Your search returned 12 results in the Theme: canadian setting.

Book cover of BABY WHALE VENTURES NORTH
BABY WHALE VENTURES NORTH
By: samantha baker | Published: September 2022

Whether above or below the surface, the North Atlantic Ocean is home to a wide variety of wildlife. Whales, dolphins, fish, and seabirds are just a...

Whether above or below the surface, the North Atlantic Ocean is home to a wide variety of wildlife. Whales, dolphins, fish, and seabirds are just a few of the creatures that live in or near the sea. Join a humpback whale calf as she encounters many new sights and sounds during her first summer in the waters surrounding Newfoundland. Though the world around the calf constantly changes, one thing remains the same -- her mother is always by her side.

Theme: Canadian Setting

  • ISBN
    9781774571125
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Science - Oceans, Fish & Aquatic Life
Retail Price:
$16.95
Quantity:
Book cover of BARREN GROUNDS - THE MISEWA SAGA 01
BARREN GROUNDS - THE MISEWA SAGA 01
By: david robertson | Published: August 2021

Narnia meets traditional Indigenous stories of the sky and constellations in an epic middle grade fantasy series from award-winning author David...

Narnia meets traditional Indigenous stories of the sky and constellations in an epic middle grade fantasy series from award-winning author David Robertson. Morgan and Eli, two Indigenous children forced away from their families and communities, are brought together in a foster home in Winnipeg, Manitoba. They each feel disconnected, from their culture and each other, and struggle to fit in at school and at their new home -- until they find a secret place, walled off in an unfinished attic bedroom. A portal opens to another reality, Askí, bringing them onto frozen, barren grounds, where they meet Ochek (Fisher). The only hunter supporting his starving community, Misewa, Ochek welcomes the human children, teaching them traditional ways to survive. But as the need for food becomes desperate, they embark on a dangerous mission. Accompanied by Arik, a sassy Squirrel they catch stealing from the trapline, they try to save Misewa before the icy grip of winter freezes everything -- including them.

Theme: Canadian Setting

  • ISBN
    9780735266124
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.99
Quantity:
Book cover of ESCAPE FROM THE WILDFIRE
ESCAPE FROM THE WILDFIRE
By: dorothy bentley | Published: August 2022

Theme: Natural Disasters, Canadian Setting, Environmental Issues

  • ISBN
    9781459417021
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.95
Quantity:
Book cover of GIRL FROM THE SEA
GIRL FROM THE SEA
By: molly ostertag | Published: June 2021

Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish high school and...

Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish high school and escape her sad divorced mother, her volatile little brother, and worst of all, her great group of friends...who don't understand Morgan at all. Because really, Morgan's biggest secret is that she has a lot of secrets, including the one about wanting to kiss another girl. Then one night, Morgan is saved from drowning by a mysterious girl named Keltie. The two become friends and suddenly life on the island doesn't seem so stifling anymore. But Keltie has some secrets of her own. And as the girls start to fall in love, everything they're each trying to hide will find its way to the surface...whether Morgan is ready or not.

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Canadian Setting, Canadian Setting, Nova Scotia

  • ISBN
    9781338540574
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Teen
Retail Price:
$19.99
Quantity:
Book cover of GIRL FROM THE SEA
GIRL FROM THE SEA
By: molly ostertag | Published: June 2021

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Canadian Setting, Canadian Setting, Nova Scotia

  • ISBN
    9781338540581
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Teen
Retail Price:
$34.99
Quantity:
Book cover of IF YOU COULD BE ANYTHING
IF YOU COULD BE ANYTHING
By: jennifer britton | Published: August 2022

A gentle lullaby celebrating the abundant nature of the East Coast, from the illustrator of Wildflower and The Book of Selkie. If you could be...

A gentle lullaby celebrating the abundant nature of the East Coast, from the illustrator of Wildflower and The Book of Selkie. If you could be anything, what would you be? I'd be a tall ship, racing fast on the sea I'd fill up my sails with the salty cool breeze If I could be anything. If it were up to me. This lyrical lullaby from educator and musician Jen Britton, with illustrations by celebrated artist Briana Corr Scott (Mermaid Lullaby, Wildflower) asks young readers, If you could be anything, what would you be? Responses run the gamut from lupins to sea glass to a lighthouse shining bright to the pull of the tides, celebrating the abundant natural and cultural landscapes of the East Coast. With gentle, rhyming text and dreamy oil illustrations, If You Could Be Anything is the perfect story to send little ones off to dreamland, and older ones off on new adventures. Includes informative, illustrated backmatter.

Theme: Canadian Setting

  • ISBN
    9781774711040
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.95
Quantity:
Book cover of JUDE SAVES THE WORLD
JUDE SAVES THE WORLD
By: ronnie riley | Published: April 2023

Perfect for fans of Alex Gino, A. J. Sass, and Kyle Lukoff, this is the joyful and heartwarming story of Jude, a nonbinary kid who knows exactly who...

Perfect for fans of Alex Gino, A. J. Sass, and Kyle Lukoff, this is the joyful and heartwarming story of Jude, a nonbinary kid who knows exactly who they are and decides to create a safe space in their community. Twelve-year-old Jude struggles with some things: focusing at school, feeling like everything rests on their shoulders, not being able to come out as nonbinary to their old-fashioned grandparents. But Jude doesn't struggle with Dallas, their best friend in the whole world. Their person. Jude and Dallas's world changes when they learn Stevie, a girl in their class, has been ousted from the popular clique at school. Worried it had something to do with Stevie's rumored crush on another girl, Jude reaches out to see if Stevie is okay. Stevie quickly becomes an important friend to Jude and Dallas, whose unwavering acceptance of her is a stark contrast to the tests and dysfunction she experienced with her former friend group. As their friendship deepens and the three open up to each other, Stevie's unconditional and open acceptance when Jude comes out to her motivates them to create a queer safe space in their community. Jude has the courage and determination it takes to create the first Diversity Club in their community, but will they be able to find the support they need to make it happen?

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Diversity, Non-Binary, Canadian Setting

  • ISBN
    9781338855876
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of MERANDA & THE LEGEND OF THE LAKE
MERANDA & THE LEGEND OF THE LAKE
By: meagan mahoney | Published: September 2021

Eleven-year-old Meranda thought her life was complicated enough with physical challenges (she uses crutches to walk) and her helicopter parents. But...

Eleven-year-old Meranda thought her life was complicated enough with physical challenges (she uses crutches to walk) and her helicopter parents. But when her great-uncle Mark dies, Meranda and her family visit Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, where her parents grew up and where she hasn't been since the age of three. Soon, secrets begin to unfold: Why does the newspaper headline say her great-uncle Mark's death was suspicious? Why do strangers keep calling Meranda "miracle baby"? Why does her usually calm mother seem so panicky and scared? And what on earth does all this have to do with mermaids? Meranda and her new friend, Claire, decide to investigate on their own. But as Meranda begins to separate fact from fiction, she finds herself in very real danger ... With an intriguing mystery afoot, and a strong-willed, resilient heroine at the helm, this mythical maritime novel celebrates coming of age and growing into yourself.

Theme: Special Needs, Mystery, Canadian Setting

  • ISBN
    9781771474344
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$19.95
Quantity:
Book cover of NO PLACE LIKE HOME
NO PLACE LIKE HOME
By: linh nguyen | Published: March 2023

Sweeping in scope and timeless in tone, No Place like Home is a middle-grade portal fantasy unlike any other Lan, a teenager who recently came to...

Sweeping in scope and timeless in tone, No Place like Home is a middle-grade portal fantasy unlike any other Lan, a teenager who recently came to Canada from Vietnam, spends every day searching for a sense of belonging. Books are the only things that make her feel at ease. But it comes as a shock when a mysterious wind whisks her right into the pages of her latest fantasy read. More shocking still is the fact that she herself summoned this wind! Plunged into the magical world of Silva, Lan realizes she has much to offer protagonists Annabelle and Marlow. Once a homesick reader and bystander rooting for the very characters that now stand before her, Lan is a budding witch who suddenly has the power to help their quest. Somewhere inside her lies the ability to not only save Annabelle and Marlow's home, but also to shape a familiar tale into something new. As Lan faces off against tree guardians, moving corn mazes, heart-eaters and thoughtless kings, she finds that Silva is not so different from Toronto: new homes can be messy. Now, torn between several places at once, Lan begins to confront an important question: how do you redefine a lost home?

Theme: Immigration, Vietnam, Canadian Setting, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781443466202
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$16.99
Quantity:
Book cover of NOT TALKING ABOUT YOU
NOT TALKING ABOUT YOU
By: kevin jones | Published: August 2022

Theme: BIPOC , Friendship, Canadian Setting

  • ISBN
    9781459417076
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.95
Quantity:
Book cover of SUMMER OF BITTER & SWEET
SUMMER OF BITTER & SWEET
By: jen ferguson | Published: May 2022

Lou has enough confusion in front of her this summer. She'll be working in her family's ice-cream shack with her newly ex-boyfriend--whose kisses...

Lou has enough confusion in front of her this summer. She'll be working in her family's ice-cream shack with her newly ex-boyfriend--whose kisses never made her feel desire, only discomfort--and her former best friend, King, who is back in their Canadian prairie town after disappearing three years ago without a word. But when she gets a letter from her biological father--a man she hoped would stay behind bars for the rest of his life--Lou immediately knows that she cannot meet him, no matter how much he insists. While King's friendship makes Lou feel safer and warmer than she would have thought possible, when her family's business comes under threat, she soon realizes that she can't ignore her father forever.

Theme: Indigenous, Canadian Setting

  • ISBN
    9780063086166
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$21.99
Quantity:
Book cover of WEIRD RULES TO FOLLOW
WEIRD RULES TO FOLLOW
By: kim spencer | Published: October 2022

Theme: Canadian Setting

  • ISBN
    9781459835580
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$12.95
Quantity: