Your search returned 9 results in the Theme: afghanistan.

Book cover of BEYOND BULLETS
BEYOND BULLETS
By: rafal gerszak | Published: September 2011

Stunning photos reveal an Afghanistan we rarely see. Award-winning photographer Rafal Gerszak spent a year embedded with the American military in ...

Stunning photos reveal an Afghanistan we rarely see. Award-winning photographer Rafal Gerszak spent a year embedded with the American military in Afghanistan, where he used his camera to document everyday life in the war-torn country. While there, he developed a deep affection for the land and its people, and he later returned on his own. Despite the dangers around him, he continued taking photos, exposing the plight of that besieged country. Framed by journal entries that relate his experiences on two levels -- as a foreigner looking for a deeper connection to a country that has stirred him and as a journalist looking for another side to the story -- Beyond Bullets addresses the volatile situation in Afghanistan with sensitivity and profound insight. Through Gerszak's lens, readers can see the shattered aftermath of military attacks and dismal hospitals and refugee camps, but they can also experience the vibrant activity of life in the markets, at home and on the Muslim day of rest. Featuring more than 40 of Gerszak's photographs and at once harrowing and heartrending, Beyond Bullets is as illuminating as it is riveting.

Theme: Afghanistan, War/Children and War, Also appropriate for high school

  • ISBN
    9781554512935
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Social Studies - Issues (economic, Political And Social)
List Price:
$19.95
Discount:
$3.99
Your Price:
$15.96
Quantity:
Book cover of BREADWINNER
BREADWINNER
By: deborah ellis | Published: May 2015

"All girls [should read] The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis." - Malala Yousafzai, New York Times The first book in Deborah Ellis's r...

"All girls [should read] The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis." - Malala Yousafzai, New York Times The first book in Deborah Ellis's riveting Breadwinner series is an award-winning novel about loyalty, survival, families and friendship under extraordinary circumstances during the Taliban's rule in Afghanistan. Eleven-year-old Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan's capital city. Parvana's father - a history teacher until his school was bombed and his health destroyed - works from a blanket on the ground in the marketplace, reading letters for people who cannot read or write. One day, he is arrested for the crime of having a foreign education, and the family is left without someone who can earn money or even shop for food. As conditions for the family grow desperate, only one solution emerges. Forbidden to earn money as a girl, Parvana must transform herself into a boy, and become the breadwinner. The fifteenth anniversary edition includes a special foreword by Deborah Ellis as well as a new map, an updated author's note and a glossary to provide young readers with background and context. All royalties from the sale of this book will go to Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan. Parvana's Fund supports education projects for Afghan women and children.?

Theme: Afghanistan

  • ISBN
    9781554987658
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
List Price:
$9.95
Discount:
$1.99
Your Price:
$7.96
Quantity:
Book cover of LINES WE CROSS
LINES WE CROSS
By: randa abdel-fattah | Published: August 2018

A remarkable story about the power of tolerance from one of the most important voices in contemporary Muslim literature, critically acclaimed author R...

A remarkable story about the power of tolerance from one of the most important voices in contemporary Muslim literature, critically acclaimed author Randa Abdel-Fattah.

Theme: Prejudice & Racism, Immigration, Afghanistan

  • ISBN
    9781338282054
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
List Price:
$12.99
Discount:
$2.60
Your Price:
$10.39
Quantity:
Book cover of NASREEN'S SECRET SCHOOL - TRUE STORY
NASREEN'S SECRET SCHOOL - TRUE STORY
By: jeanette winter | Published: October 2009

Young Nasreen has not spoken a word to anyone since her parents disappeared. In despair, her grandmother risks everything to enroll Nasreen in a...

Young Nasreen has not spoken a word to anyone since her parents disappeared. In despair, her grandmother risks everything to enroll Nasreen in a secret school for girls. Will a devoted teacher, a new friend, and the worlds she discovers in books be enough to draw Nasreen out of her shell of sadness? Based on a true story from Afghanistan, this inspiring book will touch readers deeply as it affirms both the life-changing power of education and the healing power of love.

Theme: Afghanistan, Advanced Picture Book

  • ISBN
    9781416994374
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Picture Book - Advanced
List Price:
$19.99
Discount:
$4.00
Your Price:
$15.99
Quantity:
Book cover of RAZIA'S RAY OF HOPE
RAZIA'S RAY OF HOPE
By: elizabeth suneby | Published: September 2013

Razia dreams of getting an education, but in her small Afghan village, girls have not been allowed to attend school for many years, when a new girls' ...

Razia dreams of getting an education, but in her small Afghan village, girls have not been allowed to attend school for many years, when a new girls' school opens in the village, Razia must convince her family to let her attend.

Theme: Afghanistan

  • ISBN
    9781554538164
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Social Studies - Issues (economic, Political And Social)
List Price:
$19.95
Discount:
$3.99
Your Price:
$15.96
Quantity:
Book cover of SAVING KABUL CORNER
SAVING KABUL CORNER
By: n senzai | Published: February 2014

From Afghanistan to America, family matters most in this companion to Shooting Kabul, which Kirkus Reviews called “an ambitious story with much ...

From Afghanistan to America, family matters most in this companion to Shooting Kabul, which Kirkus Reviews called “an ambitious story with much to offer.” A rough and tumble tomboy, twelve-year-old Ariana couldn’t be more different from her cousin Laila, who just arrived from Afghanistan with her family. Laila is a proper, ladylike Afghan girl, one who can cook, sew, sing, and who is well versed in Pukhtun culture and manners. Arianna hates her. Laila not only invades Ariana’s bedroom in their cramped Fremont townhouse, but she also becomes close with Mariam Nurzai, Ariana’s best friend. Then a rival Afghan grocery store opens near Ariana’s family store, reigniting a decades-old feud tracing back to Afghanistan. The cousins, Mariam, and their newfound frenemie, Waleed Ghilzai, must ban together to help the families find a lasting peace before it destroys both businesses and everything their parents have worked for.

Theme: Afghanistan

  • ISBN
    9781442484948
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$19.99
Discount:
$4.00
Your Price:
$15.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SHOOTING KABUL
SHOOTING KABUL
By: nh senzai | Published: July 2011

In the summer of 2001, twelve year old Fadi’s parents make the difficult decision to illegally leave Afghanistan and move the family to the Unit...

In the summer of 2001, twelve year old Fadi’s parents make the difficult decision to illegally leave Afghanistan and move the family to the United States. When their underground transport arrives at the rendezvous point, chaos ensues, and Fadi is left dragging his younger sister Mariam through the crush of people. But Mariam accidentally lets go of his hand and becomes lost in the crowd, just as Fadi is snatched up into the truck. With Taliban soldiers closing in, the truck speeds away, leaving Mariam behind. Adjusting to life in the United States isn’t easy for Fadi’s family and as the events of September 11th unfold the prospects of locating Mariam in a war torn Afghanistan seem slim. When a photography competition with a grand prize trip to India is announced, Fadi sees his chance to return to Afghanistan and find his sister. But can one photo really bring Mariam home? Based in part on the Ms. Senzai’s husband’s own experience fleeing his home in Soviet controlled Afghanistan in the 1970s, Shooting Kabul is a powerful story of hope, love, and perseverance.

Theme: Diversity, Afghanistan

  • ISBN
    9781442401952
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$11.99
Discount:
$2.40
Your Price:
$9.59
Quantity:
Book cover of SKY AT OUR FEET
SKY AT OUR FEET
By: nadia hashimi | Published: April 2019

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deporte...

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated. When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do. After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Theme: Social Justice , Afghanistan

  • ISBN
    9780062421944
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
List Price:
$8.50
Discount:
$1.70
Your Price:
$6.80
Quantity:
Book cover of WOUNDED
WOUNDED
By: eric walters | Published: May 2009

Marcus and his sister are counting down the days until their father comes home from Afghanistan. When the big day arrives, the family is overcome by h...

Marcus and his sister are counting down the days until their father comes home from Afghanistan. When the big day arrives, the family is overcome by happiness and relief that he is safe, but as the days pass Marcus begins to feel that there is something different about his father. Barely sleeping, obsessed with news from Afghanistan, and overly aggressive, his dad refuses to seek counselling. Marcus knows post-traumatic stress disorder affects many soldiers, and he needs to get his dad some help before it is too late.  

Theme: War/Children and War, Mental Health & Wellness, Afghanistan

  • ISBN
    9780143171775
  • Binding
    Paperback Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
List Price:
$12.99
Discount:
$2.60
Your Price:
$10.39
Quantity: