Your search returned 9 results in the Theme: asexual.

Book cover of AA FOR EFFORT
AA FOR EFFORT
By: jarad greene | Published: March 2024

The next semiautobiographical graphic novel from Jarad Green continues to follow Jay, this time as he faces his freshman year of high school--and a...

The next semiautobiographical graphic novel from Jarad Green continues to follow Jay, this time as he faces his freshman year of high school--and a whole new world of friendships, self-discovery, and stress about the future. Freshman year brings many new things--friends, classes, and, of course, challenges. And now his parents are adding pressure to start preparing for college. So when Jay finds himself enrolled in Theater 101, his parents couldn't be happier. "That'll look great on your college application!" they say. But when class begins, Jay finds himself struggling like never before. Can he balance Shakespeare, new friends, and college expectations and still deliver an A+ performance? Perfect for readers of Yehudi Mercado and Rachel Elliott, A for Effort's refreshingly witty and honest story is a heartfelt exploration of how it's not always the outcome but the journey itself that truly matters.

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Asexual, School, Friendship

  • ISBN
    9780063032873
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
Retail Price:
$19.99
Quantity:
Book cover of AA FOR EFFORT
AA FOR EFFORT
By: jarad greene | Published: March 2024

The next semiautobiographical graphic novel from Jarad Green continues to follow Jay, this time as he faces his freshman year of high school--and a...

The next semiautobiographical graphic novel from Jarad Green continues to follow Jay, this time as he faces his freshman year of high school--and a whole new world of friendships, self-discovery, and stress about the future. Freshman year brings many new things--friends, classes, and, of course, challenges. And now his parents are adding pressure to start preparing for college. So when Jay finds himself enrolled in Theater 101, his parents couldn't be happier. "That'll look great on your college application!" they say. But when class begins, Jay finds himself struggling like never before. Can he balance Shakespeare, new friends, and college expectations and still deliver an A+ performance? Perfect for readers of Yehudi Mercado and Rachel Elliott, A for Effort's refreshingly witty and honest story is a heartfelt exploration of how it's not always the outcome but the journey itself that truly matters.

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Asexual, Friendship, School

  • ISBN
    9780063032880
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Children's
Retail Price:
$31.00
Quantity:
Book cover of DEAR WENDY
DEAR WENDY
By: ann zhao | Published: April 2024

Sophie Chi is in her first year of college (though her parents wish she'd attend a "real" university rather than a liberal arts school) and has long...

Sophie Chi is in her first year of college (though her parents wish she'd attend a "real" university rather than a liberal arts school) and has long accepted her aroace (aromantic and asexual) identity. She knows she'll never fall in love, but she enjoys running an Instagram account that offers relationship advice to students at her school. No one except her roommate can know that she's behind the incredibly popular "Dear Wendy" account. When Joanna "Jo" Ephron (also a first-year aroace college student) created their "Sincerely Wanda" account, it wasn't at all meant to take off or be taken seriously--not like Wendy's. But now they might have a rivalry of sorts with Wendy's account? Oops. As if Jo's not busy enough having existential crises over gender identity, whether she'll ever truly be loved, and the possibility of her few friends finding The One then forgetting her! While tensions are rising online, Sophie and Jo grow closer in real life, especially once they realize their shared aroace identity and start a campus organization for other a-spec students. Will their friendship survive if they learn just who's behind the Wendy and Wanda accounts? Exploring a-spec identities, college life, and more, while perfect for fans of Alice Oseman's Loveless, this is ultimately a love story about two people who are not--and will not--be in love!

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Poverty, Asexual

  • ISBN
    9781250885005
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$26.99
Quantity:
Book cover of ELATSOE
ELATSOE
By: darcie littlebadger | Published: August 2020

Theme: Indigenous, Asexual, LGBTQ2S+

  • ISBN
    9781646140053
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$28.99
Quantity:
Book cover of ELATSOE
ELATSOE
By: darcie littlebadger | Published: October 2023

One of TIME Magazine's Top 100 Fantasy Novels of All Time -- Now in Paperback! Locus Award Winner--Best First Novel A National Indie Bestseller...

One of TIME Magazine's Top 100 Fantasy Novels of All Time -- Now in Paperback! Locus Award Winner--Best First Novel A National Indie Bestseller Nebula Award Finalist Lodestar Award Finalist Ignyte Award Finalist TIME's Best 100 Fantasy Books of All Time NPR Best of the Year Booklist's Top 10 First Novels for Youth A BookPage Best of the Year Chicago Public Library "Best of the Best" PNBA Bestseller Publishers Weekly Best of the Year Buzzfeed's Best YA SFF of the Year Shelf-Awareness Best of the Year AICL Best YA of the Year NECBA Windows & Mirrors Selection NEIBA Award Finalist Tor Best of the Year Kirkus Best YA of the Year Publishers Weekly Flying Start American Indian Youth Literature Award Finalist "Groundbreaking." --TIME "Deeply enjoyable from start to finish."--NPR "Utterly magical." --SyFyWire "Atmospheric and lyrical...a gorgeous work of art."--BuzzFeed "One of the best YA debuts of 2020. Read it."--Marieke Nijkamp ★ "A fresh voice and perspective."--Booklist, starred review ★ "A unique and powerful Native American voice."-BookPage, starred review ★ "A brilliant, engaging debut."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review ★ "A fast-paced murder mystery."--Publishers Weekly, starred review ★ "A Lipan Apache Sookie Stackhouse for the teen set." --Shelf-Awareness, starred review A Texas teen comes face-to-face with a cousin's ghost and vows to unmask the murderer. Elatsoe--Ellie for short--lives in an alternate contemporary America shaped by the ancestral magics and knowledge of its Indigenous and immigrant groups. She can raise the spirits of dead animals--most importantly, her ghost dog Kirby. When her beloved cousin dies, all signs point to a car crash, but his ghost tells her otherwise: He was murdered. Who killed him and how did he die? With the help of her family, her best friend Jay, and the memory great, great, great, great, great, great grandmother, Elatsoe, must track down the killer and unravel the mystery of this creepy town and it's dark past. But will the nefarious townsfolk and a mysterious Doctor stop her before she gets started? The breathtaking debut novel from Darcie Little Badger features an asexual, Apache teen protagonist -- and combines mystery, horror, noir, ancestral knowledge, haunting illustrations, and fantasy elements, in one of the most-talked-about books in years.

Theme: Indigenous, Asexual, LGBTQ2S+

  • ISBN
    9781646142767
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$19.50
Quantity:
Book cover of HT BE ACE - A MEMOIR OF GROWING UP ASEXU
HT BE ACE - A MEMOIR OF GROWING UP ASEXU
By: rebecca burgess | Published: October 2020

Theme: Asexual, Non-Binary, LGBTQ2S+, Bullying issues, Mental Health & Wellness

  • ISBN
    9781787752153
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Graphic Novel Teen
Retail Price:
$25.95
Quantity:
Book cover of IF IT MAKES YOU HAPPY
IF IT MAKES YOU HAPPY
By: claire kann | Published: June 2021

In Claire Kann's contemporary YA novel If It Makes You Happy, a teen girl is crowned Summer Queen in the small town of Misty Haven and has to balance...

In Claire Kann's contemporary YA novel If It Makes You Happy, a teen girl is crowned Summer Queen in the small town of Misty Haven and has to balance her new responsibilities with her friendships, a new romance, and a job at her granny's diner. Winnie is living her best fat girl life and is on her way to the best place on earth. No, not Disneyland--her Granny’s diner, Goldeen’s, in the small town of Misty Haven. While there, she works in her fabulous 50’s inspired uniform, twirling around the diner floor and earning an obscene amount of tips. With her family and ungirlfriend at her side, she has everything she needs for one last perfect summer before starting college in the fall. ...until she becomes Misty Haven’s Summer Queen in a highly anticipated matchmaking tradition that she wants absolutely nothing to do with. Newly crowned, Winnie is forced to take center stage in photoshoots and a never-ending list of community royal engagements. Almost immediately, she discovers that she’s deathly afraid of it all: the spotlight, the obligations, and the way her Merry Haven Summer King, wears his heart, humor, and honesty on his sleeve. Stripped of Goldeen’s protective bubble, to salvage her summer Winnie must conquer her fears, defy expectations, and be the best Winnie she knows she can be—regardless of what anyone else thinks of her.

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Asexual, BIPOC , Body Image

  • ISBN
    9781250250872
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
Retail Price:
$14.99
Quantity:
Book cover of JUST LIZZIE
JUST LIZZIE
By: karen wilfrid | Published: November 2023

In this beautifully written contemporary middle grade debut, an eighth grader's study of asexuality in science class leads her to understand her own...

In this beautifully written contemporary middle grade debut, an eighth grader's study of asexuality in science class leads her to understand her own asexual identity as she embarks on a journey toward self-discovery and self-advocacy. For readers of Alex Gino and Ashley Herring Blake. There's the part of me that doesn't understand kissing or cuteness or attraction, and then there's the part of me that feels so lonely. How do I make sense of those two parts? Maybe I'll never make sense of them. What do you do when there's a question inside you that feels so big, you don't know how to put words to it? How do you even begin to ask it? Fourteen-year-old Lizzie is experiencing a lot of change: her family had to move after the incident with their neighbor, leaving behind not only her beloved apple tree, but what feels like her childhood along with it. Lizzie's brother is too busy for her in his first semester of college and her friends are more interested in dating than dolls. It's hard not to feel left behind, especially as she tries to explain the fact that she still has zero interest in boys, girls, or the baffling behavior known as "flirting." But just as Lizzie's world feels like its closing in, a class lesson on asexual reproduction in plants piques her curiosity, leading her to look up whether people can be asexual too--and suddenly, her world opens up. Lizzie finally finds an identity, a word for all her messy, unnamable feelings that feels like it fits, although she quickly realizes that a label isn't enough if no one believes it's real. Accessible, moving, and compassionate, Just Lizzie effortlessly braids a nuanced individual journey of identity with the bittersweet angst of growing up, growing apart, and learning there are many ways to live and love.

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, Asexual, Bullying issues

  • ISBN
    9780063290297
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$24.99
Quantity:
Book cover of RADIO SILENCE
RADIO SILENCE
By: alice oseman | Published: April 2019

Theme: LGBTQ2S+, BIPOC , Asexual, Mental Health & Wellness, Friendship

  • ISBN
    9780062335722
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Category
    Intermediate Fiction
Retail Price:
$19.99
Quantity: