's freedom.

Theme: War/Children and War, Syria, Global Read Aloud

  • ISBN
    9780316351485
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$15.99
Quantity:
Book cover of DRAWN TOGETHER
DRAWN TOGETHER
By: minh le | Published: May 2018

When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a common language leads to confusion, frustration, and silence. But as they sit down to draw...

When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a common language leads to confusion, frustration, and silence. But as they sit down to draw together, something magical happens-with a shared love of art and storytelling, the two form a bond that goes beyond words.

Theme: Asian Heritage, Culturally Responsive , Global Read Aloud

  • ISBN
    9781484767603
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of HANDS
HANDS
By: torrey maldonado | Published: May 2024

“Gorgeous and gripping, Hands is a poetic page-turner. You might just finish it in one sitting. Torrey Maldonado understands the kids he writes...

“Gorgeous and gripping, Hands is a poetic page-turner. You might just finish it in one sitting. Torrey Maldonado understands the kids he writes for at the deepest level.” —Adam Gidwitz, Newbery Honor–winning author of The Inquisitor’s Tale The author of What Lane? and Tight delivers a fast-paced read that packs a punch about a boy figuring out how to best use his hands—to build or to knock down. Trev would do anything to protect his mom and sisters, especially from his stepdad. But his stepdad’s return stresses Trev—because when he left, he threatened Trev’s mom. Rather than live scared, Trev takes matters into his own hands, literally. He starts learning to box to handle his stepdad. But not everyone is a fan of his plan, because Trev’s a talented artist, and his hands could actually help him build a better future. And they’re letting him know—but their advice for some distant future feels useless in his reality right now. Ultimately, Trev knows his future is in his hands, and his hands are his own, and he has to choose how to use them.

Theme: Global Read Aloud, BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9780593323816
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$10.99
Quantity:
Book cover of LET ME FINISH
LET ME FINISH
By: minh le | Published: June 2016

Theme: Global Read Aloud

  • ISBN
    9781484721735
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.49
Quantity:
Book cover of LIFT
LIFT
By: minh le | Published: May 2020

When Iris's elevator button-pushing is disrupted by a new member of the family, she's pretty put out. That is, until the sudden appearance of a...

When Iris's elevator button-pushing is disrupted by a new member of the family, she's pretty put out. That is, until the sudden appearance of a mysterious new button opens up entire realms of possibility, places where she can escape and explore on her own. But when it becomes a question between going it alone or letting someone else tag along, Iris finds that sharing a discovery with the people you love can be the most wonderful experience of all. This is a story that will lift your spirits and expand your imagination, by the award-winning creators of Drawn Together.

Theme: Global Read Aloud

  • ISBN
    9781368036924
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.99
Quantity:
Book cover of REAL TO ME
REAL TO ME
By: minh le | Published: May 2023

Theme: Global Read Aloud

  • ISBN
    9780593377499
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$25.99
Quantity:
Book cover of TOO SMALL TOLA
TOO SMALL TOLA
By: atinuke | Published: March 2023

Three delightful tales from a renowned Nigerian storyteller introduce a chapter-book heroine who is every bit as mighty as she is small. In a trio of...

Three delightful tales from a renowned Nigerian storyteller introduce a chapter-book heroine who is every bit as mighty as she is small. In a trio of droll stories, award-winning author and storyteller Atinuke debuts an endearing and enduring character with plenty to prove. Tola lives in an apartment in the busy city of Lagos, Nigeria, with her sister, Moji, who is very clever; her brother, Dapo, who is very fast; and Grandmommy, who is very bossy. Tola may be small, but she’s strong enough to carry a basket brimming with groceries home from the market, and she’s clever enough to count out Grandmommy’s change. When the faucets in the apartment break, it’s Tola who brings water from the well. And when Mr. Abdul, the tailor, has an accident and needs help taking his customers’ measurements, only Tola can save the day. Atinuke’s trademark wit and charm are on full display, accompanied by delightful illustrations by Onyinye Iwu. Too Small Tola evokes the urban bustle and rich blending of cultures in Lagos through the eyes of a little girl with an outsize will—and an even bigger heart.

Theme: Global Read Aloud

  • ISBN
    9781536230376
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    First Novel
Retail Price:
$9.50
Quantity:
Book cover of TOO SMALL TOLA & THE 3 FINE GIRLS
TOO SMALL TOLA & THE 3 FINE GIRLS
By: atinuke | Published: December 2023

"Too Small Tola lives in an apartment with her clever sister, Moji; her big brother, Dapo; and Grandmommy, who is very bossy. In the first of three...

"Too Small Tola lives in an apartment with her clever sister, Moji; her big brother, Dapo; and Grandmommy, who is very bossy. In the first of three endearing new adventures, Tola is sized just right to wriggle under the bed and rescue Grandmommy's prized possession when it goes missing. Her savvy and math skills save the day when Grandmommy gets sick, and when the family can't afford new clothes, industrious Tola finds a way--with a little help from Grandmommy--to be just as fine as the three fine girls she so greatly admires"--

Theme: Global Read Aloud

  • ISBN
    9781536233124
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    First Novel
Retail Price:
$9.50
Quantity: