Your search returned 1,339 results in the Theme: bipoc .

Book cover of & THE WALLS CAME DOWN
& THE WALLS CAME DOWN
By: denise dacosta | Published: June 2023

Theme: BIPOC , Family Relationships

  • ISBN
    9781459750364
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of & WE RISE
& WE RISE
By: erica martin | Published: February 2022

Theme: BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9780593352526
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Poetry
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of & WE RISE
& WE RISE
By: erica martin | Published: January 2023

A powerful, impactful, eye-opening journey that explores through the Civil Rights Movement in 1950s-1960s America in spare and evocative verse, with...

A powerful, impactful, eye-opening journey that explores through the Civil Rights Movement in 1950s-1960s America in spare and evocative verse, with historical photos interspersed throughout. In stunning verse and vivid use of white space, Erica Martin's debut poetry collection walks readers through the Civil Rights Movement—from the well-documented events that shaped the nation’s treatment of Black people, beginning with the "Separate but Equal" ruling—and introduces lesser-known figures and moments that were just as crucial to the Movement and our nation's centuries-long fight for justice and equality. A poignant, powerful, all-too-timely collection that is both a vital history lesson and much-needed conversation starter in our modern world. Complete with historical photographs, author's note, chronology of events, research, and sources.

Theme: BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9780593352540
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    High School - Poetry
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 1 BIG OPEN SKY
1 BIG OPEN SKY
By: lesa cline-ransome | Published: March 2024

Three women narrate a perilous wagon journey westward that could set them free—or cost them everything they have—in this...

Three women narrate a perilous wagon journey westward that could set them free—or cost them everything they have—in this intergenerational verse novel that explores the history of the Black homesteader movement. 1879, Mississippi. Young dreamer Lettie may have her head in the stars, but her body is on a covered wagon heading westward. Her father, Thomas, promises that Nebraska will be everything the family needs: an opportunity to claim the independence they’ve strived for over generations on their very own plot of land. But Thomas’ hopes—and mouth—are bigger than his ability to follow through. With few supplies and even less money, the only thing that feels certain is danger. Right after the war ended/and we were free/we believed/all of us did/that couldn’t nothing hurt us/the way master had when we were slaves/Couldn’t no one tell us/how to live/how to die. Lettie, her mother, Sylvia, and young teacher Philomena are free from slavery—but bound by poverty, access to opportunity, and patriarchal social structures. Will these women survive the hardships of their journey? And as Thomas’ desire for control overpowers his common sense, will they truly be free once they get there? Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author Lesa Cline-Ransome’s striking verse masterfully portrays an underrepresented historical era. Tackling powerful themes of autonomy and Black self-emancipation, Cline-Ransome offers readers an intimate look into the lives of three women and an expansive portrait of generations striving for their promised freedom. A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Theme: BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9780823450169
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$25.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 1 DROP
1 DROP
By: peter kalu | Published: October 2023

Theme: BIPOC , LGBTQ2S+

  • ISBN
    9781839132063
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$17.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 1 OF US IS LYING
1 OF US IS LYING
By: karen mcmanus | Published: February 2023

Theme: BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9781524714758
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$17.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 10 WAYS TO HEAR SNOW
10 WAYS TO HEAR SNOW
By: cathy camper | Published: October 2020

Walking to her grandmother's home to help make warak enab, Lina discovers many ways to hear snow, from the scrape of a shovel on a sidewalk to the...

Walking to her grandmother's home to help make warak enab, Lina discovers many ways to hear snow, from the scrape of a shovel on a sidewalk to the quiet pats of snowman-building.

Theme: BIPOC , Family Relationships

  • ISBN
    9780399186332
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$25.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 100 CHAPATIS
100 CHAPATIS
By: derek mascarenhas | Published: October 2023

Simon doesn't want the baby to come. He was happy with just his mom, dad, and Pappa. Now, Mom and Dad are at the hospital, and Simon and Pappa are...

Simon doesn't want the baby to come. He was happy with just his mom, dad, and Pappa. Now, Mom and Dad are at the hospital, and Simon and Pappa are waiting for news at home. Knowing how hard it is to wait, Pappa starts Simon on a project of making one hundred chapatis. They measure the ingredients, knead and roll the dough, and then drop them one by one into a giant frying pan. Soon, Simon is so busy that he forgets to worry. "Can I show the baby how to make chapatis?" he asks Pappa. And before they know it, Pappa is frying up the one hundredth chapati ... and the phone is ringing!

Theme: Asian Heritage, BIPOC , Inter-Generational

  • ISBN
    9781771475631
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$21.95
Quantity:
Book cover of 100 PERCENT ME
100 PERCENT ME
By: renee rutledge | Published: October 2023

A heartwarming story about the joys of multicultural families and being mixed race. One Hundred Percent Me takes readers (ages 4 to 8) along as a...

A heartwarming story about the joys of multicultural families and being mixed race. One Hundred Percent Me takes readers (ages 4 to 8) along as a young girl explores and accepts her unique identity. It can be confusing to be a child of mixed race. As the little girl moves through daily life in the big city, she hears some people say she looks more like her Puerto Rican dad, while others claim she takes after her Filipina mom. Should she favor one identity over the other? No! In fact, honoring every facet of her identity equally becomes the main character’s favorite affirmation. This beautifully illustrated book about celebrating differences, claiming our belonging, and acknowledging our heritage encourages all readers to embrace the fact that we are all 100% ourselves.

Theme: BIPOC , Bi-Racial, Social Emotional Learning

  • ISBN
    9781646045396
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.95
Quantity:
Book cover of 12 DINGING DOORBELLS
12 DINGING DOORBELLS
By: tameka brown | Published: October 2022

Every holiday, aunties, uncles, cousins, grandparents, and neighbors come over to eat, sing, and celebrate life. But all our main character can think...

Every holiday, aunties, uncles, cousins, grandparents, and neighbors come over to eat, sing, and celebrate life. But all our main character can think about is the sweet potato pie Granny makes just for her. As tables fill with baked macaroni and cheese, chitlins, and other sides a-steaming, she and Granny move the pie to keep it intact.The task becomes tricker as the room grows with dancing and card games and pie cravings. Just when all seems lost and there's no more pie, Granny pulls out a sweet surprise.

Theme: BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9781984815170
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 12 HOURS OF CHRISTMAS
12 HOURS OF CHRISTMAS
By: jenn bailey | Published: October 2023

It's December 25th, and one big family isn't wasting a minute of this special day! Grandparents arrive, cousins build snowmen, Uncle Lee tells jokes,...

It's December 25th, and one big family isn't wasting a minute of this special day! Grandparents arrive, cousins build snowmen, Uncle Lee tells jokes, Auntie takes pictures, and the whole family shares a holiday feast before it's finally time to say goodbye and good night. This fun-filled, modern take on the classic song celebrates the most important part of Christmas Day: being together.

Theme: BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9780316330978
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Holiday
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 1ST TO DIE AT THE END
1ST TO DIE AT THE END
By: adam silvera | Published: October 2022

It's the night before Death-Cast goes live, and there's one question on everyone's mind: Can Death-Cast actually predict when someone will die, or is...

It's the night before Death-Cast goes live, and there's one question on everyone's mind: Can Death-Cast actually predict when someone will die, or is it just an elaborate hoax? Orion Pagan has waited years for someone to tell him that he's going to die. He has a serious heart condition, and he signed up for Death-Cast so he could know what's coming. Valentino Prince is restarting his life in New York. He has a long and promising future ahead and he only registered for Death-Cast after his twin sister nearly died in a car accident. Orion and Valentino cross paths in Times Square and immediately feel a deep connection. But when the first round of End Day calls goes out, their lives are changed forever--one of them receives a call, and the other doesn't. Though neither boy is certain how the day will end, they know they want to spend it together...even if that means their goodbye will be heartbreaking.

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, BIPOC , Death & Grieving

  • ISBN
    9780063240803
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 2 ROADS
2 ROADS
By: joseph bruchac | Published: October 2018

Pop tells Cal something he never knew before: Pop is actually a Creek Indian, which means Cal is too. And Pop has decided to send Cal to a government...

Pop tells Cal something he never knew before: Pop is actually a Creek Indian, which means Cal is too. And Pop has decided to send Cal to a government boarding school for Native Americans in Oklahoma called the Challagi School. At school, the other Creek boys quickly take Cal under their wings.

Theme: BIPOC , Historical Fiction, Residential Schools, Indigenous

  • ISBN
    9780735228863
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 2 ROADS
2 ROADS
By: joseph bruchac | Published: August 2019

Theme: Historical Fiction, BIPOC , Residential Schools, Indigenous

  • ISBN
    9780735228870
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$11.99
Quantity:
Book cover of 4 EIDS & A FUNERAL
4 EIDS & A FUNERAL
By: f abike-ilyimide | Published: June 2024

From award-winning authors Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé & Adiba Jaigirdar comes a Young Adult romance...

From award-winning authors Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé & Adiba Jaigirdar comes a Young Adult romance about two Muslim American ex-best friends who must work together to save their Islamic Center from demolition, perfect for fans of When Dimple Met Rishi and Love from A to Z!

Theme: Muslim, Friendship, BIPOC

  • ISBN
    9781250890139
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$26.99
Quantity: