Your search returned 4 results in the Theme: filipino.

Book cover of BLACKBIRD FLY
BLACKBIRD FLY
By: erin kelly | Published: March 2016

Future rock star or friendless misfit? That’s no choice at all. In this acclaimed novel by Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, twelve-year-old ...

Future rock star or friendless misfit? That’s no choice at all. In this acclaimed novel by Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, twelve-year-old Apple grapples with being different; with friends and backstabbers; and with following her dreams. Publishers Weekly called Blackbird Fly “a true triumph,” and the Los Angeles Times Book Review said, “Apple soars like the eponymous blackbird of her favorite Beatles song.” Apple has always felt a little different from her classmates. She and her mother moved to Louisiana from the Philippines when she was little, and her mother still cooks Filipino foods and chastises Apple for becoming “too American.” When Apple’s friends turn on her and everything about her life starts to seem weird and embarrassing, Apple turns to music. If she can just save enough to buy a guitar and learn to play, maybe she can change herself. It might be the music that saves her . . . or it might be her two new friends, who show her how special she really is. Erin Entrada Kelly deftly brings Apple’s conflicted emotions to the page in her debut novel about family, friendship, popularity, and going your own way. “A must-read for those kids cringing at their own identities.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books.

Theme: Diversity, Filipino

  • ISBN
    9780062238627
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$9.99
Quantity:
Book cover of LALANI OF THE DISTANT SEA
LALANI OF THE DISTANT SEA
By: erin kelly | Published: September 2019

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review) “A lush and mysterious fable...

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review) “A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path. When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana. Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores. When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task—she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest—how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend? Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon. 

Theme: Filipino, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9780062747273
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.00
Quantity:
Book cover of MY FATE ACCORDING TO THE BUTTERFLY
MY FATE ACCORDING TO THE BUTTERFLY
By: gail villanueva | Published: February 2021

* "Villanueva's debut is a beautiful #ownvoices middle-grade novel. Tough topics are addressed, but warmth and humor... bring lightness to Sab's story...

* "Villanueva's debut is a beautiful #ownvoices middle-grade novel. Tough topics are addressed, but warmth and humor... bring lightness to Sab's story. This immersive novel bursts with life." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen of death, she knows that she's doomed! According to legend, she has one week before her fate catches up with her -- on her 11th birthday. With her time running out, all she wants is to celebrate her birthday with her entire family. But her sister, Ate Nadine, stopped speaking to their father one year ago, and Sab doesn't even know why. If Sab's going to get Ate Nadine and their father to reconcile, she'll have to overcome her fears -- of her sister's anger, of leaving the bubble of her sheltered community, of her upcoming doom -- and figure out the cause of their rift. So Sab and her best friend Pepper start spying on Nadine and digging into their family's past to determine why, exactly, Nadine won't speak to their father. But Sab's adventures across Manila reveal truths about her family more difficult -- and dangerous -- than she ever anticipated. Was the Butterfly right? Perhaps Sab is doomed after all!

Theme: Family Relationships, #OwnVoices, Filipino, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781338310511
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$9.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SUGAR & SPITE
SUGAR & SPITE
By: gail villanueva | Published: April 2021

Theme: Filipino, Diversity, #OwnVoices, Bullying issues

  • ISBN
    9781338630923
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity: