Your search returned 5 results in the Theme: afghanistan.

Book cover of 1 MORE MOUNTAIN
1 MORE MOUNTAIN
By: deborah ellis | Published: October 2022

In Kabul, 15-year-old Damsa runs away to avoid being forced into marriage by her family. She is found by a police officer named Shauzia, who takes...

In Kabul, 15-year-old Damsa runs away to avoid being forced into marriage by her family. She is found by a police officer named Shauzia, who takes her to Green Valley, a shelter and school for women and girls run by Parvana. It has been 20 years since Parvana and Shauzia had to disguise themselves as boys to support themselves and their families. But when the Taliban were defeated in 2001, it looked as if Afghans could finally rebuild their country. Many things have changed for Parvana since then. She has married Asif, who she met in the desert as she searched for her family when she was a child. She runs a school for girls. She has a son, Rafi, who is about to fly to New York, where he will train to become a dancer. But Shauzia is still Parvana's best friend. And Parvana is still headstrong, bringing her in conflict with her spoiled sister Maryam. While Asif tries to get Maryam and Rafi on one of the last flights out of Kabul, the Taliban come to the school, and Parvana must lead the girls out of Green Valley and into the mountains.

Theme: Afghanistan, Social Justice

  • ISBN
    9781773068855
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$18.99
Quantity:
Book cover of BANC D'ECOLE BLEU CIEL
BANC D'ECOLE BLEU CIEL
By: bahram rahman | Published: April 2023

See below for English description. Après avoir perdu sa jambe dans un accident, Aria reçoit une prothèse. Mais sa nouvelle jambe...

See below for English description. Après avoir perdu sa jambe dans un accident, Aria reçoit une prothèse. Mais sa nouvelle jambe rend inconfortable le fait de s'asseoir sur le sol dur de la classe. Elle décide donc de prendre les choses en main et de construire un banc! Les filles de l'école lui disent qu'elle ne peut pas le faire: seuls les garçons peuvent construire des choses. Mais Aria sait qu'elle peut faire tout ce qu'elle veut et, avec l'aide de sa mère, de son frère et du gentil menuisier de la ville, elle trouve le courage, la paix et la sagesse dont elle a besoin pour cette nouvelle étape de sa vie. Basée sur une partie de l'expérience personnelle de l'auteure qui a grandi en Afghanistan, cette belle histoire enseigne la persévérance face à l'adversité. When Aria loses her leg in an accident, she welcomes a helper-leg. But her new leg makes sitting on the hard classroom floor uncomfortable, so she decides to take matters into her own hands and build a bench! The schoolgirls tell her she can't do that - only boys can build things. But Aria knows she can do anything she puts her mind to, and with the help of her mom, brother, and the kind local carpenter, she finds the courage, peace, and wisdom she needs during this new phase of her life. Based on parts of the author's personal experiences growing up in Afghanistan, this beautiful story teaches perseverance in the face of adversity.

Theme: Diversity, Afghanistan, Special Needs

  • ISBN
    9781443198158
  • Binding
    Paperback French
  • Category
    French Picture Book
Retail Price:
$12.99
Quantity:
Book cover of SKY AT OUR FEET
SKY AT OUR FEET
By: nadia hashimi | Published: April 2019

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been...

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated. When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do. After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Theme: Social Justice , Afghanistan

  • ISBN
    9780062421944
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Junior Fiction
Retail Price:
$8.50
Quantity:
Book cover of SKY-BLUE BENCH
SKY-BLUE BENCH
By: bahram rahman | Published: September 2021

It's Afghani schoolgirl Aria's first day back at school since her accident. She's excited, but she's also worried about sitting on the hard floor all...

It's Afghani schoolgirl Aria's first day back at school since her accident. She's excited, but she's also worried about sitting on the hard floor all day with her new prosthetic "helper-leg." Just as Aria feared, sitting on the floor is so uncomfortable that she can't think about learning at all. She knows that before the war changed many things in Afghanistan, schools like hers had benches for students to sit at. If she had a bench, her leg would not hurt so much. The answer is obvious: she will gather materials, talk to Kaka Najar, the carpenter in the old city, and learn to build a bench for herself. In A Sky-Blue Bench, Bahram Rahman, author of The Library Bus, returns again to the setting of his homeland, Afghanistan, to reveal the resilience and resolve of young children--especially young girls--who face barriers to education.

Theme: Diversity, Afghanistan, Special Needs

  • ISBN
    9781772782226
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$22.95
Quantity:
Book cover of SOUR CHERRIES - AN AFGHAN FAMILY STORY
SOUR CHERRIES - AN AFGHAN FAMILY STORY
By: dezh azaad | Published: May 2024

A moving, personal story about an Afghan refugee child and the sour cherries that connect him to family and home My favorite day is in the summer,...

A moving, personal story about an Afghan refugee child and the sour cherries that connect him to family and home My favorite day is in the summer, picking cherries with my mother. Sour Cherries follows a summer day as an Afghan child learns to make sour cherry jam, stew, and tea with his mother, just like she learned from her mother. Pull the stem, pop the seed--together, they carefully prep their family dishes while sharing stories of his grandmother and the place they come from. Inspired by the author's life, this warmhearted companion to The Carpet: An Afghan Family Story celebrates the taste of home.

Theme: Afghanistan, Diversity

  • ISBN
    9781419763625
  • Binding
    Hardcover Canadian
  • Category
    Picture Book
Retail Price:
$23.99
Quantity: